We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good business hotel.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
RIHGA Royal Hotel Osaka
Ranked #29 of 321 Hotels / Ryokan in Osaka
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 8, 2013

This is a clean, comfortable hotel located some distance from the action of Osaka, but fortunately the hotel provides frequent and easy-to-use shuttle buses to the Osaka JR station. The rooms are spacious and, this being Japan, immaculately maintained. Staff are friendly without being obsequious. The pool area is also excellent, if expensive, and obligatory bathing caps are provided. If you want to be in the heart of things, look elsewhere, but if you want a stress-free stay in a comfortable hotel, the Rihgi will suit the bill.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rugbymug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,696)
There are newer reviews for RIHGA Royal Hotel Osaka
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

180 - 186 of 1,696 reviews

Reviewed December 23, 2012

We arrived after a very long and tiring trip from Scotland. The hotel shuttle bus from Osaka Station was a life saver and the welcome and friendly efficiency from the reception staff set the theme for our stay of ten days. The hotel is very large, but there is no impersonal feeling, and the staff at all levels will go out of their way to assist you. Nothing was too much trouble. We stayed in a deluxe twin room and have no complaints. All that we required was available in the room.The maid service was fastidious, discrete and thorough. Breakfast to someone who had not been to Japan previously was very interesting with a full selection of Japanese and Western fare in a Japanese water garden environment. I was lecturing at a conference and following this we used the hotel as a base for day trips from Osaka Station. This was made incredibly easy with the hotel shuttle bus (every six minutes) and you knew when you returned to the station after a long day that you were "home". This is one of the best hotels that I have stayed in and if you are prepared to walk it is well placed for many attractions and city sights including upmarket restaurants and local cuisine.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gordon158
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2012

RIHGA Royal Osaka's a pretty decent hotel for a short term stay - the lobby's luxuriously-carpeted, the front desk staff were helpful and the bus service (provided for free) was timely and impeccable.

All these factors would definitely be contributed largely by the business-traveler clientele of the RIHGA - the throngs of people heading through the lobby in the mornings past the Audi showroom alongside an artisan bread maker's shop to the Grand Cube Conventions Center adjacent to the hotel gave me a very formal vibe.

Not that it's anything bad, but the very nature of this hotel gave me a lack of warmth, like what you'd expect to experience when on holiday. Not somewhere I'd want to spend a long period in whilst on holiday - but I'd love the efficiency and the amount of helpfulness if I was a business traveller!

Rooms-wise, me and my friends stayed in the standard Family room. It was spacious even by Singaporean standards, which just blows Japanese hotel space standards out of the water. There were 4 super-single and super-comfy beds, a sofa, a center table, a dresser with a mirror which expands and enables you to angle for those hard-to-see side profiles, a sufficiently-large LCD TV and a large cupboard which had a huge amount of hangers, among others.

All this evenly and largely spread out in a huge 44 square-meter (474 square-feet) area which was HUGE for 3 people, and I'd think would still be huge for a family of 4. The decor was a little dated though (I think because we were in the older wing), but it was clean, comfortable and of a better-than-decent standard.

Definitely worth the money spent, though it could use a bit more warmth in the decor - but can't blame them, they are a business hotel after all. 4-stars! (:

Room Tip: I'm not too sure, but if you're staying in a Twin room, I'd recommend asking for a room...
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Syahms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2012

We made Osaka our hub for exploring the region. We booked the hotel due to the low price (compared to normal rate) and the free bus service to Osaka station which is very convenient!
The hotel is part of a very big complex including convention center and two towers where the hotel rooms are allocated. As usual the higher the room the better the view.
For japanese standards the rooms and the bathroom are rather big! Internet is for free and very fast. No noise disturbance from outside.
Bar, Restaurant etc. have quite high prices, better explor Osaka.
Staff is very helpful and does everything to make you feel comfortable. English is decent. Hotel has an ATM which is convenient as it accepts also European ATM cards - which can be a struggle in Japan.
If you look for authentic japanese experience better book a Ryokan, else it is the perfect place to stay!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FMA1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2012

First impression when you enter the room are : what a spacious room!
Even my friend gets a room with the living room *envy me*.
Everything is very clean, tidy and complete amenities.
The breakfast is very delicious with so many varies of menu.
Staff with English spoken also quite fluent.
So far, great hotel with great food and great service.
If I had a chance, I'd love to stay in here again.

Room Tip: Choose the room in the right side of the building for the good view of Osaka.
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sintah2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2012

This is a very good hotel, there is a very big staff for each situation. The hotel lobby is huge, there are some bars and restaurants in the hotel and even some clothing shops. Staff's English is OK, could be better. The rooms are clean, and mine had plenty of space. If you order room service, the portions are pretty small to be honest and pretty expensive.

The little downside is the price, I paid for a (big) 1 personsrooms 230€ per night.
But nevertheless, great hotel nothing to complain about, very customer-service minded.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FreddyD90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2012

This is a great place. You will PAY for it ,BUT a great place to stay. DO NOT order room service! My wife found that out the hard way! I had a meeting down the street and said get what ever you want from room service. OOOOOH! NOOOOO!A glass of wine was 10 buck's! But room's are great. The sheet's feel like a 3 hundred count . View is great. And great service,

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Osaka hotels
Osaka Station / Umeda
Hotel Granvia Osaka
Hotel Granvia Osaka
#51 of 321 in Osaka
1,436 reviews
Imperial Hotel Osaka
#6 of 321 in Osaka
960 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bay Area / Bentencho / Yodoyabashi / Hommachi / Tanimachi / Kyobashi
Hotel Osaka Baytower
Hotel Osaka Baytower
#35 of 321 in Osaka
772 reviews
Hotel New Otani Osaka
#15 of 321 in Osaka
1,217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to RIHGA Royal Hotel Osaka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about RIHGA Royal Hotel Osaka

Address: 5-3-68 Nakanoshima, Kita-ku, Osaka 530-0005, Osaka Prefecture
Phone Number:
Location: Japan > Kinki > Osaka Prefecture > Osaka > Osaka Station / Umeda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Osaka
#12 Business Hotel in Osaka
#18 Luxury Hotel in Osaka
#19 Family Hotel in Osaka
#31 Romantic Hotel in Osaka
Price Range: $91 - $399 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — RIHGA Royal Hotel Osaka 4*
Number of rooms: 984
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rising above the waterways of Nakanoshima, the RIHGA Royal Hotel Osaka (our group flagship) offers the finest in traditional Japanese services, luxurious rooms, banquet halls and restaurants, plus delightful surroundings: the perfect combination for a relaxing stay in Osaka. During its history of over half a century as Osaka's premier hotel, the RIHGA Royal Hotel Osaka has played host to innumerable guests from Japan and overseas and has kept pace with the emergence of Osaka as one of the world's most prominent commercial cities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, JAPANiCAN, Hotels.com, Agoda, Rakuten, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your RIHGA Royal Hotel Osaka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rihga Royal Osaka Hotel Osaka
Osaka Rihga Royal Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing