We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect hotel for Osaka”
Review of Hotel Nikko Osaka

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Nikko Osaka
Ranked #20 of 303 Hotels / Ryokan in Osaka
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect hotel for Osaka”
Reviewed April 23, 2013 via mobile

Location is amazing for this hotel. Easy to get to as you have direct access to subway (shinsaibashi station exit #8) and surrounded by all the shopping and restaurants and nightlife. Definitely recommend this hotel and we booked through agoda for better rate. This was the largest sized hotel room we got during our 2 week stay in Japan. We didn't try buffet as we ventured off to try all yummy options in Osaka. Hotel staff was helpful and room was clean and comfortable. Washroom is slightly dated but was clean. Only complaint I have is they have yet to offer wifi to their guests. But you do get Internet LAN if you bring a laptop. Would stay here again and recommend this hotel.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jennielyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,862 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    597
    940
    249
    49
    27
See reviews for
432
346
312
528
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, AB
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 18, 2013

This is a wonderful hotel right near Namba, so you definitely get a good sense of the night life in Osaka. The rooms are comfortable and the sound proofing is wonderful. The decor is a little dated but you're so comfortable that you don't care. The breakfast buffet has the standard selection of western and japanese food. The staff is extremely helpful and friendly, and for a large hotel, manages the number of people quite well. Very close to the subway so it's great for exploring the city or doing day trips. In the future I will probably stay here and just commute to Kyoto for the day. If you get an upper level floor you have a great view of the city. Can't wait to stay here again!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank S R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jan M, General Manager at Hotel Nikko Osaka, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Dear SR,

Thank you very much for your recent stay and review of our hotel. We especially appreciate your comments regarding our staff's service attitude.

We look forward to your return trip to Osaka and our Hotel.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 4 nights. Check in was fast, staffs were helpful. Room is bigger than usual Japanese hotels. Location is the best, it is in the main road of Osaka and surrounded by shopping malls and great restaurants. Perfect!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OneTe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2013

We stayed in this hotel for 6 nights. Upon request, we were given a room at a high floor with a good view of the city. We were also given a router so we could access the internet in our room. Unfortunately though, during peak hours, there were times that the internet access would be cut. Although you can just reconnect again, it was still a bit of a bother, especially if you are in the middle of working on something.

The room was just adequate in size for Japanese standards. It was clean and had the basic amenities you needed. We just had some difficulties adjusting the temperature of the room as the thermostat didn't seem to work. It was a minor concern for us though that we could let go.

The location of the hotel was superb if you just want to relax and enjoy shopping in Osaka. The Shinsaibashi shopping arcade was just across the street, and you can just walk through it to go to Namba, passing through Dotonburi. You can access the subway right at the basement of the hotel. You can easily transfer trains via Umeda if you want a day trip to either Kyoto or Nara.

The staff of the hotel were also always very helpful. There were just times when there were long queues at the reception, which could be inconvenient especially if you are in a hurry. If you need to change money, they could also do it for you, surprisingly at a good rate.

Going to the airport, if the hotel's schedule of airport limousine bus do not fit your flight schedule, an alternative could be taking a taxi to OCAT which cost us 820yen. Once in OCAT, you can take the bus to the airport at 1,000 yen per person.

All in all, we had a great time during our stay at Hotel Nikko. If I ever return to Osaka, I would consider staying here again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hopebaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2013

First trip to japan , arrive in osaka around 22pm ..
Check in fast .. they help me carried my baggage to my room .
Location is just Up subway station .
Choose exit wisely so you will not carry your baggage through stairs but use elevator .

The room size is standard .. not small not large .. as we know japan double bed size is 140 cm
its enough for me and my wife .
Room is very clean , have everything we need .

Inside internet room is very fast .. 50MB/s .
Bring your laptop use intel wifi software to make your laptop hotspot so you can share internet to your smartphone .

I do face time with my iphone to my home country no lags .

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank An3s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jan M, General Manager at Hotel Nikko Osaka, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for recently staying with us.

I sincerely appreciate your positive comments and we look forward to welcoming you again should you be travelling to Osaka.

Sincerely,

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2013

Good choice for a couple of days in Osaka, great location for the subway etc and a walk to the 'Blade Runner' scene in the rain. Very comfortable bed, and room more spacious than most business hotels. Very good desk staff and all good although it is a very big busy hotel. Lots of lifts available and we were near the top with Lost in Translation views of the city. Only improvement could be the layout of the breakfast restaurant - the small self service area quickly gets packed with peak-time breakfasters queueing up and bumping in to one another and probably missing out on some of the dishes.

Really convenient for an economical and speedy bus transfer to Kansai airport - don't think about taking the subway when a taxi will take you and your luggage to the bus terminal for about 700 yen.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LondonTumi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
63 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2013

We stayed at Hotel Nikko Osaka recently and really enjoyed it. Great service, food, rooms and bathrooms. Very welcoming staff, and so convenient for shopping and transport. The staff were very knowlegable about the town, and most spoke English to some degree. Best stay south of Tokyo.

Room Tip: Book early
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stainlesxs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jan M, General Manager at Hotel Nikko Osaka, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for recently staying with us. I was pleased to see such a positive comment on our property. We look forward to welcoming you back to Hotel Nikko Osaka in the future.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Osaka hotels
Shinsaibashi / Nanba / Tennoji / South Area
Cross Hotel Osaka
Cross Hotel Osaka
#9 of 303 in Osaka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,323 reviews
Shinsaibashi / Nanba / Tennoji / South Area
Holiday Inn Osaka Namba
Holiday Inn Osaka Namba
#27 of 303 in Osaka
4.0 of 5 bubbles 742 reviews
Shinsaibashi / Nanba / Tennoji / South Area
Swissotel Nankai Osaka
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shinsaibashi / Nanba / Tennoji / South Area
Hotel Monterey Grasmere Osaka
Namba Oriental Hotel
#30 of 303 in Osaka
4.0 of 5 bubbles 619 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Nikko Osaka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Nikko Osaka

Property: Hotel Nikko Osaka
Address: 1-3-3 Nishi-Shinsaibashi, Chuo-ku, Osaka 542-0086, Osaka Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kinki > Osaka Prefecture > Osaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 303 Hotels / Ryokan in Osaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Nikko Osaka 4*
Number of rooms: 635
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Nikko Osaka faces the main avenue, Midosuji and is directly connected to Subway Shinsaibashi Station. The hotel stands as the landmark of Osaka's central area, Minami, where you will find popular places such as Dotonbori, shopping districts, brand-name shops,Amerika mura,Donkihote, Universal Studios Japan (R) etc. The location is also convenient for access to Kyoto,Kobe and Nara. At Hotel Nikko Osaka you will find restaurants and lounges that allow you to enjoy the changing colors of gingko trees lining Midosuji Avenue throughout the different seasons. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Rakuten, Hotels.com, Agoda, Hotwire, Ctrip TA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Nikko Osaka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing