We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not quite 'Lost in Translation'”
Review of Hotel Nikko Osaka

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Nikko Osaka
Ranked #20 of 339 Hotels / Ryokan in Osaka
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 14, 2013

Good choice for a couple of days in Osaka, great location for the subway etc and a walk to the 'Blade Runner' scene in the rain. Very comfortable bed, and room more spacious than most business hotels. Very good desk staff and all good although it is a very big busy hotel. Lots of lifts available and we were near the top with Lost in Translation views of the city. Only improvement could be the layout of the breakfast restaurant - the small self service area quickly gets packed with peak-time breakfasters queueing up and bumping in to one another and probably missing out on some of the dishes.

Really convenient for an economical and speedy bus transfer to Kansai airport - don't think about taking the subway when a taxi will take you and your luggage to the bus terminal for about 700 yen.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LondonTumi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,979)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

408 - 414 of 1,979 reviews

Reviewed April 10, 2013

We stayed at Hotel Nikko Osaka recently and really enjoyed it. Great service, food, rooms and bathrooms. Very welcoming staff, and so convenient for shopping and transport. The staff were very knowlegable about the town, and most spoke English to some degree. Best stay south of Tokyo.

Room Tip: Book early
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stainlesxs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jan M, General Manager at Hotel Nikko Osaka, responded to this reviewResponded April 18, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for recently staying with us. I was pleased to see such a positive comment on our property. We look forward to welcoming you back to Hotel Nikko Osaka in the future.

Best Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2013

I stayed here for two separate nights in May, 2012 on a business trip. The first time, I was dropped off from Osaka’s Kansai International Airport. I didn’t make the booking but most likely stayed on the L floor and in a single room.

The check-in was handled with the help of Japanese hosts so I wasn’t too sure if the front desk were proficient in English but they appeared to be friendly and polite in the usual Japanese manner so there were no glum faces or any rudeness apparent. The lobby was nicely designed and pleasant but it was not in reality particularly large, owing to the fact that the centre was basically an area for the escalator to access the hotel shops but the sense of spaciousness was still there. Overall it set a positive and modern initial impression.

The modern impression continued upon entry to the room. It was clear that the room was small but also well-equipped with many thoughtful little details and features. There was a pleasant reading light as well as an area to store the shoes safely and it was not in the closet.

The bed was comfortable although it had to be placed next to the walls and the sitting lounge sofa, although quite small was also adequate and comfortable and it was even possible to lie down on it, although the legs would not find much support. The working desk area was adequate and seemed to speak to the business character of the hotel because it was quite large, making full use of the width of the room essentially and affording a view out the window which in my case on both occasions was unfortunately just mainly looking at the large and imposing building opposite. The flat-screen TV was appropriately sized given the dimensions of the room and was located on the working desk although there was still space enough to work in front of it or place items there. There was also an air cleaner in the room, which I found interesting since the room appeared to be very clean already but it was perhaps useful as the hotel was located next to quite a major road.

The bathroom was also small and just functional more than anything else, the functions including a high-tech self-cleaning toilet unit. A bathtub was available with the shower located there as well.

My main complaint regarding the room was that there was no iron or ironing board available in the room and a limited number in the hotel. The only ironing facility available was the chargeable pressing service, which was however very professionally done and extremely quick if required.

The location of the hotel is quite good for shopping purposes, it’s next to the Daimaru Shinsaibashi department store and appears to be located on a higher-end or exclusive shopping street (Mido-suji avenue) or at least I hope it’s exclusive even in Japan. There was an Apple store located nearby. Dotonbori with its many eateries is also within walking distance.

I didn’t try many of the facilities in the hotel apart from the dining in the Serena restaurant in the morning, where there was a good buffet selection available. Most of the offerings were Western but there were also some other options available. I was there early and noticed a queue forming later on so it could be an issue getting into the restaurant for breakfast, say after 8am if the hotel is busy. I didn’t manage to try any of the shops as they appeared to be unnecessarily expensive although water bottles from the vending machines were a convenient option, as was the ice from the machine.

The character of the hotel appeared to be mainly business with a plethora of restaurants and bars as well as meeting and banquet rooms but not much in the way of leisure amenities and there was no pool onsite.

A very good hotel for business purposes and not that dated. It was also well-located for both shopping and dining.


NOTE: I have videos of the hotel rooms available through the link in my profile section.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank perryw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2013 via mobile

We are so glad we stayed at the Nikko in Osaka. Everything about our visit there made our time in Osaka click. Centrally located, with a connection to the Shinsaibashi subway station, the hotel's location made it easy to travel to Osaka's key tourist sites. The concierge is very helpful. The hotel is remarkably close to the airport bus line. And the biggest treat of all is the hotel's adjacency to the eateries of Shinsaibashi!

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tampatowers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2013

The hotel has a great location at Shinsaibashi. My son is allergic to eggs and nuts and the staff at the hotel restaurants took extra care to ensure that they made available for him food that did not contain these allergens. I had a room on a high floor which had a great view. The bed mattress was soft and slightly uncomfortable. Only complimentary green tea was provided in the room. Coffee and english tea is particularly needed by non-Japanese guests but these were not provided. Would surely consider a re-visit

Room Tip: A room on a higher floor would ensure a good view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SudhirG25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2013 via mobile

5 stars services, nice and helpful staff. My room was at higher floor as I requested, east side, facing Shinsaibashi and the view is stunning day or night.

Room size larger than average Japanese hotel. Bathroom a bit worned but clean, comfy long bed. The hotel provide recycled slippers, basic amenities but without cotton, cotton buds and no free bottle water probably because I stayed in standard room?

No wifi but only wired internet in the room, I usually have my travel router with me so it is not a problem. The hotel also provide router upon request.

The hotel is across the road to Daimaru Shinsaibashi North Building, it is connected with the subway Shinsaibashi station at level B2 of the hotel elevator. You can reach many places on foot through the station with many restaurants & shops around.

Location is excellent for hanging around Osaka by subway, or shinsaibashi, namba and nearby, but less preferable to travel by JR, Hankyu line or to Kansai. I travelled from Shijo Kyoto to this hotel and the hankyu line terminal is at Umeda, I have to transit here to take the subway with my suitcase.

I was most unsatisfy with the airport limousine schedule of the hotel, I wonder how can such a 30 storeys hotel with so many visitors got only 3 scheduled airport bus per day? and the schedule is limited and inflexible, 07xx, 1025, 1505, that's it. The most annoy is hotel nikko is the first stop, then the bus would spend at least half an hour to the sheraton miyako hotel where they have hourly departure airport bus, then to the airport. Sheraton Miyako has such frequent hourly departure airport bus why the only 3 buses from Hotel Nikko has to spent half an hour more to goto this hotel to pick up 4 pax then make it spent total 1.5 hrs from hotel nikko to kansai airport?

I used to stay in hotels in umeda whenever I visit Osaka but I chose hotel nikko in Shinsaibashi this time because of its positive comments but it's obviously a wrong decision. Nothing wrong with the hotel itself but mostly the transportation doesn't fit my trip. I often stay in Hotel new hankyu Umeda and their airport bus departs every half an hour and I didn't expect there's only 3 buses per day from hotel nikko. This is the first time I regret I didn't choose hotel new hankyu.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lanjai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2013

Despite of the limitation of the staff in speaking English, they are sincerely try to help you with all your needs.

Location is perfect! Walking distance to Namba and 1 minute walk from Shinsaibashi subway.
Airport Bus Limousine just downstairs.

try their breakfast - two options, western on 2nd floor and Japanese on 3rd floor. I tried both - food quality was good.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SylS78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Osaka hotels
Shinsaibashi / Nanba / Tennoji / South Area
Cross Hotel Osaka
Cross Hotel Osaka
#10 of 339 in Osaka
1,445 reviews
Shinsaibashi / Nanba / Tennoji / South Area
Swissotel Nankai Osaka
Osaka Station / Umeda
Hotel Granvia Osaka
Hotel Granvia Osaka
#47 of 339 in Osaka
1,474 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shinsaibashi / Nanba / Tennoji / South Area
Holiday Inn Osaka Namba
Holiday Inn Osaka Namba
#25 of 339 in Osaka
817 reviews
Shinsaibashi / Nanba / Tennoji / South Area
Hotel Monterey Grasmere Osaka
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Nikko Osaka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Nikko Osaka

Address: 1-3-3 Nishishinsaibashi, Chuo-ku, Osaka 542-0086, Osaka Prefecture
Phone Number:
Location: Japan > Kinki > Osaka Prefecture > Osaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 339 Hotels / Ryokan in Osaka
Price Range: $147 - $429 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Nikko Osaka 4*
Number of rooms: 635
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Nikko Osaka faces the main avenue, Midosuji and is directly connected to Subway Shinsaibashi Station. The hotel stands as the landmark of Osaka's central area, Minami, where you will find popular places such as Dotonbori, shopping districts, brand-name shops,Amerika mura,Donkihote, Universal Studios Japan (R) etc. The location is also convenient for access to Kyoto,Kobe and Nara. At Hotel Nikko Osaka you will find restaurants and lounges that allow you to enjoy the changing colors of gingko trees lining Midosuji Avenue throughout the different seasons. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Rakuten, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, KNT-CT Holdings Co.,Ltd.(YOKOSO Japan), Hotels.com, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Nikko Osaka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing