We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay in Osaka”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Hotel Hankyu International
Ranked #13 of 298 Hotels / Ryokan in Osaka
Certificate of Excellence
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
42 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great stay in Osaka”
Reviewed October 17, 2012

Picked based on tripadvisor reviews and we were not led astray. Arrived by bullet train and was an easy 1000 yen taxi ride. Fantastic views of the city. Walking distance to great shopping and transportation. Free wifi. Very helpful staff. Best concierge recommendations from all the Japanese hotels we stayed in. All restaurants very expensive for the offerings and we ate out for all meals. Starbucks just outside the first floor when only a coffee will do.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daniel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

626 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    331
    225
    52
    11
    7
See reviews for
143
170
69
148
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tokyo, Japan
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2012

The Hankyu International doesn't have shuttle bus so unless you shell out for a taxi you'll need to walk 10 minutes from the Osaka JR station and pray you have good navigation skills (although it's tower is visible the last part of the way you will need to navigate Umeda station before you get to see it).

Also check-in is located on the 2nd floor around a corner and it took us a little time to find it. Some more signs would have been nice.

Other than that, we were on the 33rd floor and the city views were stunning at night and during the daytime. The hotel staff were very helpful and the bed was extremely comfortable (200 cm wide!). We also appreciated the separate bath and shower room.

The breakfast (we had western, non buffet) was good and filling but overpriced, probably since it was on the 25th floor with a great view of the city. I recommend the omelet and the chef's ham. The croissants were also light and crispy. One of the breakfast staff spoke English which was a plus.

Finally, check-out was a leisurely 12 o'clock so we could enjoy the room a little more after breakfast.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vitellus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DE
Level Contributor
103 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2012

The Hankyu International is a lovely, elegant property with large, luxe rooms and lots of luxury to make one feel very welcome and pampered. Still, the age is starting to show ...my room had a carpet that had pulled apart at the seams; the two velvet covered chairs were stained and threadbare; and many of the furnishings in the lobby showed the same age, wear, and genteel deterioration. The bathrooms are magnificent and exceedingly comfortable with great amenities.

It is well situated in Osaka, but is a very European-style hotel, seemingly a bit out of place in Japan.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hockessinstorm43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Georgia
Level Contributor
127 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2012

This is a very luxe property and was a great hotel. I was a bit disappointed because it really is much more like a luxurious European hotel rather than an elegant Japanese hotel (I prefer the latter). The rooms are very large and the bathroom is enormous. The view from my room on the 33rd floor was breathtaking. The location of the hotel is good - a bit of a walk fro Osaka Station, but one of the airport buses from Kansai runs directly to the front door of the hotel. Buses to Itami airport and most buses back to Kansai leave from other nearby locations (at the Hankyu New Hotel, about an 8 minute walk). Lots of shops and restaurants nearby and a Starbucks on the first floor. One minor issue - I reserved a room with a queen bed and was given a room with 2 twin beds. I was too tired to complain and it always annoys me when hotels do this....

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank crucifer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai
Level Contributor
75 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2012

Me and my gf spent our new years eve at this hotel, and it had been nothing but perfect experience.

Good: top service from all staff, very helpful and attentive. The room we had has a great view over the harbor. It is very spacious and well maintained. Didn't tried any restaurants in the hotel, so can't comment on that.

Bad: the location is a bit far from the train station despite there are many shops and restaurants surrounding. It took us 10 min to walk to train station n airport bus station.

Ugly: if I have to be picky... there was a bug on the floor in my room the last day. Not a big deal to me after the very pleasant stay. I'd still recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank eDUBShanghai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2011

This hotel is a kind of luxury in Japanese mix with Western Style. It is so balance. Hotel is great as located on a great location, next to many Restaurants, Lofts shopping Mall, Shopping area where many young generation people are there. Modern and lively environment. Staff are very helpful and extend outstanding services even some could not communicate English well.
Overall it is superb!!!!

Room Tip: If you like to be treated with very good care, attentive, and a touch of Japanese people then this i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank p k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2011

dont be fooled by the old fashioned lobby and decor- the rooms in the hotel are great. Giant beds, wonderful bathroom (with seperate bath and shower, a rarity in Japan). Close to downtown restaurants but still very quiet.
Very helpful staff, with great English.
No breakfast, as it was too expensive but there's a Starbucks in the buliding so I went there instead.

Room Tip: Ask to be away from the lift.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MyVonnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Osaka hotels
Osaka Station / Umeda
Hilton Osaka
Hilton Osaka
#17 of 298 in Osaka
1,832 reviews
Shinsaibashi / Nanba / Tennoji / South Area
Swissotel Nankai Osaka
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Osaka Station / Umeda
Hotel Granvia Osaka
Hotel Granvia Osaka
#52 of 298 in Osaka
1,337 reviews
Osaka Station / Umeda
The Westin Osaka
The Westin Osaka
#20 of 298 in Osaka
1,084 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Hankyu International? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Hankyu International

Property: Hotel Hankyu International
Address: 19-19 Chayamachi, Kita-ku, Osaka 530-0013, Osaka Prefecture
Phone Number:
Location: Japan > Kinki > Osaka Prefecture > Osaka > Osaka Station / Umeda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Osaka
#9 Luxury Hotel in Osaka
#11 Romantic Hotel in Osaka
#14 Family Hotel in Osaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Hankyu International 4.5*
Number of rooms: 168
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The style of our hotel is reminiscent of the luxury and warm atmosphere of a European mansion, all with the magnificent view of a high-rise building. The decor is based on a floral theme, and each room decorated as richly as a suite. In addition, we have a full range of facilities including restaurants and banquet halls offering highly unique menus. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Rakuten, Hotwire, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, JAPANiCAN, Fastbooking, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Agoda, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Hankyu International reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hankyu International Hotel
Hankyu International Osaka

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing