We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nothing Short of Wonderful”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Hankyu International
Ranked #17 of 333 Hotels / Ryokan in Osaka
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 22, 2014

This hotel does a great job presenting itself. The outside is appealing, with its towering figure casting a shadow over smaller buildings that surround it. The lobby is lavishly/luxuriously decorated, with large chandeliers and elegance everywhere. A large majority of the staff spoke English, which was a huge plus and made the check-in process smooth. While we were checking in a member of the staff came over and firmly offered to hold my hand-carry by already placing his hand on the strap, which made it difficult to turn down. Someone was given our room key and escorted us to our room and made sure that we were satisfied prior to leaving us. We were on the 33rd floor and the view was absolutely stunning; no other building obstructed our view. The room itself is the second largest room that we have stayed at in Japan, with a king size bed and large bathroom area, what more could we ask for (other than more outlets in our room to charge a cell phone and a laptop).

Surroundings: The Loft (for shopping), Starbucks in the back entrance and another right across the street near The Loft, and everything else that you could ask for is within walking distance. We paid $185 for this hotel by booking two weeks out on TripAdvisor (which connected us to Agoda), plus 3,000 yen for parking a Vellfire. Although we did not eat here, we did visit the 25th floor and the different restaurants to see what was offered. Dinner buffet is 4,500 yen and breakfast is 3,500 yen per person and cocktails range between 800-1,500 yen.

Room Tip: We asked for a high floor, non-smoking, quiet area, and English speaking person to check us in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank exquisitektc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (671)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

144 - 150 of 671 reviews

Reviewed January 17, 2014

This is luxury for what you pay. We couldn't believe it was so cheap. It was the loveliest room with amazing city views and the service was fantastic. The hotel is just minutes away from train and subway station and is surrounded by great little restaurants. The staff are so helpful and will provide you with maps and recommendations for eating out. If you want to eat at the hotel buffet, go early as it closes at 9:00pm so we regret that we missed out.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank susiebcanberra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2014

Located right acrss the street from Umeda / Yodabashi, its a great location.

Breakfast is good and the hotel is a decent value.

Rooms could be bigger / more comfortable, however you get what you pay for.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2013

Agree with most reviews, this hotel feels like a five star hotel but charges a four star or even below price in the Osaka station area. conciege speaks limited English but with some efforts we are able to get our questions answered. It's much closer to a smaller subway station (5min walk) we later liked much more than the big and confusing Osaka station. Room is very nice, not to mention the night view from its high floor location. Overall, we would definitely go back to hankyu next time in Osaka,

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vivian318
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 25, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here during the Christmas holidays. The service was first rate. The room was clean and very comfortable. The bathroom was spacious and very well equipped. Good view from the 27/F. Highly recommended.

The slight disadvantage was the fact that the lobby was on the second floor. We initially parked our car on the ground floor and we had to go up one level to ask a staff to come down to help us with our luggage.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank YMDL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2013

We had the pleasure of staying at this excellent establishment run by the Hankyu company that also operates the nearby electric railway station and its lines and a high-end department store. Not to be confused with its more mainstream sister Hotel New Hankyu (which has a more advantageous location at the heart of the JR, subway and Hankyu stations and airport bus stops), the Hankyu International is the higher-end of the two. The hotel itself is located amongst the upper floors of the mixed development, meaning that all rooms have commanding views over Osaka. Inside the complex, the hotel lobby/reception is on the 2nd floor and with the minority of the building being actually the hotel, there is a more intimate boutique feel to the experience. Rooms are western/US-sized with large bathrooms with bathtub and shower areas. Some of the staff are sufficiently fluent in English for international guests who need to communicate in that language. Service and standards are of high levels and you don't suffer from the problems faced in large hotels (even the top names) with hundreds of rooms and guests. The lunch/dinner buffet at the restaurant at the ground level is good value and our stay was most excellent one!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MattChong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2013

The room we had on the 29th floor was outstanding. It was spacious with an amazing view and a bathroom to die for. We could have stayed much longer than the three nights. They even had streaming movies for free, which was the only time we watched any TV in Japan. This is a great place to take a break from your travels. Not only is this place luxurious, but the staff was extremely kind and helpful. I still don't understand how we got such a great rate at this place: $175 per night including taxes; what a deal. I guess our timing was lucky. At first (and before I saw our room) I had wished we were closer to the station, but once I realized that the short walk held many stores and restaurants, I changed my mind. We were also a short walk to the subway, which is far easier to manage than the very busy Osaka station. Right across from the hotel is a long corridor with many restaurants. We ate at a shabu shabu place that was near the entrance and was fun and delicious. This hotel was awesome!

Room Tip: The views are great from higher rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank AirBarb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Osaka hotels
Osaka Station / Umeda
Hotel Granvia Osaka
Hotel Granvia Osaka
#52 of 333 in Osaka
1,453 reviews
Osaka Station / Umeda
Hilton Osaka
Hilton Osaka
#18 of 333 in Osaka
2,048 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Osaka Station / Umeda
The Westin Osaka
The Westin Osaka
#14 of 333 in Osaka
1,215 reviews
Osaka Station / Umeda
RIHGA Royal Hotel Osaka
Imperial Hotel Osaka
#6 of 333 in Osaka
974 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Hankyu International? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Hankyu International

Address: 19-19 Chayamachi, Kita-ku, Osaka 530-0013, Osaka Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kinki > Osaka Prefecture > Osaka > Osaka Station / Umeda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Osaka
#11 Romantic Hotel in Osaka
#12 Luxury Hotel in Osaka
#14 Family Hotel in Osaka
Price Range: $166 - $547 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Hankyu International 4.5*
Number of rooms: 168
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The style of our hotel is reminiscent of the luxury and warm atmosphere of a European mansion, all with the magnificent view of a high-rise building. The decor is based on a floral theme, and each room decorated as richly as a suite. In addition, we have a full range of facilities including restaurants and banquet halls offering highly unique menus. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, JAPANiCAN, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Cancelon, Rakuten, Cheap Tickets, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Hankyu International reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hankyu International Hotel
Hankyu International Osaka

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing