We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very special hotel for very special moment”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Hankyu International
Ranked #17 of 339 Hotels / Ryokan in Osaka
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 1, 2012

Me and my gf spent our new years eve at this hotel, and it had been nothing but perfect experience.

Good: top service from all staff, very helpful and attentive. The room we had has a great view over the harbor. It is very spacious and well maintained. Didn't tried any restaurants in the hotel, so can't comment on that.

Bad: the location is a bit far from the train station despite there are many shops and restaurants surrounding. It took us 10 min to walk to train station n airport bus station.

Ugly: if I have to be picky... there was a bug on the floor in my room the last day. Not a big deal to me after the very pleasant stay. I'd still recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank eDUBShanghai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (680)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

199 - 205 of 680 reviews

Reviewed October 27, 2011

This hotel is a kind of luxury in Japanese mix with Western Style. It is so balance. Hotel is great as located on a great location, next to many Restaurants, Lofts shopping Mall, Shopping area where many young generation people are there. Modern and lively environment. Staff are very helpful and extend outstanding services even some could not communicate English well.
Overall it is superb!!!!

Room Tip: If you like to be treated with very good care, attentive, and a touch of Japanese people then this i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank p k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2011

dont be fooled by the old fashioned lobby and decor- the rooms in the hotel are great. Giant beds, wonderful bathroom (with seperate bath and shower, a rarity in Japan). Close to downtown restaurants but still very quiet.
Very helpful staff, with great English.
No breakfast, as it was too expensive but there's a Starbucks in the buliding so I went there instead.

Room Tip: Ask to be away from the lift.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MyVonnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2011

Nice view from 33rd floor. All the rooms locate upper than 24th floor.
Clean room and bathroom. Service is excellent.

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Macjava
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2011

We stayed here for 4 nights in March. The hotel was really wonderful, the staff very accommodating and professional. We were on level 33 with an amazing view of Osaka city (Uneda). The hotel room was absolutely huge by japanese standards, double doors led into the bathroom which was also huge, seriously, a separate shower, bath, a large vanity basin and a toilet, very special. the tv was a large lcd screen with. a marantz docking station for you mp3 player, we were able to plug our laptop into the tv and watch the movies we brought from home as we knew that the only english speaking tv station would be CNN. There was two lounge chairs and two normal dining chairs with a small table where you could sit and either work or eat some of the amazing sushi they sell at the Hanshin department store. We travel extensively and this would have to be about one of the best hotels we have stayed at, it was very quiet even though it was right next to a fire station (yes, you could hear the sirens but they didnt worry us or keep us awake). We had a large window with a great view and blockout curtains so you could sleep in if you wanted to. We wondered if we were the only visitors staying here because you never heard another single person (or even saw that many people in the lifts or the lobby).
The beds and one of the pillows is hard but we read others reviews and came prepared with our own travel pillows and had no problems, we had booked a superior twin and the price was amazing, very cheap for what we got. The room was very clean and the maids came daily and left the place spotless. They have a couple of cups, a big jug that could serve about 6 people with tea or coffee.
The department stores close by (Daimaru & Hanshin) have the most amazing food halls in their basements, they go for miles and you can purchase lovely cakes, biscuits, coffee, tea and sushi/sashimi to bring back to your hotel room, all very fresh and beautifully presented. There are lots of japanese restaurants close by and one in particular is called Ki-Chi-Ri which was on level 4 of a building - you couldnt see inside, you just caught a lift up and it was just lovely. Make sure you look for all the malls that are underground, they go for miles and miles, you could spend entire days not seeing the sun but exploring the many laneways. Also if you go the Umeda Sky building, go down to the basement and you will find the most quaint "street" with lots of little japanese restaurants, it looked just like an old japanese street only underground.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank karyl170
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2011

Not knowing Osaka, we asked for a recommendation from contacts and were suggested the Hankyu International (not too surprising given they work for the Hankyu Group). The first thing to say is that if you are arriving in town via the Nazomi (the Bullet train) then the easiest way to get to the hotel is by taxi (around 1,000 Yen or roughly £8.50 on current exchange rates), just make sure you have everything written down in Japanese. The other way via subway is fine if you are being guided, but the local transport network isn’t as easy for foreigners to use as it is in Tokyo.

The Hankyu International is very grand and we were given a room on the 30th floor – great views! I should mention at this point that I have never been to a hotel where all the bellhops are women. Very strange to see lovely Japanese girls struggling with large cases, but they don’t seem to mind.

The room we had was a very good size, had a huge bed, a real desk for working and a massive television (I didn’t measure it, but it was at least 42” and may have been 50”). Still if you are not Japanese then it is no use, as I have never come across such a poor television offering (including pay-tv channels) in an international hotel. If you are there for any time it is probably worth packing a portable DVD player and some films! The bathroom was also a good size, but sadly didn’t have a separate toilet.

Breakfast wasn’t included in the rate so we found ourselves downstairs in Starbucks, which has a decent enough offering to start the day.

The hotel is located in an area with plenty of shops and restaurants close by, so is well worth exploring. If you don’t speak Japanese but do know people who live in the city, ask them to take you to a traditional Japanese pub or restaurant, as it will undoubtedly be an experience for you!

Osaka is more relaxed than Tokyo and well worth a couple of days visit. The Hankyu International is a good comfortable hotel, although not particularly cheap (around £190 per night at current exchange rates). There are several other hotels in the area that probably offer a similar experience, so I would be guided on price for a future trip.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MrHandBaggageOnly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2010

We stayed here for one night while visiting Universal Japan. The hotel in not near Universal, but it is very close to the train station. We booked a suite through Expedia and got an exceptional deal on a very large suite. It was so comfortable, we wish we could have been there longer. Very comfortable with a very friendly staff. Ate at the buffet restaurant on the first floor which was good (not exceptional) and offered an extensive variety of foods. The restaurant seems a little worn and tired, but the food was good. The location is in the theatre districts, so if you are looking for culture in Osaka, this is the place to stay.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TwoDocs14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Osaka hotels
Osaka Station / Umeda
Hotel Granvia Osaka
Hotel Granvia Osaka
#47 of 339 in Osaka
1,474 reviews
Osaka Station / Umeda
The Westin Osaka
The Westin Osaka
#14 of 339 in Osaka
1,232 reviews
Osaka Station / Umeda
Hilton Osaka
Hilton Osaka
#19 of 339 in Osaka
2,072 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Imperial Hotel Osaka
#7 of 339 in Osaka
983 reviews
Hotel Nikko Osaka
#20 of 339 in Osaka
1,979 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Hankyu International? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Hankyu International

Address: 19-19 Chayamachi, Kita-ku, Osaka 530-0013, Osaka Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kinki > Osaka Prefecture > Osaka > Osaka Station / Umeda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Osaka
#11 Romantic Hotel in Osaka
#12 Luxury Hotel in Osaka
#14 Family Hotel in Osaka
Price Range: $164 - $584 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Hankyu International 4.5*
Number of rooms: 168
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The style of our hotel is reminiscent of the luxury and warm atmosphere of a European mansion, all with the magnificent view of a high-rise building. The decor is based on a floral theme, and each room decorated as richly as a suite. In addition, we have a full range of facilities including restaurants and banquet halls offering highly unique menus. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Agoda, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, JAPANiCAN, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Rakuten, getaroom.com, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Hankyu International reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hankyu International Hotel
Hankyu International Osaka

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing