We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Location and friendly service”
Review of Hotel Nikko Osaka

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
Hotel Nikko Osaka
Ranked #19 of 316 Hotels / Ryokan in Osaka
Certificate of Excellence
Hong Kong
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Good Location and friendly service”
Reviewed January 9, 2013

The hotel is located in the prime location where shops and department store around. Subway underneath the hotel building make it very easy to access. The staff are friendly and courteous. One minor thing is, the food variety at breakfast are not much.
Anyway, will consider to return to the hotel in future.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Carman C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jan M, General Manager at Hotel Nikko Osaka, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying with us recently and Thank you for your positive comments.

We look forward to welcoming you again should you be travelling to Osaka.

Best Regards,
Jan Marshall
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,913 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    623
    959
    253
    51
    27
See reviews for
453
358
313
536
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo, Norway
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2013

Coming from Osaka airport to Namba station, you need to take subway for one station. The location of the hotel is excellent. It is very central with direct access to the subway. You can find all you need around you as well as the main shopping street of Osaka which looks like a modern Bazaar. There are many restaurants in the first two, three floors of the hotel as well as some luxury cloths and jewelry shops.

We booked a room with three bed and it was not that large but according to my experience in Japan, it was standard for a four star hotel. Even though we were in 24th floor, still most of the view had been obscured by the building at the other side of the street.

Rooms are very clean and well equipped. It will suite your expectation from a four start hotel. However, the reason I downgraded this hotel to a 3 star plus is the hotel facility. Basically, there are no facilities out of your room. They do not even have a hotel lobby which I felt very disappointed. No need to mention about no training center, no pool, etc.

I recommend this hotel if you want to be in the center and only if you can book it with discounted price.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank baboo_ghotbi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jan M, General Manager at Hotel Nikko Osaka, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your positive comments regarding our location and our easy access.

In regards to the training facilities we will certainly take your comments into consideration as we plan for our future projects.

We look forward to welcoming you again.

Best Regards,
Jan Marshall
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2012

Fantastic location! Wonderful rooms (Japan standards)! Excellent breakfast buffet. The staff is incredibly courteous, they have onsite currency exchange at a good rate, and you're surrounded by world class shopping. Elevators also go right down the basement level for subway access. Walking distance from Nanba nightlife - I will definitely stay here again! If you tell the locals you're staying here, they think you're rich! Haha

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ryan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jan M, General Manager at Hotel Nikko Osaka, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Dear Mr. Ryan,

Thank you for your very positive comments on your recent stay at our hotel. We certainly appreciate it and we look forward to welcoming you again to Osaka!

Best Regards,

Jan Marshall
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level 6 Contributor
176 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2012

Rooms are small for two people. Double bed was against a wall. Staff are superb. Location is brilliant. Halfway up Midsuji Dori between Dotonbori and Umeda. Everything accessible on foot. Hotel sits on subway line with direct elevator access from ground floor. Tried room service food and it was very good.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2012

I've booked L floor premium room for its 'new' room. However it turned out a small room and not as new as it suppose to turn out. Noise from corridors. Alot of Koreans staying here during my stay.

I didn't get high floor and was offered a 15th floor room instead. Not sure that's their definition of L floor. Room is small.

Was very disappointed with the price paid.

Location wise is perfect. We took Train from Kansai to Namba and decided to hop on a cab since there is a long walk to subway station plus we have a few luggages to drag. It costs us 840yen from Namba station to hotel, which is cheap!

If I would ever be coming back again, I will opt for other newer hotel and not Nikko.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DVH212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nagoya, Japan
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed December 23, 2012

The location is very good - best place for shopping and eating. Right next to Subway Shinsaibashi station. Airport bus available from the hotel (Trains will be a bit cheaper, but need to change at Nanba.)
The room is a bit small, and not new, but well cleaned. Fashionable furniture. Although this is a decent hotel, I would not stay here if they are not offering special price. There are better hotels for cheaper price (e.g. Cross Hotel Osaka).

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sunny_world_traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed December 21, 2012

I stayed 4 nights at this hotel in December. The location is good if u are accessing by train. We had a lot of luggage so we took the airport shuttle to Namba then changed into a taxi for a short ride. the first taxi saw us and left because of our 3 pieces of luggage!
I reserved L floor with new mattresses (so I was told.)! The room was not spacious but ok. Clean and tidy.
We had breakfast included in our room plan so we ate buffet breakfast at the 2nd floor Serena. The foods were good but they were the same everyday. So the third day we really felt that we had enough of it. One unpleasant thing was it says at the front of the restaurant that kids from 3-12 are charged at kids price. We had to pay for my daughter who is 12 years old since a room only comes with 2 breakfasts. On 12/20 the front male host looked at us and asked if my daughter goes to junior high. We replied that she's 7th grade, then he demanded that she be charged as an adult! We argued and finally he got impatient and waved his hand to the cashier and gave us the child price.
I think it is confusing to international travelers because you clearly stated age as requirements at the entrance.
Overall people were friendly but their English like many Japanese people who work at hotel in Japan: they really don't understand English. So when you ask them something, they just get defensive and at the end you don't get any answer out of them. For example, I thought I paid more to get L type room, but I got 11th floor, while there are 29 floors. I asked the front desk if I had the L floor, the answer was yes, but why am I getting such a low floor, they just keep repeating L floor. For a big hotel like this, it's such a pity because of lack of ability to communicate with your guests. Not to even mention if you could have them back to your hotel again!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Koge168
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Osaka hotels
Shinsaibashi / Nanba / Tennoji / South Area
Swissotel Nankai Osaka
Shinsaibashi / Nanba / Tennoji / South Area
Cross Hotel Osaka
Cross Hotel Osaka
#10 of 316 in Osaka
1,384 reviews
Shinsaibashi / Nanba / Tennoji / South Area
Holiday Inn Osaka Namba
Holiday Inn Osaka Namba
#24 of 316 in Osaka
774 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shinsaibashi / Nanba / Tennoji / South Area
Hotel Monterey Grasmere Osaka
Osaka Station / Umeda
Hotel Granvia Osaka
Hotel Granvia Osaka
#51 of 316 in Osaka
1,421 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Nikko Osaka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Nikko Osaka

Property: Hotel Nikko Osaka
Address: 1-3-3 Nishi-Shinsaibashi, Chuo-ku, Osaka 542-0086, Osaka Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kinki > Osaka Prefecture > Osaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 316 Hotels / Ryokan in Osaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Nikko Osaka 4*
Number of rooms: 635
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Nikko Osaka faces the main avenue, Midosuji and is directly connected to Subway Shinsaibashi Station. The hotel stands as the landmark of Osaka's central area, Minami, where you will find popular places such as Dotonbori, shopping districts, brand-name shops,Amerika mura,Donkihote, Universal Studios Japan (R) etc. The location is also convenient for access to Kyoto,Kobe and Nara. At Hotel Nikko Osaka you will find restaurants and lounges that allow you to enjoy the changing colors of gingko trees lining Midosuji Avenue throughout the different seasons. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, JAPANiCAN, Priceline, KNT-CT Holdings Co.,Ltd.(YOKOSO Japan), Ctrip TA, Rakuten, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Nikko Osaka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing