We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Imperial Hotel Osaka

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Imperial Hotel Osaka
Ranked #7 of 296 Hotels / Ryokan in Osaka
Certificate of Excellence
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Excellent Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2013

I'm one of the delegates of our company to Japan having qualified for this incentive trip. We were booked in this hotel and our room is very spacious as you still have more than enough space after you laid down your luggages, which is not typical of a hotel in Japan. Wifi in room is free (but I'm not sure if this is part of the arrangement with our company). There is a safety vault, a working desk, big flat screen TV, big toilet and bath. Our room has great view of the river lined up with cherry blossom trees. English newspaper is provided every day.

The main hotel lobby is huge and the reception staff is very polite, efficient and is well versed in English. There is a complementary shuttle bus that leaves the hotel every 15 minutes which can take you to Osaka train station where you can find lots of shops and restaurants. There is a nearby JR train station from the hotel - Sakurnomiya, which can be reached by foot in 5 to 10 minutes. Sakurnomiya is 2 stations away from JR Osaka station. The wide walkway beside the hotel, along the river can also serve as a jogging path for you, or to just stroll by with your family and friends to be closer to nature.

This hotel is in the league of other 5 star hotels like Hilton, Shangri-La, Marriott, etc.

Room Tip: Request for a room on the side of the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hens0n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

852 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    488
    278
    65
    12
    9
See reviews for
247
186
106
192
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Langkawi, Malaysia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for just a night this past February on work - beautiful hotel - true Leading Hotels style - excellent breakfast, location and rooms. Recommend the executive floor rooms! Also special thank you to the General Manger - a true hotelier who found me cuff links at the last moment as I had left mine in Tokyo! I think he have me one of his own pairs! That's service!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anahat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
151 reviews
108 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2013

A beautiful hotel with a certain grandeur.... efficiency and friendliness stand at the top. BEAUTIFUL walkway along the river, gorgeous hallway.
The rooms are spacious clean and very 'neat'; everything works and is styled.
Great bathroom and YES there are robes - well kimonos actually that one can find in the drawers of the dressing....
The restaurant provides an excellent service, and there is a variety of other ones to be found under the hotel in the shopping area or just a few minutes walk from the hotel.
The hotel provides a shuttle to the city or it is just half an hours walk. Along many shops, cafe's and restaurants.
Some 10 minutes away from the hotel towards the city one will find an extremely long covered ' arcade" with shops, restaurants and cafes and many gambling halls.
BEWARE of the bicycles as they use the same footpath as th pedestrians.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank terrencets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
171 reviews
96 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2012

I stayed here one night for a business trip (after visiting the one in Tokyo), and was impressed by the amazing personal service. Entering on the bottom floor your luggage is quickly handled and you're directed up to the main lobby on the 2nd floor, where several people greet you and point you to registration. Then you're escorted to your room where you're directed on the room operation and amenities. Maybe this is standard at luxury Japanese hotels, but I was still impressed.
My room with a great view of the river was wonderful, with amenities like tea/coffee and internet.
The only possible downsides as some mention is the lack of shower gel (which was available at the Tokyo Imperial Hotel) and of lotion (at both Imperial Hotels), which would have been welcome with my dry hands. Also, I would have preferred an a la carte breakfast restaurant option like the Tokyo one had, instead of the buffet fixed price.

There is a handy shuttle bus every 15 min to and from the Osaka train station (not the Shin-Osaka station for the bullet train, which is farther away). The concierge was very helpful in planning a quick day-trip to Kyoto, with clear instructions on how to get there and back.
Overall, a great luxury hotel.

Room Tip: river view
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ptbooth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
208 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2012

This hotel offers a world class service. Staff are friendly and polite. This hotel is about 10 minutes walk to Tenmabashi arcade, where you can get lots of restaurants, local shopping centers and cafes. Also it is located next to OAP building, where you can find restaurants as well. 24 hours convenience store is located across the street. This hotel offers a shuttle to Umeda train station. It is very convenient and sound.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vincent H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
455 reviews
104 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 193 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2012

osaka imerial is worth staying at osaka . the hotel is really good and next to river. has a lot of resturants and staff is very helful. actuallly left my wallet and passport in the hotel. but they kept it and called and send me a mail. really great job

Room Tip: top floors especially about 18th
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nirajsomaiya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
592 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 193 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2012

The Imperial Hotel in Osaka, Japan deserves all five of its stars. I stayed there for five nights while attending a business conference. The hotel building is very decorative with hints of its design from the original Frank Lloyd Wright Imperial hotel in Tokyo. The lobby and all public areas are most impressive. My guest room was large with two twin beds, a desk, sitting area, large closet and scenic view of the river. The bathroom was large with a spacious shower and tub area. My room was very quiet with no noise intruding from other rooms. But what sets the Imperial apart, in my mind, is the superlative service. From the driver who picked me up at the airport, the luggage service, the front desk through to the concierge, everyone could not have been more courteous and professional. I thoroughly enjoyed my visit and highly recommend the Imperial for visitors to Osaka. Make sure you visit Kamon, their Teppanyaki restaurant during your stay.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CarpeNox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Osaka hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shinsaibashi / Nanba / Tennoji / South Area
Cross Hotel Osaka
Cross Hotel Osaka
#10 of 296 in Osaka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,265 reviews
Shinsaibashi / Nanba / Tennoji / South Area
Swissotel Nankai Osaka
Hotel New Otani Osaka
#15 of 296 in Osaka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,091 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Imperial Hotel Osaka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Imperial Hotel Osaka

Property: Imperial Hotel Osaka
Address: 1-8-50 Temmabashi, Kita-ku, Osaka 530-0042, Osaka Prefecture
Phone Number:
Location: Japan > Kinki > Osaka Prefecture > Osaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Osaka
#8 Family Hotel in Osaka
#10 Romantic Hotel in Osaka
#14 Business Hotel in Osaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Imperial Hotel Osaka 4.5*
Number of rooms: 381
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Rakuten, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Despegar.com, JAPANiCAN, Travelocity, Ctrip TA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Imperial Hotel Osaka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Osaka Imperial Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing