We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very nice, comfortable & convenient”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Hankyu International
Ranked #16 of 333 Hotels / Ryokan in Osaka
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 28, 2014

If you're a first-timer to Japan, this hotel could be a bit of a challenge - about a 10 minute walk from Osaka station, not real easy to find (had to ask locals for directions), but once we were warmly received by the lobby reception staff and checked-in, we were most pleased. Yes, it's a bit dated, but elegant and clean. Our king-bedded room was fairly large, as was the bathroom (a deep soaking tub and a glassed-in shower). Lots of bath amenities, too. More literature and instructions in English would make this hotel international caliber. My only minor issues include not enough English TV channels, shower door that does not close well, slippery bathroom sink handles, and a tired carpet. But again, overall, a nice property and very nice lobby, reception and bell staff. I hope to be back next year!

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank DinoN11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (673)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

128 - 134 of 673 reviews

Reviewed June 26, 2014

Stayed at this hotel on two occasions.First time the room was great.Very spacious with nice city views The bathroom was so big and all marble.The second time had a suite, again overlooking the city with great night views and again great marble bathroom.The staff very friendly and speak English.Close to city centre and train stations

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marknz2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here two nights and had the bath view room.

This hotel is not suitable for children. It's public spaces are magnificent and luxe but if you've kids give it a miss.

We loved the beautiful Japanese breakfast, with lovely views of Osaka. I'd paid extra for the breakfast for just me and children's breakfast was complimentary. Staff were kind and able to meet all requests.

The hotel's location a bit far for tired legs even when using chayamachi deguchi from Hankyu Station. But if we were any more than a km just took taxis, cheap as in Ja. I'd walk everywhere, but a saviour to keep a 5yo child fresh!

No children's dedicated movie or TV channel, I'd actually brought ddaughter's DVDs from home, but no DVD player unless you hire it. It's only blu ray. They kindly waived the fee when I explained that my daughter needing a bit of TV time couldn't watch any provided particularly the free porno channel for entertainment.

Baby sitting available and will arrange for you, but extremely expensive. The concierge kindly found a cheaper alternative, but near the Ritz-Carlton, far from this hotel.
The room, with bath view was terrific and well below the advertised price. So pays to call.

There's English speaking staff both in reservation and in foyer, though I speak OK Japanese, they were excellent. Not Osaka style friendly though, maybe trying to be posh!

The in room amenities and furnishings were all wonderful.
Love automatic blinds and curtains and the spacious design.

I'd probably prefer this hotel as a stay without children but I'll not stay again.
Just didn't find them friendly enough, and one of Osaka's charms is the friendliness of the locals.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank lisaaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2014

I stayed here one night and as a non Japanese, this hotel is a nightmare. Indications are only in Japanese, most of the staff only speaks Japanese. The rooms are very nice and stylish and the hotel leaves you with a positive first impression, though for the following reasons, I will not be back :

`the hotel is very noisy when you have a room at the side of the train tracks. I stayed on the 33th floor and even at this height, the noise of the trains is on, 24hours a day. If you are not used to it, don't even consider it. Maybe the other side of the hotel is much better.

`the hotel should have a gym (checked at reservation). Though, the gym is closed for the moment. Nobody tells you this, it is not indicated. You stand completely dressed in front of the door to do your morning work out (gym usually opens at 7h30 am which is usually anyway to late for me), to find out that there is no gym.

`internet is good and fast, though it can take a while before you are connected. You need to activate and navigate yourself through the television screens (good luck in Japanese) in order to obtain an access code. The best is to call the reception and ask a staff member to get it done. With some luck, this person will understand your english and know what you mean.

`there is no international power plug in the room and the adaptors are rare. The very helpful staff managed to get one for me and bring it to the room. Thank you.

Overall, the staff is doing their best, though most of the time, you are lost in translation. No international plugs, no gym and too much of a struggle for a non Japanese like me, does not make it a hotel option for my future visits in Osaka.

Room Tip: Make sure you avoid the side of the railway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank Tk100964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2014

Arrived early and wasn't able to check in as room was not ready. Collected my wireless router that was couriered directly to the hotel by a local provider. Concierge helped to do a full charge while I went shopping.

Stayed in their superior double room that was located on a high floor with a fantastic view of Osaka city. Room and toilet was very spacious and comfortable. Amenities provided were of good quality so I didn't need to use my own. We can choose either the western or local breakfast set. As the local one was so good, I had it for 2 consecutive days.

Location was not centrally located; about 10min walk to Umeda station. New Hankyu is more centrally located with the airport limousine pickup close by. Luckily, taxis are relatively cheaper comparing to Tokyo. So I took a taxi to the pick up point at New Hankyu.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sarimekko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2014

Fantastic hotel that is well located (10min walk to Osaka station) with plenty of great dining just at the doorstep. Excellent service with attentive staff.

Although not the cheapest hotel but certainly worth the price

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank stef_sin23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2014

Really good hotel, good size rooms.
Well equipped ( whiskey selection in mini bar).
Lots of restaurants and shops close by.
Near to Osaka station and other lines.
Very good quality at a reasonable price.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
1  Thank geoffjane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Osaka hotels
Osaka Station / Umeda
Hotel Granvia Osaka
Hotel Granvia Osaka
#51 of 333 in Osaka
1,455 reviews
Osaka Station / Umeda
Hilton Osaka
Hilton Osaka
#18 of 333 in Osaka
2,050 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Osaka Station / Umeda
The Westin Osaka
The Westin Osaka
#14 of 333 in Osaka
1,216 reviews
Osaka Station / Umeda
RIHGA Royal Hotel Osaka
Imperial Hotel Osaka
#6 of 333 in Osaka
977 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Hankyu International? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Hankyu International

Address: 19-19 Chayamachi, Kita-ku, Osaka 530-0013, Osaka Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kinki > Osaka Prefecture > Osaka > Osaka Station / Umeda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Osaka
#11 Romantic Hotel in Osaka
#11 Luxury Hotel in Osaka
#14 Family Hotel in Osaka
Price Range: $165 - $547 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Hankyu International 4.5*
Number of rooms: 168
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The style of our hotel is reminiscent of the luxury and warm atmosphere of a European mansion, all with the magnificent view of a high-rise building. The decor is based on a floral theme, and each room decorated as richly as a suite. In addition, we have a full range of facilities including restaurants and banquet halls offering highly unique menus. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, JAPANiCAN, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Rakuten, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Hankyu International reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hankyu International Hotel
Hankyu International Osaka

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing