We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
RIHGA Royal Hotel Osaka
Ranked #29 of 307 Hotels / Ryokan in Osaka
Certificate of Excellence
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
43 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Very good location”
Reviewed April 28, 2009

The hotel is very nicely located in Osaka. There is a train station that is viewable from the rooms. Within 5 minutes walking distance is a little shopping mall that is opened until very late. The rooms itself are pretty spacious considering japan standards and are clean. The reception area is gorgeous.

  • Stayed October 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ziggyziggy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,644 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    506
    805
    256
    57
    20
See reviews for
385
299
258
495
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2009

Stayed here for two nights - the lobby was amazing and check in with very smooth. Also, the man at the tour desk was EXTREMELY helpful - probably the best service I have seen in a hotel

What really lets the hotel down in the room - upon exiting the lift you are faced with a very dark and dreary lobby. Upon entering the room, I was assulted by a cigerette smell (we were on a non smoking floor, although there was an ashtray in the room)

The room itself was quite large, especially large by Japan standards, and it even had two bathrooms - although only one had a toilet

The rooms however, were very poorly decorated. The beds were hart and basic. All the furniture was very plastic and cheap looking, and the bathroom reminded me of a Public Toilet - as in it looked clean but it was clear it had been used many, many times before

In conclusion, nice on the outside, very disapointing and "used" on the inside

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mcfandrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed November 17, 2008

Stayed in this hotel for a conference in the Cube (right next door). The twin room we stayed in had loads of room, everything was clean and tidy and there was a nice night time view from the window. All the staff were friendly. My only downside was that you had to pay extra for pool use. Great shuttle service, but be warned it finishes quite early.

  • Liked — Great shuttle bus and really lovely hotel
  • Disliked — it's not very cheap
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank vicky4set
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Europe
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2008

This hotel was built already in the 70's and is considered a classic gem by the Osaka residents. It is situated adjacent to the Cube conference centre.
I stayed in a larger twin bed room in the tower building, which is the better of the two wings. I never managed to find out if they have non-smoking rooms. Some of the Japanese quests smoke frantically, so this is an issue for guests that do not smoke!

There is an excellent shuttle bus service to the JR Osaka station.
Taxis are always available, and a good rate can be had if you reserve a taxi e.g. to the airports at the reception. This is then added to you room bill. The concierge desk is very efficient.
Come the end of 2008, a new train-line opens up just by the hotel and conference centre.

The hotel has some 24 restaurants, bars and cafeterias and a number of upmarket shops which are busy during Fridays and Saturdays.

The rooms are ok although not without flaws like the somewhat scabious door painting and bathroom fixings. Although quite old the AC works reasonably well - this is indeed an issue during July-September in Japan.
Beware of noisy rooms close to the elevator shafts.
Unless you put up your 'Clean my room' sign on your door you can find your room still unattended to after 3 'o'clock.

The seemingly overworked staffs is a general problem at this hotel, its cafeterias and restaurants. If you stay there for more than a week like I did, you will notice that some of these people work at different places during what seems like a 12 hour or more working day.
Hence they cannot cope with the rush, e.g. in the breakfast rooms.
The sloppiest service you will find in the only pub, the 'Leach'. The name shows up again on your bill. These are likely some of the most expensive drinks you have ever had, still far from the best.

A much better view can be had at the penthouse bar, which unfortunately closes at midnight, per Japanese tradition.
Enjoy their 'jewel' Champagne drinks!
My 'daylight' favourite became the large bar in the reception hall.
Although very expensive, the kimono dressed staff will attend to you very well.

Finally, when you have gone tired of being drained at the hotel establishments you just set out on a 10-15 minute walk across the SE bridge and down the avenue. There are probably more than a hundred restaurants here, mostly run by eager and attentive young Japanese. Rest assure they will take good care of you at a reasonable cost. Try to find e.g. Giacomo's, a Japanese-Italian place - great food, great wines, great service at good prices.

  • Liked — Fair price - at the special rate I had - not the rack rates!
  • Disliked — It is getting old
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Travesl-a-lot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2008

I stayed for 4 nights in this hotel during my random holiday in Osaka. I had never been to Japan before so I didn't really know what to expect, but the service and quality of the room were pleasantly surprising especially for AU$58.81-66.09 per night.

The staff were very polite, efficient and friendly. Check-in was very quick and the concierge was very helpful in providing directions and assistance.

The hotel itself is enormous with a number of (very expensive) restaurants and cafe. The bar was nice though quiet and a bit deserted on a week night (I didn't check the crowd on a weekend night).

I stayed in a standard single room on the 8th floor. Though small, I had everything I needed. The room was very clean and the decor is quite simple yet elegant. There is the usual amenity like tea and kettle (but no coffee!!!), bar fridge with complementary bottles of water.

The location was a bit secluded though if you are there for conference, I suppose it's quite convenient located (the convention center is just next door). The hotel provides very frequent shuttle bus service to the Osaka train station (stops next to GARE department store) and to Yodoyabashi (which is a brief subway ride away from the Namba and Doutomburi area).

I loved it here and I'd definitely come back to stay if I visit Osaka again in the future.

  • Liked — the quality of the room, staff
  • Disliked — no coffee
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bescherelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeenshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
97 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2007

Stayed here whie in Japan for a meeting. Had a 3 room suite in "The Tower" (living room, double bedroom with two large beds and en-suite) which was probably rather wasted on me because I never really had the time to enjoy them.

Choice of restaurants in the hotel. We favoured the ground floor one which served a variety of food during the day from breakfast onwards. Breakfasts Japanese, Continental (fruitjuice, croissants and coffee) or "American" (bacon, egg, hot-dog sausage and a few chips) with varied evening meals. Staff all courteous and helpful.

We never actually tried the 29th floor restauarnt but did ude the 30th floor bar which had panoramic views over the city at night.

City and main railway stations easily accessible from hotel

  • Liked — 30th floor bar
  • Disliked — Didn't spend enough time there to use the facilities!
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Jason42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Osaka hotels
Imperial Hotel Osaka
#6 of 307 in Osaka
906 reviews
Osaka Station / Umeda
Hotel Granvia Osaka
Hotel Granvia Osaka
#49 of 307 in Osaka
1,378 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Osaka Station / Umeda
Hotel Hankyu International
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to RIHGA Royal Hotel Osaka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about RIHGA Royal Hotel Osaka

Property: RIHGA Royal Hotel Osaka
Address: 5-3-68 Nakanoshima, Kita-ku, Osaka 530-0005, Osaka Prefecture
Phone Number:
Location: Japan > Kinki > Osaka Prefecture > Osaka > Osaka Station / Umeda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Osaka
#12 Business Hotel in Osaka
#18 Luxury Hotel in Osaka
#19 Family Hotel in Osaka
#31 Romantic Hotel in Osaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — RIHGA Royal Hotel Osaka 4*
Number of rooms: 984
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rising above the waterways of Nakanoshima, the RIHGA Royal Hotel Osaka (our group flagship) offers the finest in traditional Japanese services, luxurious rooms, banquet halls and restaurants, plus delightful surroundings: the perfect combination for a relaxing stay in Osaka. During its history of over half a century as Osaka's premier hotel, the RIHGA Royal Hotel Osaka has played host to innumerable guests from Japan and overseas and has kept pace with the emergence of Osaka as one of the world's most prominent commercial cities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, JAPANiCAN, Hotwire, Rakuten, Ctrip TA, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your RIHGA Royal Hotel Osaka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rihga Royal Osaka Hotel Osaka
Osaka Rihga Royal Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing