We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel, convenient location”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hilton Osaka

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hilton Osaka
Ranked #17 of 298 Hotels / Ryokan in Osaka
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great hotel, convenient location”
Reviewed August 7, 2013

We stayed 4 nights at the Hilton in a King Deluxe room.
Checkin was smooth and the staff were super helpful - taking our bags as we entered and making sure they got to our rooms when they were ready. The room itself was enormous!

Concierge was knowledgable about the area and was able to recommend hotels and services.
Location is very convenient, right across the road from Osaka station, and within walking distance of restaurants and nightlife.

The only complaint was that there was a bit of a rigmarole regarding the use of the pool. All of the signs were written in Japanese and the protocol was not explained in person (e.g all people must use a swimming cap).

Other than that, it was a great stay!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PureGuava
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel R, Herman Ehrlich - General Manager at Hilton Osaka, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Thank you for choosing the Hilton Osaka as your preferred hotel for your recent trip to Japan, and taking time to write laudatory comments.
We are delighted that you enjoyed our convenient location opposite the refurbished and extended JR Osaka Station, with a myriad of new department stores and other retail offerings, in addition to the largest underground shopping mall of Japan.
I thank you for having availed your time to provide your constructive feedback and we look forward welcoming you back on your future travels to Osaka.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,833 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    781
    715
    238
    74
    25
See reviews for
455
408
183
568
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (164)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2013

We stayed at Hilton, Osaka for 4 nights in end July. My daughter received a small gift from Concierge during our check in which is impressive and we thought that we made a right choice to stay at this hotel but...

Overall the hotel is just okay. The reception is spacious but old. The room is cleaned and well maintained. However the design in public areas and the room which we stayed are a bit outdated. There is no master switch at the entry so I need to go back to the bedside control to turn off all the lights before leave the room. The sliding wooded panels at window did not achieve a 100% blackout. We are surprising that the bathroom is very 'plastic' . Plastic wall and floor tiles, corian vanity counter (not marble) which did not reflect luxuriance of an international 5-star brand hotel. The size and the component of the bathroom were almost exaclty the same as a local hotel that we stayed in Kansai airport. When we entered the bathroom, we could easily feel the floor was crooked. I think there is gap between the 'plastic' floor and the floor below. I stayed at other international branded hotels like Mandarin Oriental Tokyo and Grand Hyatt, Hilton Osaka is the worse among three.

Another unpleasure experience is that we bought a melon at a department store. We couldn't find any knife or forks in the room so we called the housekeeping to provide a knife and forks. I was so surprise to hear that I need to pay for this services!!!! I thought it may be some sort of misunderstanding. So I explained to the housekeeping staff again slowly that we were not going to keep or buy the knife but just borrow it for one night and would definitely return to the hotel after use. However she insisted on charging it to our bill and then she hanged up. After 45 minutes no one showed up to help us so I called Housekeeping and assistant manager twice but no one answered my calls. I called Front desk then a bell captain picked up the phone and he said he will ask the housekeeping to deliver the knife and forks to our room. After another 15 minutes, finally a lady delivered the knife and forks to my room. It took us more than one hours plus 6+ calls to get one knife and three forks which is not acceptable for an international brand hotel!!!!!!

I would say Front desk and Concierge is excellent but housekeeping is disappointing. The second night when we returned to the room, we discovered that the bathgel and shampoo were not refilled and tidy up in a way which it should be!!! Because of an unpleasure experience with housekeeping one day before we are too upset to call for service again. But the shampoo and bathgel were refilled on the third and the fourth days.

We are planning to return to Osaka next year but not sure if we will stay at Hilton again. With this price we can have better choice in Osaka!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Panda_A_2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel R, Herman Ehrlich - General Manager at Hilton Osaka, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Dear Hilton Osaka Guest,

We would like to take this opportunity to thank you for your constructive comments. Feedback from our guests enables us to continuously improve our operation and guest services.

Please accept our sincerest apology for your unfortunate experience with our housekeeping services. Your experience was not a reflection of the many efforts we make daily to ensure the well being of our guests and rest assured that we have addressed your concerns to avoid future repetition. Hilton Osaka is in the process to redecorate our guest rooms over an extended period of time and I hope that you will give us another opportunity to demonstrate that your comments were not made in vain, when your travels include Osaka in the future.

Your valuable feedback is greatly appreciated and we look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back to the Hilton Osaka on your next visit.

Yours sincerely,

Herman Ehrlich - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
45 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2013

Had stayed for 5 nights on 2012. Room was decent neat & clean. Every night, there would be a message card telling us the temperature for the following day, with the Housekeeping staff signature who tried to clean up for the room for us. Food was good and overall the Hotel staff were very polite.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alice l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel R, Herman Ehrlich - General Manager at Hilton Osaka, responded to this review, August 4, 2013
We are delighted to learn that you enjoyed your visit and the services provided.
I thank you for having availed your time to provide your constructive feedback and we look forward welcoming you back on your future travels to Osaka.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2013

I am a HH Diamond member, and have very high standards for Hilton hotels. I had one night in Osaka a few weeks ago, and was very happy with my stay there.

When I arrived, someone immediately helped me with my luggage. They insisted on taking it up to my room with me, which was very kind. The check-in was very quick and efficient. They gave me a complimentary upgrade, and invited me to use the executive lounge.

When I arrived, it was evening, and there was not much food in the lounge. The concierge was great in suggesting nearby restaurants and providing maps and directions to wherever I wanted to go. They even called a restaurant for me to ensure that it would be open late.

I had a great night's sleep. The next morning, I had a delicious breakfast in the executive lounge. Considering it was complimentary, I was surprised by the large selection. There was both traditional Japanese breakfast items as well as standard Western style items. The view was great, and the staff was very helpful.

I requested a late check-out and that was not a problem. Again, the concierge was great, and gave me detailed directions to stores so I could find everything that I wanted to get before I left.

The location was very convenient. I took a bus to the hotel straight from the airport. The hotel is just across the street from Osaka Station, with access to a large train/subway network. There are also several department stores and many restaurants a few streets away. On my way back to the airport, I walked a few minutes to catch the bus.

I would highly recommend this hotel, and would stay here again myself.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank a_traveling_penguin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel R, Herman Ehrlich - General Manager at Hilton Osaka, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Thank you for choosing the Hilton Osaka as your preferred hotel for your recent trip to Japan, and taking time to write laudatory comments.
I am happy to learn that you enjoyed your recent stay.
Your kind recognition of our service delivery is certainly gratifying and we have shared this with the staff.
This will no doubt motivate them to provide an even more superior service.
I thank you for having availed your time to provide your constructive feedback and we look forward welcoming you back on your future travels to Osaka.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
1 review
Reviewed July 24, 2013

Concierge and bell service staff are excellent and helpful. Polite, pleasant, and tried best to provide information that I needed. Yet, the front desk, swimming pool staff are polite, but not very passionate.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Lai Yee C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel R, Herman Ehrlich - General Manager at Hilton Osaka, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Thank you for choosing the Hilton Osaka as your preferred hotel for your recent trip to Japan, and taking time to write laudatory comments.
I'm very proud to hear that our team took good care of you and I can assure you that I will share the good comments with them. For us its always important to hear what our guests thinks in order for us to improve and we will continue doing so in the future.
Thanks anew and we look forward welcoming you back on your future travels to Osaka.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
Reviewed July 23, 2013

Just next to Osaka Station and well connected with shopping malls and train/railway network. Easily go everywhere. Nothing to worry about Security and qualtiy services are provided without doubt as well. Recommended to everyone with reasonable budget.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Heung Ming W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel R, Herman Ehrlich - General Manager at Hilton Osaka, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Thank you for choosing the Hilton Osaka as your preferred hotel for your recent trip to Japan, and taking time to write laudatory comments.
We highly appreciate your comments about our convenient location, which is opposite the refurbished and extended JR Osaka Station.
I thank you for having availed your time to provide your constructive feedback and we look forward welcoming you back on your future travels to Osaka.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, null, Hong Kong
Level Contributor
33 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2013

It is one of the most convinient hotel in Osaka, and probably one of the top address there (before Intercontinental was opened at least). Just opposite to the JR Osaka, and with 3 department stores plus the new Osaka Grand Front, one cannot complain about its location. The reception is also very nice with big and spacious lobby. The staff, as mentioned all share the Japanese definition of service and hospitality.
The rooms are in need of some minor touch up and you really cannot compare with newer hotels. The breakfast is OK but I didnt have chance to taste other outlets in the hotel.

Room Tip: Note there are 2 airports in Osaka - Kansai for mostly international traffice, Itami for local traff...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank William S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel R, Herman Ehrlich - General Manager at Hilton Osaka, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Thank you for choosing the Hilton Osaka as your preferred hotel for your recent trip to Japan, and taking time to write laudatory comments.
We receive many good comments about how convenient our location is, and we are proud to say it is our very strong unique sales point.
Thank you anew, and we look forward to welcoming you back when your travels bring you to Osaka next.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Osaka hotels
Osaka Station / Umeda
Hotel Granvia Osaka
Hotel Granvia Osaka
#52 of 298 in Osaka
1,337 reviews
Shinsaibashi / Nanba / Tennoji / South Area
Swissotel Nankai Osaka
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Osaka Station / Umeda
Hotel Hankyu International
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Osaka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Osaka

Property: Hilton Osaka
Address: 1-8-8 Umeda, Kita-ku, Osaka 530-0001, Osaka Prefecture
Phone Number:
Location: Japan > Kinki > Osaka Prefecture > Osaka > Osaka Station / Umeda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Osaka
#6 Business Hotel in Osaka
#11 Luxury Hotel in Osaka
#13 Family Hotel in Osaka
#19 Romantic Hotel in Osaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hilton Osaka 4.5*
Number of rooms: 525
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the business and entertainment area, the Hilton Osaka hotel is linked to one of Osaka's largest shopping malls. Admire the views from Windows on the World restaurant or the Executive Lounge. Unwind in the gym, pool or relaxation salon. The hotel is 3 miles from Universal Studios Japan and 1 hour from Kansai airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Rakuten, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hilton EMEA, Hotwire, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton Osaka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Osaka Hotel Osaka
Hilton International Osaka
Osaka Hilton International

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing