We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If only other hotels could get it this right”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
ANA Crowne Plaza Osaka
Ranked #31 of 307 Hotels / Ryokan in Osaka
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“If only other hotels could get it this right”
Reviewed January 26, 2011

From the outset I admit that I am a fan of boutique hotels ... which Crowne Plaza Osaka is. We stayed at the hotel over Christmas for leisure but would be equally happy if we were staying for business. One of the reasons why I think that this hotel functions so well is that the General Manager is on the floor overseeing operations and is accessible to guests. Our only regret is that our want to see the many attractions of Osaka over a 5 day visit meant that we spent less time and money in the hotel than we would otherwise be inclined to do. The Crown Plaza Osaka provides 6 star hospitality that is unequalled by more expensive hotels that we also stayed at in Japan.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mandm_from_brizvegas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,295 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    392
    640
    205
    36
    22
See reviews for
276
316
161
345
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hachioji, Japan
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2011

I use the this hotel for business often.

The hotel is in a good location. It is about 10 minute from the hotel to Osaka Station. and There is a underground shopping mall of dojima close. So, it is so convenient in a rainy day.

My recommend is a fitness room at fifth floor. It is not commodious, but free to a hotel guest.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nori0707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmond, Oklahoma
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2011

Decided to get away for a few days over the holidays and since I had not been to Osaka in several years, decided to go back and see how things have changed. Since I'm a member of "Priority Club", made reservations at ANA Crowne Plaza. Had never stayed in the hotel before, but definitely will in the future.
Positives: Staff from the bell stand to room service to managers on call were all friendly, helpful and, for the most part, spoke enough English to make communicating easier. Stayed on one of the Conceirge floors and found rooms large, by normal Japanese standards. Bathrooms were well appointed and the shower/bath area reminded me of the wet areas in the bathrooms of the Grand Hyatt in Tokyo. Bed was very comfortable and maid staff efficent. Mainly ate in restaurants outside the hotel but one night had dinner in the Teppanyaki restaurant on B1 and food was 'EXCELLENT". I was especially impressed with the wine list which was very international vs. traditional Japanese habit of leaning mainly French. The staff of the Conceirge Lounge should receive special notice for their service, patience and ready smiles (hotel was very busy due to holidays). Must admit, my favorite place of all was "The Library". Great little hideaway on second floor where I spent a couple of hours every evening enjoying a fine single malt and cuban cigar. Staff were extremely nice and by my third visit, they had my drink and cigar accessories on the table within 60 seconds of my sitting down. For non-smokers, they should not avoid this great little bar, for ventillation was so good, even with a packed room and many smokers, air remained clear and relatively odor free. NICE PLACE!
Areas for Improvement:
The Closets, or should I say the cubby hole - Very small, enough for an overnight but if you are staying for business or pleasure for a few days, like I was, you will find them undersized.
Translation of New Years Day ceremony- Most personnel spoke English, which was very helpful, but on New Years day, when moderator was speaking to an audience of 75 - 100 (50% were non-Japanese) in the lobby for the traditional Saki cask opening, he would rattle on for several minutes describing in Japanese to locals what was going on leaving the rest of the guests with quizzical looks on our faces. Had a couple of other guests ask me if I knew what was happening and told them I had no idea. Finally another gentleman stepped in and expained to the non-Japanese in the audience what was happening and it's significance. This was the only time during my stay when I felt out of place. A little more cultural sensitivity for everyone in the audience from the beginning would have been appreciated.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CalebTumon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo
Level 6 Contributor
138 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 238 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2010

Stayed from 7 to 9 December 2010 on a business trip. Overall, a very nice experience. Hotel is geared toward upper end business traveler and older couples. Beds are very comfortable, linens and pillows were all brand new. Very well designed room to use all possible space and nicely decorated. Room included a small stocked mini bar, small refrigerator, nice LCD TV with just a couple English language channels, and FREE Internet via LAN cable.
Would definitely stay here again on my own dime and/or recommend to others. Each night was 13,000 Yen or $158 US / night. About twice the price I normally spend on a room in Japan, but it was also dramatically nicer than a typical Japanese businessman’s hotel.
Visited their business center and was surprised at how difficult it was to print something. Instructions were not clear, and it took much longer than necessary.
Hotel is located adjacent to a busy nightlife area full of hostess bars, bars, karaoke bars, etc and Japanese restaurants. Interesting place to walk around at night, but these establishments do not appear to be set up for those who cannot speak or read Japanese. A lot of young, very attractive Japanese women dressed in evening gowns or other very fashionable attire on the arms of older Japanese businessmen. This is not to say or imply that there is any illegal activity, but it was a new site for my co-workers visiting from the US.
There were a couple 7-Eleven style convenience stores, but there were no obvious Western chains (McDonald’s, Starbucks, KFC, etc) in the blocks immediately surrounding the hotel. Another indication that this area does not cater to non-Japanese. About a 15 minute taxi ride (about 1000 yen or $12 USD) is an area called Dotonbori which is Osaka’s version of Times Square. It and Osaka Castle are the two major tourist attractions of Osaka. A lot of iconic (for Japan) neon signs, restaurants (authentic Japanese and Western), and a lot of chances to people watch. Cheap souvenir shops, clothing, and a few Duty Free shops are very obvious and eager to greet non-Japanese visitors. Highly recommend after the sun sets to get the full effect of the neon signs.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TokyoBob1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dojima, General Manager at ANA Crowne Plaza Osaka, responded to this review, December 30, 2010
Dear Tokyo Bob,

Happy New Year from the ANA Crowne Plaza Osaka and thank you for taking to time to share your experience with our hotel with others planning travel to Osaka.

We are delighted that you had a pleasant stay with us along with your colleagues and look forward to welcoming you back on a future trip; hopefully you were able to sign up for our Priority Club Rewards program to earn valuable points for your stay.

Having read your review, thought I would share some information with you to help you enjoy our hotel even more on a future visit to Osaka.

In our continuing efforts to improve the guest experience at our hotel we will have additional TV channels in 2011 once the contract with the current provider expires. We currently have CNN, BBC, Fox , ESPN and AXN as English language channels as well as Korean, Chinese and of course Japanese channels.

Our hotel will offer free shuttle service to Osaka Station and the Limousine bus terminal operating on a 30 minute schedule as of January 1, 2011 making it more convenient for guests.

New computers are actually being installed in the business center this weekend and we will improve the instructions for printing to eliminate any stress you may have had and apologize for the frustrations you encountered.

In addition to free internet in all guest rooms, free Wi-Fi is available in all hotel restaurants and in the lobby.

The area on the northern side of the hotel is known as Kita Shinchi and is part of the greater Umeda area of Osaka; it is a 600+ year old district that was the original Geisha area of Osaka as the river on our southern side was a center of trade during the Edo/Naniwa period; the restaurants, clubs and bars you see are the modern evolution of the area.

Please do not confuse this with any red light district as it is no such place and actually is a very expensive high end area with an evening out easily costing $500 per person or more. There are more Michelin starred restaurants in this district than anywhere else in Osaka and captains of industry of Japan's major corporations are our guests as well as the clientle catered to in the district.

Of course there are other hotels on streets with big lanes and branded shopping but if you take the Japanese signs off the streets these can be anywhere in the world. Around our hotel you get a truly uniquely Japanese and Osaka experience as it is not something you can find anywhere else but Japan; isn't this part of the joy of visiting other countries and cities?

With regards to food and entertainment facilities catering to foreigners please stop by our Guest Relations desk or Club Lounge if on Club Floor for directions as we have many places very close to the hotel that you speak of. Starbucks is a short 6 minute walk away as is Outback Steakhouse, McDonalds and a myriad of other facilities that would overwhelm you and can cater to any budget. We have arranged with certain restaurants in the district to accept our guests so please be sure to avail of this for a more authentic Osaka experience.

Less than a 5 minute walk is the largest underground shopping area in Western Japan connecting to all the department stores in Umeda as well as the subway lines, JR, Hankyu and Hanshin train lines. This is area is great for escaping the weather when it is either too hot or too cold above ground but be careful as it can get be confusing at times given the vastness of the underground. After almost 2 years even I come out of the wrong exit at times if not paying attention.

Trust that this information will help you enjoy Osaka more on your next visit and if we can be of any assistance in planning a return visit please do not hesitate to contact me or any member of our team.

Wishing you nothing but good health and continued success for the New Year 2011.

Sincerely,
Richard Rennie
General Manager
richard.rennie@anacrowneplaza-osaka.jp
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goring
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed December 14, 2010

Stayed here a few times now after years using other Osaka hotels. It's very dependable in terms of quality of service, room standard (especially the revamped rooms with upgraded bath/shower facilities, although standard rooms are also above average), and central location. Gym's ok too, although I notice the sister Interconti in Yokohama has now negotiated special discounted rates at Gold's gym, and would encourage the Czp to do the same. A great find in Kansai! And excellent value.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank garethrice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dojima, General Manager at ANA Crowne Plaza Osaka, responded to this review, December 30, 2010
Dear Gareth Rice,

Thank you for taking time to share your experience with our hotel to other travelers. Most importantly we are delighted that you are happy with your stay and that we are now your preferred hotel in Osaka. Each and every day this is the mission of our team so to know that we have accomplished this is our greatest reward and we will continue to work hard to continue to earn your patronage with each stay.

With regards to the fitness center we will attempt to make arrangements with Gold's for guests that need a dedicated workout facility as we understand how important it is for all of us to maintain their workout routines even when traveling.

I will assume as you reference our sister hotel that you are a Priority Club Member (PCR) but if not please be sure to sign up on your next stay tat any of our more than 4500 hotels to earn valuable points.

If there is anything we can do for you on a future visit please do not hesitate to contact me our anyone of our team members as we would be delighted to assist you.

We wish you good health and continued success in the New Year 2011.

Sincerely,
Richard Rennie
General Manager
richard.rennie@anacrowneplaza-osaka.jp
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, TX
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed December 4, 2010

Stayed here for a total of 6 nights. It was a very good price considering the comparable rooms avail in Osaka. Just a 10 min walk from the subway and rooms comfortable and bed quality very good. Very clean. Internet did not work but desk attendant came up immediately and reset the switch and it was working. Everyone who worked at the hotel seemed to speak good English. I had to ask for directions printed out to go somewhere and the desk staff went out of their way to print the directions in Japanese for me to give to the taxi driver. Japan is an expensive country for Americans these days...this hotel was a very good value.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank littlegoldenone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed December 3, 2010

I stayed for 7 nights at ANA Crowne Plaza Osaka. The location of the hotel is about 15 to 20 minutes' walk to JR Osaka Station.
I booked the King Bed Guest Room from the hotel website. When I arrived, I was quite surprised that the room looked so different from the photo on the hotel website.
The sofa set was totally different from the nice ones shown in the hotel website photo. The 2-seater, 1-seater and coffee table in our room were arranged in a very awkward position and very near to the television set. The bathroom was not as new and trendy looking as the photo on the hotel website.
We got a room on the 10th level which was facing the streets and not the river, perhaps we were given an older room? (that I cannot confirm)
Despite the disappointment in the discrepancies, the room was clean and staff at lobby and reception was polite and helpful. Check-in and check-out were smooth.
The free internet in our room was fast and uninterrupted, which was a huge plus point to us.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank YT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Osaka hotels
Shinsaibashi / Nanba / Tennoji / South Area
Holiday Inn Osaka Namba
Holiday Inn Osaka Namba
#24 of 307 in Osaka
764 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Osaka Station / Umeda
Hilton Osaka
Hilton Osaka
#17 of 307 in Osaka
1,942 reviews
Osaka Station / Umeda
The Westin Osaka
The Westin Osaka
#20 of 307 in Osaka
1,135 reviews
Osaka Station / Umeda
Hotel Granvia Osaka
Hotel Granvia Osaka
#51 of 307 in Osaka
1,399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ANA Crowne Plaza Osaka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ANA Crowne Plaza Osaka

Property: ANA Crowne Plaza Osaka
Address: 1-3-1 Dojimahama , Kita-ku, Osaka 530-0004, Osaka Prefecture
Phone Number:
Location: Japan > Kinki > Osaka Prefecture > Osaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Spa Hotel in Osaka
#17 Business Hotel in Osaka
#19 Luxury Hotel in Osaka
#28 Romantic Hotel in Osaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — ANA Crowne Plaza Osaka 4*
Number of rooms: 478
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
ANA HOTEL OSAKA made a brand new start as ANA CROWNE PLAZA OSAKA on 1st October 2008.ANA Crowne Plaza Osaka is located in the central of Osaka, known as a city of water, and is overlooking Dojima river. Very convenient for visiting both on business and entertainment purposes. Yodoyabashi is one of the leading streets for office buildings and Kitashinshi is one of the best places for socializing. Our location is indeed a great base for discovering and exploring Kobe, Nara and other Kansai regions.With our utmost confidence, our luxurious and specious guest rooms consist of four categories: Suite rooms on 24th floor, Club rooms on 22nd and 23rd floors, Upper rooms from 19th throughout 21st floors, and Regular rooms from 7th throughout 18th floors. All guest rooms are based on quality bed linen, luxury duvet sets and complimentary high speed internet access. Newly appointed executive Club Floors in summer 2008, all club rooms are accessed with room card keys for upgraded security. Breakfast, afternoon tea, and cocktail time could be spend exclusively at Club Lounge during a stay along with a privilege as business support. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Rakuten, Booking.com, Hotels.com, IHG, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your ANA Crowne Plaza Osaka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ana Crowne Plaza Osaka Hotel Osaka
Crowne Plaza Osaka
Osaka Crowne Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing