We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning looks, great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Sheraton Miyako Hotel Osaka
Ranked #39 of 316 Hotels / Ryokan in Osaka
Alice Springs, Northern Territory, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Stunning looks, great location”
Reviewed March 27, 2013

We stayed in one of the budget rooms for 6 days, least to say these budget rooms were absolutely amazing. The ultramodern rooms were a decent size with great view of Osaka if you manage to get one high enough. Staff were ultra friendly, a big shoutout to our man José who intially mistook our group of six as a band, he played a great part in the retrieval of my friends lost passport and wallet and was the butt of many a conversation. Location wise, this hotel is right above a train station and next to shopping district. A few steps out the door and your already on the subway.

The only problems we ran into were the cost associated with the swimming pool, 10$ for entry. We also found the rooms were a little warm for our liking and we could not figure out if it was even possible to turn down the heat. The beds seemed fluffy and comfortable at first, but the two pillows you are provided aren't right. One too big to get comfortable on and the other to small and flat (feels like your sleeping without a pillow). The heat made it near impossible to get asleep comfortable without half the quilt off.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alex H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,346 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    268
    667
    286
    91
    34
See reviews for
357
306
202
290
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2013 via mobile

Personally, i'm a big fan of Sheraton...i always having a deep sleep with their bed...Sheraton Miyako located next to a shipping center...and subway nearby. For driving travelers...they charge 1000 yen per night for parking which is fair...facilities are getting a bit old but still clean...staffs are helpful with good English..overall worth to stay for travelers who visit Osaka

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Auston A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Macquarie, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2013 via mobile

We booked the Sheraton Miyako from Australia with Wotif as our first stopover beginning our 2 week trip to Japan. We arrived rather late in the evening after a very long day, as the Jetstar flight was delayed in Sydney by 3 hours. We missed the last limousine bus which would have taken us to the hotel door by about 15 minutes which necessitated catching the train into Osaka. Fortunately we had done all our planning for hotel locations to be near railway stations which proved a wise choice.

We were received graciously, (which seems to be the nature of all the Japanese we have met so far) in the rather large well appointed lobby and reception area. The room, as expected, (having read many reviews of hotels in Japan before leaving) was smallish but nevertheless suited our purpose extremely well. The very large single beds had mattresses that were a bit hard, with one pillow too soft and the other large and a bit too hard, (I didn't have Goldilocks luck to find one that was "just right"). These small inconveniences were trivial compared to the care and attention of the hotel staff, the location is excellent right at the subway entrance and that you can catch the airport bus to the door and free wifi to each room.

Small tip, you can save a fair bit by having breakfast in any one of a number of cafes in the subway complex compared to the price of the hotel breakfast.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Reg and Mila Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kailua, Hawaii
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2013

I changed hotels from a business hotel in the Namba area. The first hotel was a very small business hotel, so this was a big change. I read a lot of comments from people saying the Sheraton Miyako was out-dated and budget. I honestly didn't get that impression at all. I'm not a 5-star traveler, so maybe my perception is a little different than others, but I thought it was a very well-kept, professional hotel.

The hotel is conveniently located one or two stations away from the Namba station. I think depending on what subway line you use, the amount of stops is different. Anyway, it was very quick to get to the Namba area. The hotel is actually attached to the underground subway system which also has many shops, restaurants, and even a small supermarket. You could just stay in the hotel and visit the underground mall for all your needs and never step foot on a subway. Of course that's not fun, but you could.

The hotel is large. The ground floor is basically the entrance of the hotel if you drive or come by bus. If you catch the subway, you can enter from the underground mall area and it will take you directly to the 2nd floor where the lobby is located. You just have to follow the signs underground for The Sheraton Miyako.

Side note: You can also catch the airport limousine (bus) from the ground floor. It takes you directly to the airport with no stops. Very convenient and cheap.

The lobby is very large. They have a concierge desk, a reception desk with about 4 receptionists, waiting area with couches, bar/lounge, restaurant, and gift shop. The receptionists were very nice and helpful. They spoke good English and were always available to recommend dinning and sight-seeing places. The hotel itself must have had about 8 restaurants on its own. It was hard to figure out where the hotel ended and the attached malls began. I happened to have a few drinks at the bar/lounge, the restaurant on the lobby floor, and the okonomiyaki restaurant on the basement floor. All the food was good. A little pricey since it was in the hotel. I'm sure you could get the same quality food outside for cheaper prices. The convenience was nice however.

My room was very nice, clean, and large. It felt like a mansion after coming from a business hotel in Namba. My room had two large beds, desk, chair, sofa chair, large flat screen tv, wardrobe, in-room safe, A/C, and small refrigerator. The other amenities included are LAN internet, wifi internet (complimentary), mini bar (soda, beer, juices, water; paid), coffee and tea (complimentary), hot water boiler, and hair dryer.

The bathroom was nice. It had a bidet toilet with seat warmer. Their bathroom amenities included shampoo, conditioner, shower gel, soap, toothbrush kit, razor kit, comb, brush, vanity kit, and shower cap. The only thing they didn't have that most hotels have is lotion. I don't usually use the hotel lotion, but after coming from Thailand and going to the cold weather in Osaka, my face and lips were so chapped and dry.

The hotel also has a pool, fitness center, in-room massage, and laundry service. I didn't use any of these services or facilities so I can't comment on their quality. My friend got an in-room massage though and he said it was really good.

I would recommend this hotel to anyone that wants to be in a high-end hotel near the major districts, but far enough away for peace and quiet. This hotel is great for business, couples, families, friends, and solo. I really enjoyed my stay here and would definitely come back for another trip to Osaka. Happy travels everyone!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank xbreadboyx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
130 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2013

We have just returned from a week long stay at this hotel. I would highly recommend it for it's location, cleanliness and most of all the quietness. Even though this hotel is located on a busy six or more lane road, you never hear any traffic noise at night, only the occasional siren which is still quite faint. The location is fantastic with the subway and train stations underneath, a 12 story department store next door with an amazing two level food court, supermarket, coffee shop and of course the mandatory ATM. Our deluxe room was well appointed with full toiletries including hair brush and razor. The housekeeping was amazing with full linen changed daily. I think the quilts may have been polyester because we were so hot sleeping at night, even though it was early spring (doesn't make for a restful sleep). The only down side is there is no iron in the room (available for hire at a cost), buffett breakfast not worth the cost and you have to pay extra to use the pool area, I have never heard of this before. The limo bus comes straight to the door from Kansai Airport, although this trip can take close to an hour depending on the traffic. Would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Choose a deluxe room
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PandanBear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
75 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2013

Room was VERY Hot, during Winter! They even had to add a fan into my room! There is only a small outlet for outside air to come in, and AC is not available due to Winter. Asked for 2 days in a row to change room but was just told its not possible. Booked a Cityview room and was told there all room are city view upon arrival? Then what do we pay extra for?
Shopping mall is located below the hotel and so its the Kintesu Line, the only saving grace.
Fall sick on the 2nd day and went to the front office for help. Was told there they do not have Doctor available, and suggested I wait till morning to go to a nearby clinic. Which is fine, but not very 'Sheraton'. Room size is large for Japan Hotel.

Room Tip: Just book the club room, or try other hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrDylanTan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sendai, Japan
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2013

I was here last year for six nights: this time I only stayed one night on business (Feb 2013).

As before, I was impressed. The hotel is extremely convenient, accessible by bus directly from both airports, and by subway.

The good
Clean and pleasant room
Extremely varied buffet breakfast
Polite and well-trained staff
Great location

The bad
This hotel is very popular with large tour groups -can make the lobby and breakfast a bit chaotic

Overall
This is a great hotel to stay at on business: comfortable, convenient, and reasonably-priced.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sendaiben
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Osaka hotels
Hotel Nikko Osaka
#19 of 316 in Osaka
1,915 reviews
Osaka Station / Umeda
Hotel Granvia Osaka
Hotel Granvia Osaka
#52 of 316 in Osaka
1,422 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bay Area / Bentencho / Yodoyabashi / Hommachi / Tanimachi / Kyobashi
Hotel Brighton City Osaka Kitahama
Shinsaibashi / Nanba / Tennoji / South Area
Swissotel Nankai Osaka
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Miyako Hotel Osaka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Miyako Hotel Osaka

Property: Sheraton Miyako Hotel Osaka
Address: 6-1-55 Uehonmachi, Tennoji-ku, Osaka 543-0001, Osaka Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kinki > Osaka Prefecture > Osaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#43 Business Hotel in Osaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sheraton Miyako Hotel Osaka 3.5*
Number of rooms: 579
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ctrip TA, Cheap Tickets, JAPANiCAN, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Rakuten, Agoda, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sheraton Miyako Hotel Osaka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Osaka
Osaka Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing