We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A proper non nonsense hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Hotel New Hankyu Osaka
Ranked #71 of 342 Hotels / Ryokan in Osaka
Reviewed October 6, 2013

I've stayed here about 6 or 7 times and never had a problem. For its central location the New Hankyu offers pretty good value. One drawback is the pot luck with the view from the rooms - if you're unlucky you can end up opening the curtains to some unspectacular views of the very close buildings nearby.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mickeyl_Whelkson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,127)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

237 - 243 of 1,127 reviews

Reviewed September 11, 2013

I assume because we booked late we were stuffed in one of the bad rooms. The aircon wasn't working, but we did have a portable one put in. The room was also a very odd shape, long and thin. We stayed one night on a jaunt between Kyoto and Kansai Airport, so it served a purpose. It is right next to Osaka train station, the main stop for the Airport bus is outside the door and access to all of Osaka's main subway lines is very easy. So in terms of location, which to me is most important on a city jaunt, it is perfect. It also has a lovely cake shop!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tomwninety1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2013

The outside of the hotel and the lobby look decent enough. Unfortunately the room itself could use a little love. Standard small Japanese room. The beds were rather stiff and it was the hard bean bag like pillows. The bathroom was clean but very old. It's not the worst hotel ever but it certainly could use. A renovation or two.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Christina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2013 via mobile

I am staying here for the third time. It is the cheapest and oldest star hotel in central osaka close to the station. It is centrally located and has a shuttle connecting it to the airport. But the property is really old. The lighting is poor. The cleanliness is below par. The breakfast spread is more asian. But still good. Of lack of a better choice I would stay there again.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Razin786
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2013

Accompanied hubby on a business trip--we were excited to return to Osaka, where we met and married and had two kids. So we were especially happy to stay at the Shin Hankyu, as it is just above a great shopping area, and the Hankyu lines were our old stomping grounds for the 14 years we lived there. Now of course we are older and wiser, so we asked for the biggest room they had (we are also fatter).
We had a double deluxe, which was a good sized room. However, perhaps because it was large, they had two chairs with a coffee table, a reclining massage chair, and a large luggage stand, as well as the desk and desk chair and a floor lamp all in the 8' x 10' space not occupied by the bed. Actually, the luggage stand didn't fit there, so it was between the side of the bed and the wall, necessitating a leap into the bed from the foot. We ended up stacking as much as possible on top of each other, so we had room for our bags and to walk. All good.
Bathroom was ok, great water pressure as always, but having to pull the toilet paper through my armpit got tiresome. Having the sink halfway into the shower meant that when the soap bottle (hard plastic) shot out of my hand, it ricocheted around the sink, so it was not hard to retrieve.
Staff was great, dealing with a non-working router immediately and well. Didn't eat there at all, as we wanted to revisit old favorites, but were happy to have the drinks (beer!) vending machine in the hallway and a few convenience stores and bakeries nearby for snacks and coffee.
We like firm beds--this one however felt like a slab of bricks, and we both assumed the other had beaten us with a bat for most of the night. My husband actually had repeated dreams of riding his motorcycle over the cliff and splat landing on the ground.
Seriously, location cannot be beat, but best for young, skinny and athletic folks.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank TawnyaSingapore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2013

Very good location, just in front of Osaka Station; and close to a number of big shopping centres, including the newly developed Grand Front Osaka. There is also a place full of small restaurants nearby. The hotel design is a bit old but services is good. Room is very small however. A disappointment is that the breakfast buffet ends at 9.45am, whilst the quality of the other cafe serving breakfast set is poor. If you drive, it offers special price for the car park nearby.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Adam W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2013

Although most hotels in Japan are small, this one was really tiny. The location, though, was very good and close to everything especially near Kiyoshi sushi which has to be the best sushi in Osaka for the price. The staff was very helpful and accommodating. The triple room was a lot roomier.

Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
3  Thank AdventureBoundNow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Osaka hotels
Osaka Station / Umeda
Hotel New Hankyu Annex
Hotel New Hankyu Annex
#91 of 342 in Osaka
425 reviews
Osaka Station / Umeda
Hotel Granvia Osaka
Hotel Granvia Osaka
#49 of 342 in Osaka
1,483 reviews
Osaka Station / Umeda
Hearton Hotel Nishi Umeda
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Osaka Station / Umeda
Hotel Hankyu International
Osaka Station / Umeda
Hotel Monterey Osaka
Hotel Monterey Osaka
#50 of 342 in Osaka
747 reviews
Osaka Station / Umeda
Umeda OS Hotel
Umeda OS Hotel
#152 of 342 in Osaka
243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel New Hankyu Osaka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel New Hankyu Osaka

Address: 1-1-35 Shibata, Kita-ku, Osaka 530-8310, Osaka Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kinki > Osaka Prefecture > Osaka > Osaka Station / Umeda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #71 of 342 Hotels / Ryokan in Osaka
Price Range: $99 - $302 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel New Hankyu Osaka 3.5*
Number of rooms: 961
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Since we're in a central location right next to a station, our hotel is ideal for both business and leisure. To make your experience with us even better, we have an array of restaurants and bars, festive party rooms, and even a chapel, all in this urban-style hotel. And if you have any special requests, we're always here to answer to them. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Rakuten, Expedia, Booking.com, KNT-CT Holdings Co.,Ltd.(YOKOSO Japan), JAPANiCAN, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Orbitz, Fastbooking, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel New Hankyu Osaka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing