We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Nikko Osaka
Nearby Hotels
$362
$278
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$191
$160
Rakuten Travel
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$248
$149
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$287
$138
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$240
$162
Hotwire.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$299
$244
InterContinental
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$186
$146
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$222
$197
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$210
$107
JAPANiCAN.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$287
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (2,087)
Filter reviews
2,087 results
Traveler rating
705
1,024
268
56
34
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
705
1,024
268
56
34
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsshinsaibashi stationgreat locationdaimaru department storeshinsaibashi shopping arcadewalking distancedirect accesskansai airportjapanese breakfastbasement leveldouble bedearly checkgreat shoppinglanguage barrierhotel staffmidosuji linerooms are smallfamily mart
Filter
Updating list...
440 - 445 of 2,087 reviews
Reviewed May 9, 2013

Firstly, this is old hotel, your room key is using an old mechanical key with big hanger shape of the hotel building

Second, the location was perfect, just across the street of shinsaibashi suji street, and daimaru department store, you can go to shinsaibashi without being wet if raining, because there is underpass to daimaru.

Third, near shinsaibashi subway, exit 8 was hotel Nikko, easy access to everywhere else in the using subway.

Fourth, Small cozy room, although some furniture was already wear out and the bathroom style was outdated, but clean.

Fifth, easy access to Kansai airport using shuttle bus in front of hotel, and the shuttle bus was very ontime.

Sixth.... many Japanese think this is expensive hotel, but when we book from Agoda, we got a very good deal of price, even Japanese said the price was cheap enough for Nikko hotel.

Overall.... great experience.... priceless...

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RolandL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jan M, General Manager at Hotel Nikko Osaka, responded to this reviewResponded May 22, 2013

Dear Mr. Roland,

Thank you for recently staying with us.

Our location is ideal for shopping and sightseeing as you mentioned and we appreciate your positive comments.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Hotel Nikko Osaka!

Best Regards,
Jan Marshall
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2013

Stayed there for three nights. Location is great. Staff is nice. However, the room was a bit worn down, very dusty in the room, somehow. It smells in the corridor. Sound proofing of the door is bad, got waken up by people chatting in the corridor in the morning.
The transit bus from the hotel to the airport was convenient and reasonably priced.
Free wifi is available even though you need to borrow a router to set it up.
I was surprised that they key lock is a real key with a huge key chain instead of a card that you can easily bring around.
But overall, I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2013

We arrived Osaka via Kansai airport at around 9 pm and decided to take the airport bus to OCAT station. Since it was late night, not much traffic and had a very good touristy experience around the city. We took the taxi to the hotel which cost us 730 yen. The hotel smelled a bit old, cigarette smoke but the hotel rooms were clean and complete with amenities. We requested for the L floor overlooking the avenue where Daimaru was located. It was a great view for both rooms, since my daughters occupied the next room. Walking distance to Shinsaibashi, Nipponbashi and Namba. We took our train to Kyoto at the basement of the hotel so it was very convenient for all of us plus our luggage. We booked through hotels.com so we got a very good price.

Room Tip: Wifi stronger on higher floors
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bet2012_52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2013

Hotel Nikko Osaka is a 5 star hotel but we managed to get it at only about $90 a night via Expedia (no breakfast) . Great price! It's located just across Shinsaibashi station MINAMI Entertainment and shopping Avenues and restaurant rows.
No problem with service, as can be expected of a 5 star hotel. Always quick to respond. All beds are done well and are clean. Very comfy beds by the way. All washroom and room amenities are provided (LCD, mini bar, hot pot, etc). Room and Restrooms are particularly big and comfortable , considering Japanese standards. All staff speaks decent English. Front desk people have comprehensive info on all establishments - location, operating hours, etc. I would say excellent service.
Fast wifi is available at the lobby, still of decent speed during busy guest traffic from 7pm-9pm (a fee is needed for cable connection in the room). A number of English TV channels are available but you need to program your TV properly (I asked help from housekeeping when I could not figure it out myself) .
Location is definitely a plus. Train stations are just under the building. Shopping areas, all the boutiques you want within walking distance. Restaurants are everywhere- eat all you can Restos, revolving sushi bars, take out diners, etc. 24 hour convenient stores a skip away. Hotel is on the Main Street of Osaka.
Particularly good for a family of 3 or 4. If free wifi was available in the rooms, it would have been perfect. Still highly recommendable

Room Tip: Higher floors get better city view. Book early via Expedia for best rates.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TRavelBug232323
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2013

Location is amazing for this hotel. Easy to get to as you have direct access to subway (shinsaibashi station exit #8) and surrounded by all the shopping and restaurants and nightlife. Definitely recommend this hotel and we booked through agoda for better rate. This was the largest sized hotel room we got during our 2 week stay in Japan. We didn't try buffet as we ventured off to try all yummy options in Osaka. Hotel staff was helpful and room was clean and comfortable. Washroom is slightly dated but was clean. Only complaint I have is they have yet to offer wifi to their guests. But you do get Internet LAN if you bring a laptop. Would stay here again and recommend this hotel.

Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Jennielyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews