We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good location, interior of the room was disappointing”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Granvia Osaka
Ranked #52 of 303 Hotels / Ryokan in Osaka
Pekanbaru, Indonesia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Good location, interior of the room was disappointing”
Reviewed January 6, 2014

If you reach the hotel from the KIX airport and dropped off by the bus, you might have a little bit trouble looking for the hotel. You have to drag your luggage across the traffic, climb up the staircases, and cross the overhead bridge probably around 10-15mins. But if you take the JR things will be easier as one of the hotel entry is inside the JR station. Apart from the small dingy room, smells of smoke, tired looking interior, the room is actually clean. We stayed at the floor which has vending machine stations so we could get some cup noodles and drinks at night. Location wise is superb, i have nothing against it. We also managed to ask the staff to help us deliver our luggages to the hotel in Tokyo, though the staff could not speak much english, they were polite and tried to help us as much as possible. I appreciated their help. Overall, worth my dollars! Will i stay here again ? Yes, but in different rooms, perhaps the renovated ones.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stephjpol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,362 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    269
    578
    373
    96
    46
See reviews for
281
299
198
389
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
53 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2014

Would definitely stay here again. Location-wise was excellent - it's right next door to Osaka Train Station. Staff were friendly and most were very helpful. Plenty of shopping around the area and we never had to eat at the same place twice, due to this great central location. No need to splurge on breakfast at the hotel as there are lots of bakeries and cafes nearby.
We used this location as a base to travel to Kyoto and Nara - both places also highly recommended for a visit.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank S28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2013

I do not expect perfect English speaking staff, but I do expect a reasonable level of English-speaking capability among hotel staff, especially such a large hotel right at the JR station. I needed help on a urgent basis for transportation to the airport; the front desk staff at Hotel Granvia Osaka were trying to help but they could not understand even simple questions and kept apologizing, but they could not do much other than just repeating the same thing over and over to me, which was very frustrating. In addition, this hotel does not provide customers with the use of a computer and printer so if you want to do online checkin and print out your boarding pass (instead of just relying on the e-boarding pass emailed to you) you will need to go to an internet cafe somewhere.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChocolateMountain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taipei, Taiwan
Level Contributor
32 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2013

Hotel entrance is inside the JR station, lobby to JR gate is 1 minute by walk, and 30 seconds walk to the beginning of the underpass connecting almost all the shopping malls. Great for all seasons. We stayed in the Studio Twin on the 23rd floor, room is smallish but is typical of japanese hotels. The best part is the bathroom, hot water is quick to deliver and water flow is excellent. Heated toilets. Quiet, no train noises. For around 100USD budget, this is highly recommended. Be aware though, their pillows are quite stiff, if you are used to softer pillows, you can request for "soft pillows" and they will be happy to deliver to your room.

Room Tip: Every floor have different prices and room designs (floor 23 to 27), choose the one fits your budget...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank iterryaki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires
Level Contributor
143 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed December 25, 2013

The best characteristic of this hotel is that it is IN the rail-road station complex. That means, in Osaka, direct immediate access to shopping centres, supermarkets and lots of food-stores. When it's cold or rainy, this is a really great advantage. And not to say if you're travelling by train! The entrance is small and very dissimulated, but there are signs that lead to it. Anyway, I recommend to memorize it's location through the neighbouring shops, because the place is quite a labyrinth, with spots that look very much like others, Remember that in Japan few people speak English fluently. Rooms are small. Views are... of the station roof. Reception staff attention is cold and rough. It's clean, though. Breakfast is good (an excellent pasta is the highlight). WiFi is ok.

Room Tip: No tips here. Sorry. Through other traveller's comments I see there are better rooms than ours.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RicardoRabinovich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed December 17, 2013 via mobile

My family booked 2 rooms, one on the Granvia Floor & the other a normal twin room. The room on Granvia floor was excellent but the non-Granvia room was comfortable. The hotel provides great service and amenities sufficient.
What I really love about the room on Granvia Floor was that it was stocked with all sorts of toiletries, even shaving cream.
Bath towels, robes and slippers were changed daily-I have to tell the staff not to replaced unless indicated.
I would book Granvia again because the location is simply unbeatable. The train station, shopping and restaurants are literally at the doorstep. Department stores are accessible via underground connection.

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Cherylyn K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed December 14, 2013

Stayed in a Superior Queen Room at the Granvia Osaka for 5 nights late November. The room is on the Granvia floor, and it's beautiful.
Newly renovated, we found the room spacious enough and we didn't have to step over our luggages when we wanted to get to the toilet.Nice rain shower, ofcourse great auto toilet; lovely bath salts, shampoo/body wash/conditioner in big pump bottles.
Location is very convenient, right above Osaka station so it was easy to get to Kobe, Kyoto without changing trains. There is also a Daimaru dept store right beside the hotel and i think at least 2 other malls in the vicinity so eating was never a problem. Customer Service is great.
Will come back to stay here again!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wandermum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Osaka hotels
Osaka Station / Umeda
Hotel New Hankyu Osaka
Hotel New Otani Osaka
#15 of 303 in Osaka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,140 reviews
Osaka Station / Umeda
Osaka Daiichi Hotel
Osaka Daiichi Hotel
#40 of 303 in Osaka
4.0 of 5 bubbles 524 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Osaka Station / Umeda
Hilton Osaka
Hilton Osaka
#17 of 303 in Osaka
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,883 reviews
Osaka Station / Umeda
Hearton Hotel Nishi Umeda
Osaka Station / Umeda
Hotel Monterey Osaka
Hotel Monterey Osaka
#42 of 303 in Osaka
4.0 of 5 bubbles 715 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Granvia Osaka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Granvia Osaka

Property: Hotel Granvia Osaka
Address: 3-1-1 Umeda Kita-ku, Osaka 530-0001, Osaka Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kinki > Osaka Prefecture > Osaka > Osaka Station / Umeda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#31 Family Hotel in Osaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Granvia Osaka 3.5*
Number of rooms: 716
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Rakuten, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Granvia Osaka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Granvia Hotel Osaka
Osaka Granvia Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing