We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel in great position”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Sheraton Miyako Hotel Osaka
Ranked #42 of 307 Hotels / Ryokan in Osaka
Osaka, Japan
Level Contributor
72 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Good hotel in great position”
Reviewed October 18, 2012

We had twin room in his fine hotel, and were very happy with the service, the position and facilities there. Had shops and restaurants in the hotel, and also very close by. Close to subway and other transport, but also walkable distance to great markets. Expensive restaurants but also more reasonable ones offering good selection of foods.Close to a very good supermarket which we found invaluable.

Room Tip: Ask for NON smoking room or you are in for a shock.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dianne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,307 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    252
    655
    279
    89
    32
See reviews for
346
297
200
280
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Tijuana, Mexico
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2012

I had read the mixed reviews so was unsure as to what experience awaited, but I was pleasantly surprised, you just need to know what to expect.

Looking at this place as a Japanese/Western business hotel, the place is very good, just be aware that the pool/spa is quite expensive and honestly not a real option for most travellers (I think the spa/sauna was around 3000 yen, no thanks.

With that out of the way, I don't think I can find much other faults for the price.

Arrived at 11am at the hotel and was flabbergasted when I was checked in with no problem despite the early hour, if you've stayed in Japan a few times you'll know that most hotels are quite diligent about check-in time, so it was nice of them to offer not just a regular room, but an upgraded room at this early hour.

Location is absolutely perfect, on top of the Kintetsu train station and with an airport limousine bus stop right in front. you've got easy access to Namba and longer distance trains right at your doorstep. There's a big Kintetsu department store below but sadly I did not check it out as I could have, it's probably a good place to stock up on good food.

Internet is free which is standard at Japanese Business hotels but not so much at International style ones, so this was a welcome perk.

It's true that even the renovated rooms aren't ultra mega fancy or stylis, but they're quite good enough I think, and the hotel, albeit older, is still very well kept.

An extra tip for those of you yearning for a nice spa where to relax, a few blocks away near Tsuruhashi station is a very nice Sento bath called Nobeha no Yu. You can either take the train one station on the Kintetsu line or walk, but I have a suspicion that walking would be much faster since the distance between stations is very short. And at 800 yen it would be much cheaper than paying the hotel rate for the bath/sauna.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ricardobtg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
158 reviews
118 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2012

We stayed here recently on Business and found it to be average in every way especially compared to another Osaka hotel that we stayed in at the end of our trip. Location is ok but near Umeda/Osaka stations is better. The Kintesu Department store is good but food options are limited. I was interested in swimming until I saw the cost and the rules.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank janineor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Yorkshire
Level Contributor
61 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2012

The ads for this hotel are misleading - chose here as it had a pool but it doesnt. To go you need to pay over 1000yen per person, can't have a tattoo, must provide your own swim cap and can't wear the hotel robe to go. The pool belongs to a near by gym and the hotel has an arrangement. Using the gym itself costs around 3000 yen a time. Expensive as we're here for 6 days and had planned to go daily.

Asked for non-smoking room but everything stinks of cigarettes. The room on floor 19 is decent size by Japanese standards but it is so hot. The air con is dreadful- too hot to sleep!

Location is good for getting to Nara and Kyoto

Would not recommend if you want to relax

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank elle11f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level Contributor
160 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2012

stayed there for a conference.has direct bus connection to the kansai airport. priced very reasonably. very nice breakfast buffet for any taste: european, japanese, chinese. the hotel is at uehonmachi train station that provides connection to anywhere. a huge department store right at the station. overall very positive experience.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank xxapmc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petaling Jaya, Malaysia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2012 via mobile

This hotel would have to be the best place to stay while in Osaka. They are located right next to a train station and a big local bus is available to and from the airport at a reasonable cost. Service and hotel cleanliness are fantastic and the best part would be the free WiFi in the room! Really enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Veneez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nice, France
Level Contributor
57 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2012

Location: convenient
Hotel looks old fashion
Rooms / bathroom: not Sheraton standard at all, would need a big and major refurbishment
F&B: very average
Service: kind and hospitable
Gym is chargeable
Arrival experience not very good.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tombobee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Osaka hotels
Bay Area / Bentencho / Yodoyabashi / Hommachi / Tanimachi / Kyobashi
Hyatt Regency Osaka
Hyatt Regency Osaka
#24 of 307 in Osaka
1,115 reviews
Hotel Nikko Osaka
#19 of 307 in Osaka
1,877 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shinsaibashi / Nanba / Tennoji / South Area
Holiday Inn Osaka Namba
Holiday Inn Osaka Namba
#26 of 307 in Osaka
756 reviews
Shin Osaka / North Area
Courtyard Shin-Osaka Station
Shinsaibashi / Nanba / Tennoji / South Area
Swissotel Nankai Osaka
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Miyako Hotel Osaka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Miyako Hotel Osaka

Property: Sheraton Miyako Hotel Osaka
Address: 6-1-55 Uehonmachi, Tennoji-ku, Osaka 543-0001, Osaka Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kinki > Osaka Prefecture > Osaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#43 Business Hotel in Osaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sheraton Miyako Hotel Osaka 3.5*
Number of rooms: 579
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, JAPANiCAN, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Rakuten, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotel.de, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sheraton Miyako Hotel Osaka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Osaka
Osaka Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing