We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (719)
Filter reviews
719 results
Traveler rating
197
395
104
16
7
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
197
395
104
16
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbic camerakansai airportshopping arcadepachinko parloursthird floorexcellent locationkuromon marketwalking streetjapanese standardsbusy shoppingnankai linesmoke smelltrain stationhotel is locatedfloor lobbyhotel roomden den town
Filter
Updating list...
269 - 274 of 719 reviews
Reviewed May 24, 2014

This hotel is easy to find once you understand that you are arriving at an underground station in the middle of an underground shopping centre.... You have to look at the colour coded references on the walls and ceilings to work out where you are and where you should exit. You need to exit at B21 to be right at the entrance to the covered walkway to the hotel, near to McDonalds.
The hotel is in a Blackpool-like area with lots of Pachenko parlours which can be very loud, but we didn't hear any noise in the hotel room.
The twin room was a decent size for 2 adults and cases.
It's easy to walk around and find places to eat, and to get to the river where you can walk around the quieter streets and sit and have a drink at a riverside cafe.

Room Tip: Ask for a high room
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank michrich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NambaOriental, Manager at Namba Oriental Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 26, 2014

Dear Guest,

First of all, thank you very much for choosing us as your home away from home.

The clear direction from the underground to our hotel that you mentioned on your review is truly appreciated and will be very helpful for our future guests. Also, we're grateful to know that our room size meets your needs as well as that you had a good time in Osaka.

Thank you for your valuable review. We sincerely hope to welcome you back again in the future.

Sincerely Yours,

Manager
Namba Oriental Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2014

Stayed two nights here and found this to be perfectly adequate. Even though the hotel is in the middle of a noisy shopping center, there was little or no noise in the rooms. We were on the sixth floor, and couldn't hear anything.
The reception staff were very friendly and helpful.
The wi fi worked well as you were given your own router.
The British pub on site was a bonus!
Positives - decent sized rooms and a good shower. Quite rooms.
Negatives - the hotel is a little shabby in places
The smoke in the lobby and lifts is cloying and unpleasant if you are a non smoker
TIP if you are arriving by train, you need to go right down into the basement before you can find the B21 exit

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Julesp365
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NambaOriental, Manager at Namba Oriental Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 26, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your valuable review and share it with other TripAdvisorers!

We are delighted that you were able to take advantage of our location and pleased to learn that the service quality of our staff was able to meet your expectations. We will continue to strive for better quality to accommodate our guests’ needs.

Thank you once again and we're looking forward to welcoming you again in the future.

Sincerely Yours,

Manager
Namba Oriental Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2014

The location is very convenience. Bic camera is nearby and the subway is not far from hotel. If you like to find something eat, there are many different kinds of food around. Room rate is also reasonable.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Vicky L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NambaOriental, Manager at Namba Oriental Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 12, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying with us and sharing your experience with us on our TripAdvisor page!

We're more than pleased to know that you were able to take advantage of our location and had a memorable trip in Osaka! Your laudatory comment is greatly appreciated and it always encourages us to continuously improve our operation and guest services.

Once Again, thank you for the review itself and your time for it. We look forward to welcoming you back to Namba Oriental Hotel in your next accommodation needs in Osaka.

Sincerely Yours,

From all the staff,
Namba Oriental Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2014

The Namba Oriental Hotel (no connection with Mandarin Oriental hotels whatsoever) stands along a pedestrian shopping & restaurant alley which is about 5minutes walk to Namba Nankai Railway Station. It's near the subway, as well; indeed, a convenient (albeit rather noisy & crowded) location for going around Osaka, and other nearby cities and towns of Japan, such as Wakayama and Nara which are easy train rides away. However, the hotel itself leaves a lot to be desired. As one goes up the elevator, the musty smell of smoke pervades the air. Upon check-in, my husband and I happened to be received by a certain Ms. Umemoto, whom we requested to assign us a non-smoking room, as I have asthma. She just smugly said, "no non-smoking room available_ hotel fully booked". (When I reserved my room, weeks earlier, I had just taken whatever room was offered by an online travel agency.) We practically pleaded with Ms Umemoto to please check again for a non-smoking room, as even just one might be available, but she wasn't willing to do it. Luckily, a more mature man who seemed like her boss overheard our conversation & he did go the extra mile to check, & was able to secure us the non-smoking one. The room was very compact, seemed newly refurbished, but the airconditioning did not seem to work. When we asked Reception, they said that airconditioning was centralized, and that the whole building's aircon was on FAN mode only; and that if we wanted a cooler temperature, we should just open the window! Oh my-- and inhale the pollution! This was the third week of April already_ not that cold anymore. Furthermore, when we watched TV, all the channels were interpreted in Japanese, thus, even the BBC channel had some interpreter "voicing over" Japanese words. No English could be heard at all. Also, the breakfast area is not that easy to access, serving basically a Japanese breakfast. All in all, I would rank this hotel between 2 1/2 to 3 stars_ specializing in Japanese tourists, it seems.

Room Tip: Since the hotel has an inner courtyard, it's better and quieter to request for a courtyard-facing room.
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joycee456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NambaOriental, Manager at Namba Oriental Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 6, 2014

Dear Guest,

First of all, thank you for choosing Namba Oriental Hotel as your accommodation for your recent trip to Osaka.

We deeply regret to hear your disappointment brought to you during your stay with us. Please accept our sincere apology for the inconveniences. Your valuable feedback has been shared with all the staff and each issue that you mentioned on your review has been addressed and necessary action will be taken to ensure that our guests have an enjoyable stay with us.

Please allow us to inform you that the problem regarding BBC news has been already addressed and solved right after we read your comment. It's now working correctly and broadcasting both in English and Japanese.

Once again, your willingness to share your experience is genuinely appreciated and we sincerely hope you will allow us another opportunity to serve your future accommodation needs, as we would like the opportunity to provide you the level of service you expect from us.

Yours most sincerely,

From all the staff,
Namba Oriental Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2014

Needless to say, location is best value staying at Namba Oriential hotel. Just minutes walked to train station, big shopping mall, seafood market. Room is big comparing with other same grade of hotel. Free intenet with great speed. Staffs are helpful and nice. Since I booked superior room, it allow to check out at 12:00 pm, it gave me enough time to pack my luggage in my last day staying there. But if you book standard room, then you are required to do check out latest at 10:00 am, it is little bit early.

Overall, it is good hotel with reasonable price, I think i will choose it again when I visit Osaka next time.

Room Tip: Choose superior room if you don't want check out in early time
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Dicgel W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NambaOriental, Manager at Namba Oriental Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 2, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying with us and sharing your wonderful review with other travelers on our TripAdvisor page!

It is more than grateful for us to know that you were able to take advantage of our location and our quality of service could meet your expectation.

Your laudatory comment about our service and staff has been shared with our team and it sure will help us to continually strive to improve the quality of our service.

Thank you once again and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Sincerely Yours,
Namba Oriental Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews