We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, worth visiting, but be aware of a couple of Things”
Review of Hotel Nikko Osaka

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
Hotel Nikko Osaka
Ranked #20 of 315 Hotels / Ryokan in Osaka
Certificate of Excellence
Chester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
206 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Great hotel, worth visiting, but be aware of a couple of Things”
Reviewed November 3, 2012 via mobile

Great hotel and rooms large for Japan. Points to be aware of:

* There are only two American type sockets in each room and when you plug in an adapter, you will not be able to use the second one as it is located too close to the first

* the queus for breakfast at peak times 07:00 to 08:30 are very large when the hotel is slightly busy, probably due to poor understanding of how to get people in and out quickly - the focus is on making sure that they have your chit for breakfast...

* also be aware of the 'girls' standing at the entrance, I am guessing that they are really what they appear to be, but they do not approach you looking for business

Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank weechancer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,910 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    622
    957
    253
    51
    27
See reviews for
451
357
313
536
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Malaysia
Level 6 Contributor
67 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2012

This hotel rated the best among all the hotel for my recent Japan visit.

The room size, bed, cleanliness and staff service is at the best you can get. I book early so the rate is very reasonable and for that rate with this quality, is definitely a A++ value for my money.

I travel along with my wife and my two years old daughter. The location is superb but the staff really make my whole stay very pleasant. They pay extra attention to their guest, which make me very happy about it.

The bathroom is very nicely equipped, from the auto heat seat to the little toiletries, it shows how caring they are. I like the shampoo, conditioner and body bath they prepare.. is a very good quality product, not something basic from store shelf.

My floor is also equipped with vending machine and as well ice machine ( this is very important for me ! haha...)

Even I book at a lower rate, but I was given a high floor room with excellent view of Osaka skyline.

I will definitely stay in this hotel again !

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jeffayn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Palm Beach, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
490 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2012

So great location, the in hotel breakfast buffet for the money was good for Japan. The hotel is in from of Daimaru a great deparment store and you can walk the Shinsai bashi street to Namba where there is Takashimaya store also very nice. On Dotonbori you can see the big Crab and the Chindonya machine robot that stands in front of a restaurant. its been there for at least 48 years I saw it for the first time in 1964.

Room Tip: get a room facing Daimaru, and buy your own instant coffee, cream, sugar or from a restaurant
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2012

This is great value and centrally located. From the Hotel you can walk to many restaurants and tons of shopping areas. It is right above the subway entrance. Their staff all speak English and are all very professional. The rooms are very spaceous and well maintained. Would highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: get breakfast outside of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelval2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2012

We stayed here 4 nights mid-August. The location is very good and direct connection to the metro station. Located in one of the main streets and accross the closed shopping market streets. Very lively and exciting. The rooms were good but we had to pay for the internet connection. Breakfast very expensive but the nice little coffee shop in the hotel offered coffee and plenty of croissants at 800 Yens which was more than enough for us for breakfast. Overall very nice hotel and can be recommended. We might go again there.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bettina077
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2012

We booked two standard twin (non-smoking) rooms for 7 nights at JPY15,535 per night.

The rooms and bathrooms are clean and big by Japanese standards. The service, from housekeeping to frontdesk were excellent.

The hotel's location is also excellent - centrally located in Osaka's main shopping district and so, within walking distance of Shinsaibashi-suji (covered shopping street), Mido-suji street, Amerika-mura and even Dōtonbori. With the hotel situated above the Shinsaibashi station, this also makes it convenient and easy to take the subways to most places of interest in Osaka.

For what we paid, this was a good choice for its central location and easy access to eateries and transport. We recommend Hotel Nikko Osaka for families with young children or those travelling with senior citizens.

Tip: To get to the hotel from Kansai Airport, it is relatively convenient and easy. We took the airport limousine bus (discount for return fare) to OCAT (Namba). We then took a taxi (a short ride = inexpensive) from OCAT to the hotel. This was a good in-between option which helped us got around lugging our heavy luggages and handling a wheelchair at the same time. Taking the train from the airport may not be a great option if you have heavy or many bags (you need to change line) and taxi is just too expensive at least JPY15,000.

Room Tip: Book in advance for better room rates.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Travel_1-plus-1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2012

Stayed:
Room 1127 & 1131
Twin Room located at Premium L Floor (24㎡~30㎡)

Paid:
11,250 YEN / Room / Night
(JAL Hotels Promotional Rate For Early Booking)
Booked Standard Twin Rooms but were upgraded to Premium Twin @ L Floor.

-faces the famous tree-lined Mido-suji Avenue.
-locates right in the center of Shinsaibashi area.
-high-speed internet access available in the room, WIFI router is provided.
-clean & spacious room
-great service

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MYLIEW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Osaka hotels
Shinsaibashi / Nanba / Tennoji / South Area
Swissotel Nankai Osaka
Shinsaibashi / Nanba / Tennoji / South Area
Cross Hotel Osaka
Cross Hotel Osaka
#10 of 315 in Osaka
1,383 reviews
Shinsaibashi / Nanba / Tennoji / South Area
Holiday Inn Osaka Namba
Holiday Inn Osaka Namba
#24 of 315 in Osaka
773 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shinsaibashi / Nanba / Tennoji / South Area
Hotel Monterey Grasmere Osaka
Osaka Station / Umeda
Hotel Granvia Osaka
Hotel Granvia Osaka
#51 of 315 in Osaka
1,420 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Nikko Osaka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Nikko Osaka

Property: Hotel Nikko Osaka
Address: 1-3-3 Nishi-Shinsaibashi, Chuo-ku, Osaka 542-0086, Osaka Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kinki > Osaka Prefecture > Osaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 315 Hotels / Ryokan in Osaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Nikko Osaka 4*
Number of rooms: 635
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Nikko Osaka faces the main avenue, Midosuji and is directly connected to Subway Shinsaibashi Station. The hotel stands as the landmark of Osaka's central area, Minami, where you will find popular places such as Dotonbori, shopping districts, brand-name shops,Amerika mura,Donkihote, Universal Studios Japan (R) etc. The location is also convenient for access to Kyoto,Kobe and Nara. At Hotel Nikko Osaka you will find restaurants and lounges that allow you to enjoy the changing colors of gingko trees lining Midosuji Avenue throughout the different seasons. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, JAPANiCAN, Travelocity, Rakuten, Priceline, Ctrip TA, KNT-CT Holdings Co.,Ltd.(YOKOSO Japan), Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Nikko Osaka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing