We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“best choice in Osaka” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Imperial Hotel Osaka

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Imperial Hotel Osaka
Ranked #7 of 274 Hotels / Ryokan in Osaka
Certificate of Excellence
Ankara
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“best choice in Osaka”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

I stayed in several hotels in Osaka, including local and international chains. Imperial Osaka is by far the best choice in terms of value, service, facilities, amenities... The service is what you would expect from Imperial; rooms are spacious and elegantly decorated. There are restaurants for business dining as well as a romantic evening. Adjacent small mall houses upscale boutuqies and reasonable priced, nice restaurants.Nothing to dissapoint and everything to enjoy...

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ulug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

747 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    417
    250
    61
    11
    8
See reviews for
210
160
97
169
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
90 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2014

Spacious room with nice view of the park. Offers excellent range of good quality amenities. The hotel has connecting rooms (useful if you are travelling as a family). Staff at the Reception are friendly and able to converse in English well. If guests opt for breakfast - you will have a choice of Continental or Japanese. Both offer yummy food.The hotel also operates free shuttle services to Osaka Station throughout the day. The journey between the hotel and station is about 10 min. There are also plenty of taxis available at the hotel.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nurhudaaziz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taipei, Taiwan
Level Contributor
22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2014

Great hotel if stayed during cherry blossoon season especially if you are on the river view. You will be able to see the whole stretch of cherry tree along the river by your window which is just unbelievable gorgeous. Room is spacious and nicely furnished with sofa by the window. Do note that they have 2 restaurants to choose from for morning buffet (western style) as not indicated in the voucher. Overally a nice hotel to stay in for leisure.

Room Tip: Asked for Non-smoking room unless you do not mind on the left over smell on the carpet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mumtravellerasia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2014

Very clean hotel with courteous, friendly staff. Our room on the 17th floor was large and had a beautiful view of the city, especially after dark. The bathroom was stocked with every ammenity you might need (and have forgotten), i.e. razor, shaving cream, toothbrushes, etc. The room also had robes and slippers. We thought the TV was all in Japanese, but our guide told us there was probably a button on the TV remote that could change the Japanese to English, which it did (at least for the news channels). The room had a remote by the bed that allowed you to open/close the drapes and turn off the TV/lights. The hotel has several restaurants, but you have other choices without going outside. The hotel is connected to the office building next door which has several restaurants, a MacDonalds, a place you can buy ice cream and a convenience store. They also have clothing stores. This hotel costs a little more than some other hotels, but we felt we got our monies worth, which is not something you can always say. Cannot claim a negative for this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RetiredPair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
Level Contributor
109 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

Lots of positives about the facility and rooms, as well as good services, but with hotels like this , expectations are high, and you have to get everything right.

Positives
+ The room was a nice river view, spacious and clean. Bathroom was cozy and comfortable.
+ Staff were welcoming and courteous. Went into detail when explaining the room facilities, never had that much care taken into explaining how to use the bathroom, or switching the lights, etc. On the whole, staff were very nice, the way they greeted, or escorted you out of the building to get a cab for me which was totally unexpected.
+ Variety of buffet breakfast downstairs.
+ Japanese breakfast on the top floor.

Negatives
- Biggest let down was at the time of booking - I found the different plans on the Internet very very complicating to understand (as they usually expect guests stay for one night, most of the plans are planned for one night, but I stayed for three nights), I called the hotel and every time I called, they quoted different prices and confused me further. Even during a single call, they quoted three different prices in a 30-minute conversation. I was extremely frustrated.
- Shoe polish - I asked for my shoes to be polished asked for it to be returned by the next morning. Even though they confirmed this, I did not get it back on time.
- Had to wait for 15 minutes for breakfast. The hotel was fully booked this day and they well knew it, so could have setup the breakfast on the ground floor as well, but they let people wait before they setup and allowed extra people in. Morning time is precious and I do not know why they did not anticipate it and prepare well in time.

Room Tip: Riverside. Some standard rooms seem to be slightly bigger than the superior room, so even on lower...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank carioca500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
94 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

We stayed for 2 nights of April 21/22 on the 12th floor with a lovely view over the river. The foyer area is basic and does not create a feel worthy of a high rated hotel.The room is large with all the necessary facilities. The only negatives were that there is no TV channel with english speaking and similarliy no tea other than green tea and coffee. Both may be factors for business or tourists clients from english speaking countries. In fact a 4.5 star hotel should have these. Breakfast is not included in the tariff. There are meal options in the adjoining OAP building that cater for a range of prices. Wifi worked well. The air conditioning was noisey enough to notice. Like many hotels they provide a courtesy coach to Osaka Station (30 minute walk) which was appreciated. Some may say it is a bit out of the way but its location is quiet, beside the river and within walking distance of the popular tourist attraction Osaka Castle.

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KirraMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2014

My husband and I thoroughly enjoyed our stay at this hotel, the double room (king bed) with a river view on the 18th floor was very comfortable and clean. The staff was very helpful and attentive. Venture out for dining rather than dining in the hotel restaurants-there are much less expensive options close by. The hotel also has complimentary shuttle to the Osaka station and is also a very short walk to the Sakuranomiya station.

Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
3 Thank tjw1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Osaka hotels
Hotel New Otani Osaka
#18 of 274 in Osaka
4.5 of 5 stars 990 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Osaka Station / Umeda
Hotel Hankyu International
Shinsaibashi / Nanba / Tennoji / South Area
Cross Hotel Osaka
Cross Hotel Osaka
#6 of 274 in Osaka
4.5 of 5 stars 1,072 reviews
Shinsaibashi / Nanba / Tennoji / South Area
Swissotel Nankai Osaka
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Imperial Hotel Osaka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Imperial Hotel Osaka

Property: Imperial Hotel Osaka
Address: 1-8-50 Temmabashi, Kita-ku, Osaka 530-0042, Osaka Prefecture
Phone Number:
Location: Japan > Kinki > Osaka Prefecture > Osaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Osaka
#8 Family Hotel in Osaka
#10 Romantic Hotel in Osaka
#14 Business Hotel in Osaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Imperial Hotel Osaka 4.5*
Number of rooms: 381
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotwire, JAPANiCAN, Rakuten, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Imperial Hotel Osaka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Osaka Imperial Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing