We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bad value for money - 2nd Osaka Castle”
Review of Hilton Osaka

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hilton Osaka
Ranked #19 of 351 Hotels / Ryokan in Osaka
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 27, 2013 via mobile

+ good location
+ good service
- Internet costs extra (unstable)
- rooms are old and small
- breakfast room is horribly small & crowded
- bar and room service is comparable pricy

Evaluation based upon comparison to Swissotel, where we spent 2 nights in Osaka as well.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
4  Thank hulk-mainhattan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel R, Herman Ehrlich - General Manager at Hilton Osaka, responded to this reviewResponded November 10, 2013

Thank you for having availed your time to provide your constructive feedback .
We are delighted that you enjoyed our convenient location opposite the refurbished and extended JR Osaka Station, with a myriad of new department stores and other retail offerings, in addition to the largest underground shopping mall of Japan.
Your comments relating to the rooms and Internet use are valuable and taken up for future reference.
We value your feedback, which will assist us improving the need of our guests.
Thank you anew, and hope to have another opportunity of welcoming you, when your travels bring you to Osaka, to demonstrate that your comments were not made in vain.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,139)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

844 - 850 of 2,139 reviews

Reviewed October 27, 2013

I make frequent trips to Osaka and the Osaka Hilton is my favorite hotel. I like the location which is close to all of the major department stores and train stations. The staff is always warm, helpful and professional. I have never been disappointed! I highly recommend this hotel to visitors and those who are planning to do business in the Osaka area.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank francine y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel R, Herman Ehrlich - General Manager at Hilton Osaka, responded to this reviewResponded October 28, 2013

Thank you for your loyal patronage to the Hilton Osaka.
I am happy to learn that you enjoyed your recent stay. Your kind recognition of our service delivery is certainly gratifying and we have shared this with the staff. This will no doubt motivate them to provide an even more superior service.
We thank you anew for your patronage and look forward welcoming you back on your next visit to Osaka.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2013 via mobile

We've just checked out and we had a great time there. The staff are so nice and so helpful. I wish if the hotel had free wifi in the room to complete the experience. Other than that the location is so convenient near the osaka station and the shopping area with the best brand names just across the street. As a muslim you need be careful with the in room dining as most dishes contain pork. Staff will tell you only if you ask. Special thanx to "Ari" for being so helpful with the halal food choices and for being so nice with us during our stay. Thank you Ari!

Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
1  Thank a_ebaidli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel R, Herman Ehrlich - General Manager at Hilton Osaka, responded to this reviewResponded October 28, 2013

Thank you for choosing the Hilton Osaka as your preferred hotel for your recent trip to Japan, and taking time to write laudatory comments.
It is our greatest pleasure to know that you have enjoyed your stay.
We all appreciate your kind comments about our staff and our convenient location. This will be shared amongst all the management and the staff.
Thank you anew, and we look forward to welcoming you back when your travels bring you to Osaka next.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2013

The good memories at Hilton Osaka kept us talking about it in the family after more that two months after staying there for 5 nights. They have one of the best location in the city and first-class property. But we were more impressed by the service we received.

Upon checking in, we were told they could upgrade us to executive floor level thanks to my Gold member status. But we needed a 2-beds room so they gave us the highest floor possible with a great view from the room. We also enjoyed free breakfast which was the best we had experienced in our travel. A complete and huge array of choices mixing Japanese and Western breakfast main staples. And the taste was just wonderful. We felt so refreshing everytime we finished giving us a headstart of a new day.

The hotel is located right across the Osaka Station (not Shin-Osaka :) with all the major metro lines around. A couple of colossal department stores are within walking distance. It must feel like heaven for shopping oriented travelers. I want to note that the Osaka Central Post Office is right besides the train station where you can find a great variety of stamps, postcards and other post products.

The lobby manager was a gentleman with great manners and attentionn to guests. One of the afternoon we came back and found out that our room was not ready even though we asked to have it cleaned before we left. The manager gave us a sincere apology and provided us free drinks from the bar. He spent about 20 minutes chatting with me on a lot of interesting topics. This made me feel very comfortable and forget about waiting to get into the room. Maybe it was his job but he never showed that, like it was a pleasant conversation enjoyed by both of us.

The good quality of hotel facilities ensure a restful stay and it is the service that elevates it. We would like to thank Hilton Osaka for giving us such a memorable stay there and we will sure one day to go back.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lee-CHT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel R, Herman Ehrlich - General Manager at Hilton Osaka, responded to this reviewResponded October 28, 2013

Thank you for choosing the Hilton Osaka as your preferred hotel for your recent trip to Japan, and taking time to write laudatory comments.
It is our greatest pleasure to know that you have enjoyed your stay. We would like to also thank you for your inputs about our convenient location, and most of all our proud friendly staffs. We truly thank you for your nicest comments.
We thank you anew for your patronage and look forward welcoming you back on your next visit to Osaka.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2013

We stayed there because we couldn't find another place in Osaka. The hotel is clean, staff very friendly and the location is great. However, for the price we payed I had higher expectation. Reason may well be that we stayed a few days earlier in a very nice, newer and more stylish hotel in Osaka, which was a third of the price and was far more modern. Its not a bad hotel, but you can get far better rooms for a cheaper price.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OneFitsNone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel R, Herman Ehrlich - General Manager at Hilton Osaka, responded to this reviewResponded October 28, 2013

Thank you for your valuable feedback.
Please accept my apology for having failed to deliver the level of service which you had expected from the Hilton Osaka.
We value your feedback, which will assist us improving the need of our guests.
Thank you anew, and hope to have another opportunity of welcoming you, when your travels bring you to Osaka, to demonstrate that your comments were not made in vain.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2013

I am a frequent visitor to Osaka and have always enjoyed my stays at the Hilton Osaka. The rooms are always clean and comfortable making for a restful stay there. The location of the hotel can't be beat!...you're in the heart of it all with many wonderful nearby restaurants to choose from, minutes from Osaka and JR Stations and great department and specialty stores. And if you love to walk and see the sights, you can easily take a stroll down the river and in less than an hour, be at the famous Osaka Castle.
The hotel staff are wonderful and efficient...always very friendly and greet you with a smile! It always makes one feel special when they call you by name or recognize that you have stayed there before and they are always ready to help you and take care of your requests.
I also enjoy the breakfast buffet. It has a lot to choose from and is a great way to start your day in Osaka!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bev M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel R, Herman Ehrlich - General Manager at Hilton Osaka, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2013

Thank you for having taken the time to provide your constructive feedback, particularly in reference to room quality and breakfast experience.
Your comment concerning our staff is also gratifying, and I have passed on your positive remark to her which will act as a well deserved motivator to achieve more superior performance.
Thank you anew, and we look forward to welcoming you back when your travels bring you to Osaka next.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2013

I stayed at the Osaka Hilton twice so far and in both time I was very impressed with the staff. I felt welcomed and very well taken care of. Everything was conveniently situated from the Bus to/from Airport to some of the best restaurants in town.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dealmeis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel R, Herman Ehrlich - General Manager at Hilton Osaka, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2013

Thank you for choosing the Hilton Osaka as your preferred hotel for your recent trip to Japan, and taking time to write laudatory comments.
It is our greatest pleasure to know that you have enjoyed your stay.
We all appreciate your kind comments about our staff and our convenient location. This will be shared amongst all the management and the staff.
Thanks anew and we look forward welcoming you back on your future travels to Osaka.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Osaka hotels
Osaka Station / Umeda
Hotel Granvia Osaka
Hotel Granvia Osaka
#51 of 351 in Osaka
1,507 reviews
Osaka Station / Umeda
The Westin Osaka
The Westin Osaka
#16 of 351 in Osaka
1,280 reviews
Shinsaibashi / Nanba / Tennoji / South Area
Swissotel Nankai Osaka
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Nikko Osaka
#20 of 351 in Osaka
2,024 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Osaka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Osaka

Address: 1-8-8 Umeda, Kita-ku, Osaka 530-0001, Osaka Prefecture
Phone Number:
Location: Japan > Kinki > Osaka Prefecture > Osaka > Osaka Station / Umeda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Osaka
#7 Spa Hotel in Osaka
#8 Family Hotel in Osaka
#14 Luxury Hotel in Osaka
#19 Romantic Hotel in Osaka
Price Range: $211 - $485 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hilton Osaka 4.5*
Number of rooms: 527
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the business and entertainment area, the Hilton Osaka hotel is linked to one of Osaka's largest shopping malls. Admire the views from Windows on the World restaurant or the Executive Lounge. Unwind in the gym, pool or relaxation salon. The hotel is 3 miles from Universal Studios Japan and 1 hour from Kansai airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hilton EMEA, Hotels.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hilton Osaka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Osaka Hotel Osaka
Hilton International Osaka
Osaka Hilton International

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing