We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Little outdated, convenient shuttle to Osaka Station”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
RIHGA Royal Hotel Osaka
Ranked #29 of 307 Hotels / Ryokan in Osaka
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, CA
Level Contributor
48 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Little outdated, convenient shuttle to Osaka Station”
Reviewed July 23, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here and attended a wedding in one of the banquet rooms. Yes, the decor is a little dated, and I consider it a bit overpriced, but the service was excellent and the free shuttle to Osaka Station helped out a lot. We originally stayed in a triple with two separate showers, but the A/C didn't work so they switched us into a room with four beds, but only one bath. Still, it was comfortably sized by Japanese standards. Oh yeah, and the breakfast buffet was awesome, with both western and Japanese breakfast items to choose from. If you don't want to spend so much money in the hotel just take the shuttle to Osaka Station-lots of cheap food options there and only 5-10 minutes away. The shuttle leaves every 6 minutes during the day and every 15 minutes in the evenings.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sunshyney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,644 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    506
    805
    256
    57
    20
See reviews for
385
299
258
495
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2013

Stayed at the RIHGA Osaka when I attended an international conference here. Was booked on the West Wing which I read have better rooms. My room was big by Japanese standard but the arrangement of the room is kinda odd. For example, the shower and bath suites are separated with entrances at the different ends of the room. The room is narrowish and so difficult to move around without bumping onto the beds. The free wifi is not extremely reliable. Experienced a few wifi drops out during my 3 nights stay and there is a day where the wifi was not working all day. The free shuttle to Osaka Station/Umeda is a great service. For dinner, popping onto this shuttle to access the large variety of (cheaper) food outlets there is great. Do not eat at the RIHGA restaurants or order from room service. A small plate of fruits cost me 3000Yen!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tele T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Yo
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2013

We had a fairly pleasant stay at the RIHGA Royal. The rooms were a bit small, but well-maintained. The shuttle to Osaka station is extremely convenient. Staff was very friendly and helpful, particularly Mr. Yamamoto, who was working as concierge upon our arrival. He very kindly and patiently provided instructions on getting around in the city. He was an exemplary member of the hotel staff.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Aaron K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
baltimore
Level Contributor
121 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2013

I stayed in this hotel on a business trip for 8 nights. I did not choose the hotel, I had to stay there for a meeting at the next door convention center. It is a large plaza hotel with many shops and restaurants, all of which are very expensive. My room was in the West Tower, on the 16th floor, and overlooked what one could refer to as urban dystopia -- the huge and extremely ugly works of the air-conditioning system on the roof of the smaller tower next door. This is by far the ugliest view I have ever had from a hotel room window. The room itself was a bit tired, and the hotel also had an outdated feel. The housekeeping service was excellent. Being a westerner in Japan, one relies a lot on the insight and instructions by the concierge. The concierge service varied a lot. One conceirge spoke very good English and gave us excellent suggestions and instructions regarding restaurants. Other concierges spoke poor English and could not provide us with advice -- the experience of the days thus partially depended on the concierge service. I also did not love the location. I would not stay in this hotel again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bulka56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, Minnesota
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2013

The trip in to Osaka from Kansai was longer than I expected. I only discovered after cabbing from Osaka Station that they run a free courtesy bus from the station to the hotel. I stayed here mostly because I was at a conference at the adjacent Convention center. It is very convenient for to that venue. The service at this place was good although I think this is typical of Japanese culture. There are many different Japanese restaurants on site though the prices are a bit high. The lobby seems a bit dated but the rooms where clean and nice.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ges5542
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
85 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2013

The facility is huge but slightly tired. The Osaka station shuttle bus is convenient but there several hotels around the station itself. The room was clean but ours in the west tower was smile on a western scale. The most annoying thing turned out to be the cafe located in the lobby with rocket high prices, 15 USD for a cappuccino (seriously? Why?). Anyways, overall I was satisfied giving it 4 stars and some room for improvement.

Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Glen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2013

This is a very large hotel on the island btw the rivers Dojimagawa and Tosaborigawa. Walking distance from the National Museum of Arts and the Science Museum, and adjacent to the Osaka Convention Centre (the Cube). It's a plaza hotel, which packs 20 restaurants, many shops, bars, etc as you would expect from a plaza hotel. However, if your room is a non-special one (meaning low to medium price but by japanese standard, and this is a 5-star hotel), you will have to pay extra for pool, gym, breakfast etc - first time I see these arrangements, but then again, first time in a big hotel in Japan. I am here for a conference, but if I came for holidays I would not stay here.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emanuele T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Osaka hotels
Imperial Hotel Osaka
#6 of 307 in Osaka
908 reviews
Osaka Station / Umeda
Hotel Granvia Osaka
Hotel Granvia Osaka
#49 of 307 in Osaka
1,379 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Osaka Station / Umeda
Hotel Hankyu International
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to RIHGA Royal Hotel Osaka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about RIHGA Royal Hotel Osaka

Property: RIHGA Royal Hotel Osaka
Address: 5-3-68 Nakanoshima, Kita-ku, Osaka 530-0005, Osaka Prefecture
Phone Number:
Location: Japan > Kinki > Osaka Prefecture > Osaka > Osaka Station / Umeda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Osaka
#12 Business Hotel in Osaka
#18 Luxury Hotel in Osaka
#19 Family Hotel in Osaka
#31 Romantic Hotel in Osaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — RIHGA Royal Hotel Osaka 4*
Number of rooms: 984
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rising above the waterways of Nakanoshima, the RIHGA Royal Hotel Osaka (our group flagship) offers the finest in traditional Japanese services, luxurious rooms, banquet halls and restaurants, plus delightful surroundings: the perfect combination for a relaxing stay in Osaka. During its history of over half a century as Osaka's premier hotel, the RIHGA Royal Hotel Osaka has played host to innumerable guests from Japan and overseas and has kept pace with the emergence of Osaka as one of the world's most prominent commercial cities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, JAPANiCAN, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Ctrip TA, Rakuten, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your RIHGA Royal Hotel Osaka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rihga Royal Osaka Hotel Osaka
Osaka Rihga Royal Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing