We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small room”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel Granvia Osaka
Ranked #51 of 342 Hotels / Ryokan in Osaka
Reviewed February 22, 2014 via mobile

The room is so small and I could easily bang the wall when I was taking shower in the bathroom. Can't imagine how a M size and above person can stay in this room. The location of hotel is good as it's just beside the train station, and near the convenient store.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
1  Thank Jazziv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,485)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

394 - 400 of 1,485 reviews

Reviewed February 4, 2014

Unbeatable location, especially when you want to go to Kobe and Kyoto using the fast JR lines. Right in the station, there are big and new shopping malls within 10 mins walk. Indeed, a big Daimaru shopping store in right in front of the hotel entrance.

Services are excellent, staff are friendly and efficient. Breakfast with 2 choices - Japanese style or buffet western style. Both are of good quality. Environment is excellent.

Room clean and neat, all rooms are in the high floors so no need to worry about noises. The only thing that need to improve is the WiFi. My room can detect it, but cannot connect to it. I need to go to the corridor to connect to WiFi (though the speed is very good).

But this tiny shortcoming does not affect the excellent location and staff services. I would recommended it this hotel in Osaka.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank norton88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2014

We got a great deal for our stay at the Granvia Osaka and stayed on the Granvia floor (27) - this floor has it's own reception/concierge, guest lounge (with a small library, recent magazines, internet and printing facilities, tea and coffee, juices, small cakes and biscuits), private swipe in secure entrance and amazing views.
The rooms are small by Western standards but spacious by Japanese standards, they are decorated in a modern fashion with plenty of amenities including delightful French bath salts. The level of cleanliness was exceptional and the bath tub was a welcome reprieve after a day out in the Winter cold.
The staff at Granvia were very helpful and assisted us in finding all the little nooks and crannies of Osaka, they even printed maps off Google for us. As guests on the Granvia floor they took care of our check-in and check-out. The staff also looked after our bags on our final day and allowed us to use the lounge even after checking out of our room while we waited for our train.
The location of the hotel is great, we arrived using the train and just had to head upstairs to find the hotel - we didn't even have to go out into the cold! It was the perfect base from which to explore Osaka and easy to travel from given it was on top of the main train station.
Our package included breakfast which was a delicious and well stocked buffet. We stayed at the Granvia Osaka twice on this trip, at the start and end of our trip, and the Omelet bar chef recognised me and remembered just how I liked my omelet, the omelets were delicious too!
We will definitely stay here again, on the Granvia (27th) floor.

Room Tip: Granvia floor, level 27.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Deux_Coxski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2014

We have stayed at this hotel twice. Our first visit was transferring from the Granvia Kyoto (excellent hotel) to Granvia Osaka on the 24th floor. We were very disappointed as the room was very small and dated compared to the Kyoto experience. When we asked for a larger room we were transferred to a corner room which was a bit larger but still dated. They get points for doing their best to accommodate.

On our next visit to Osaka, and based on a recommendation from friends, we booked again but on the Granvia floor (27th). It is like a different hotel. The rooms are spacious and modern. Great bathroom. Fantastic view. Private front desk with English speaking staff. Private lounge. Reliable internet connection.

As many have stated, the location is perfect. If you can get a good rate for the 27th floor, book here.

Room Tip: Restaurants on the 14th and 16th floor of the department store Daimaru adjacent to the hotel are gre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank mcinmd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2014

If you reach the hotel from the KIX airport and dropped off by the bus, you might have a little bit trouble looking for the hotel. You have to drag your luggage across the traffic, climb up the staircases, and cross the overhead bridge probably around 10-15mins. But if you take the JR things will be easier as one of the hotel entry is inside the JR station. Apart from the small dingy room, smells of smoke, tired looking interior, the room is actually clean. We stayed at the floor which has vending machine stations so we could get some cup noodles and drinks at night. Location wise is superb, i have nothing against it. We also managed to ask the staff to help us deliver our luggages to the hotel in Tokyo, though the staff could not speak much english, they were polite and tried to help us as much as possible. I appreciated their help. Overall, worth my dollars! Will i stay here again ? Yes, but in different rooms, perhaps the renovated ones.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank stephjpol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2014

Would definitely stay here again. Location-wise was excellent - it's right next door to Osaka Train Station. Staff were friendly and most were very helpful. Plenty of shopping around the area and we never had to eat at the same place twice, due to this great central location. No need to splurge on breakfast at the hotel as there are lots of bakeries and cafes nearby.
We used this location as a base to travel to Kyoto and Nara - both places also highly recommended for a visit.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank S28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2013

I do not expect perfect English speaking staff, but I do expect a reasonable level of English-speaking capability among hotel staff, especially such a large hotel right at the JR station. I needed help on a urgent basis for transportation to the airport; the front desk staff at Hotel Granvia Osaka were trying to help but they could not understand even simple questions and kept apologizing, but they could not do much other than just repeating the same thing over and over to me, which was very frustrating. In addition, this hotel does not provide customers with the use of a computer and printer so if you want to do online checkin and print out your boarding pass (instead of just relying on the e-boarding pass emailed to you) you will need to go to an internet cafe somewhere.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank ChocolateMountain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Osaka hotels
Osaka Station / Umeda
RIHGA Royal Hotel Osaka
Hotel New Otani Osaka
#15 of 342 in Osaka
1,269 reviews
Osaka Station / Umeda
The Westin Osaka
The Westin Osaka
#14 of 342 in Osaka
1,251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Osaka Station / Umeda
Hilton Osaka
Hilton Osaka
#19 of 342 in Osaka
2,103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Granvia Osaka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Granvia Osaka

Address: 3-1-1 Umeda Kita-ku, Osaka 530-0001, Osaka Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kinki > Osaka Prefecture > Osaka > Osaka Station / Umeda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #51 of 342 Hotels / Ryokan in Osaka
Price Range: $123 - $297 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Granvia Osaka 3.5*
Number of rooms: 716
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Rakuten, Expedia, Hotels.com, JAPANiCAN, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Granvia Osaka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Granvia Hotel Osaka
Osaka Granvia Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing