We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent concierge service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Ritz-Carlton, Osaka
Ranked #4 of 322 Hotels / Ryokan in Osaka
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 29, 2014

Very classic Ritz! always nice flower in the lobby! very spacious room! excellent location where we can walk underground to JR Umeda, subway station, fashion buildings.

they have excellent concierge service! We had a fantastic 20+ family trip to Osaka in April! Credited to Akemi Moriwaki of the Concierge, who helped us to make/ change/ cancel reservation at various restaurants. Thank you for booking the tour for us to Yamakazi Distillery too. It was a nice birthday treat to our brother!

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EdithLawKong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rory S, Manager at The Ritz-Carlton, Osaka, responded to this reviewResponded May 24, 2016

Dear EdithLawKong,

Thank you for posting your very kind reveiw on TripAdvisor.
We are delighted you enjoyed your stay.

Please do come and see us again soon!
Yours sincerely,

Rory Slater
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,789)
There are newer reviews for The Ritz-Carlton, Osaka
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

453 - 459 of 1,789 reviews

Reviewed April 19, 2014

The hotel is well localized, convenient if you are traveling by train.
As soon as you enter the lobby you are greeted with such a nice fragrance... The common areas, lobby, bar, restaurant are oriental style and beautifull and rich decorated. Service is very good at the reception and concierge. We got good advice for dinner.
Rooms are 5* type very well equipped.
Breakfast is just great.
Great choice.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
1  Thank NAF22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rory S, Manager at The Ritz-Carlton, Osaka, responded to this reviewResponded May 24, 2016

Dear NAF22,

Thank you for posting your very kind reveiw on TripAdvisor.
We are delighted you enjoyed your stay.

Please do come and see us again soon!
Yours sincerely,

Rory Slater
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2014

The hotel is virtually flawless.

The room was large and very comfortable. It was very dark at night and the bed was very comfortable, making it easy to sleep. The shower has awesome water pressure, which can be hard to find in many hotels, especially in Japan in my experience.

The service is absolutely outstanding! The concierge was extremely helpful. I emailed them a couple of weeks prior to my arrival to make dinner reservations. They were even able to find a restaurant that I went to almost a year ago but couldn't remember the name of. And, they made another restaurant recommendation upon arrival that I really enjoyed.

The breakfast buffet is quite good. Everything seems very fresh and there is a wide a selection of foods. One of the best breakfast buffets I've had.

The gym is nice. I only used it once as I had a one-day complementary coupon.

The location is good. It is a 5-10 minute from the Osaka station. And, it is close to the Umeda-Nishi subway station, which a number of subway lines serve. There is also a an express bus service to get to the Kansai International airport just a few minutes from the hotel. And, the lively restaurant district of Umedanichi is about a 5-10 walk away. There is some great people watching in the evening there.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank skline2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rory S, Manager at The Ritz-Carlton, Osaka, responded to this reviewResponded May 24, 2016

Dear skline2,

Thank you for posting your very kind reveiw on TripAdvisor.
We are delighted you enjoyed your stay.

Please do come and see us again soon!
Yours sincerely,

Rory Slater
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2014

We stayed here for one night last October.
On the positive side, we managed to get an early check in at 8am.... As Ritz Carlton Gold member, we also got upgraded to a corner room.... However, that is all we got! No welcome letter... No amenities in the room.... You have to pay a fee to access the hotel gym's sauna and steam room....
While very clean and functional, we found the room outdated and old fashioned.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank TravellingYan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RCOsaka, General Manager at The Ritz-Carlton, Osaka, responded to this reviewResponded April 21, 2014

Dear TravellingYan sama,

Thank you very much for your kind feedback.
All guests have complimentary access to the exercise room, however, we do charge a fee for use of our sauna and steam room areas.
As a Ritz-Carlton Rewards Gold member, we truly appreciate your loyalty and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Sincerely,

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2014

The Ritz Carlton in Osaka is a great place, with very attentive staff, great rooms and good food. Of course one would expect that from this type of hotel. The location is fine, the Osaka station is a five to ten minutes walk away and so are most underground stations. The room rates are not low but then again not too bad compared to some other properties from the same chain. However there are a few details that should be improved. First the concierge desk. We found the staff there not too knowledgeable about attractions both in Osaka and outside of town like Kyoto. And not everybody on duty had the same English proficiency that you would expect for a function that has that much interaction with guests, which by the way may have given us the impression about their knowledge. Second the selection of TV channels for foreign guests is quite poor. Only a BBC and a CNN news channel in English?. In this day and age ?. Granted one does not expect a complete set but would it be too much to ask to have at least one English movie channel and sport channel ?. For this reason the hotel does not get my perfect score.

Room Tip: Try to get a room a high up as possible. The view at night is spectacular from all sides.
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vinker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2014

Stayed 3 nights in this wonderful hotel in April 2014 and my wife and I were incredibly impressed, and touched, by the level of service and quality at every turn.

The greatest strength of the hotel is its people! The staff are so conscientious and so genuine in their greetings and actions that you always feel spoiled and brilliantly looked after.

If you have access to the 34th floor club lounge you must take advantage of the beautiful views and wonderful drinks and light meals on offer all day. This access allows you to have a less crowded venue for breakfast than the ground floor dining room plus you can have a great sharpener around 6pm before heading downtown for dinner.

The rooms were wonderfully furnished (and had great views from the 32nd floor) and the linens and toiletries (Aspreys) were what you would expect from such a premium yet traditional hotel. Loved having a Nespresso machine in our room and the iPod connection cable was also very useful.

My one gripe (and they can't really doing anything about it!) is that the building itself feels a little staid and old fashioned. The marble floor, wooden paneling, carpets, paintings are all good quality and feel sympathetic to the environs yet they feel from another era. A little Downton Abbey-esque in some ways... But if that's what you like and you want to feel incredibly pampered then this is the place for you.

We'll be back to carry on our love affair with Japan.

Room Tip: The higher the better! Great panoramic views from room 3204.
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ShanghaiDrummo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rory S, Manager at The Ritz-Carlton, Osaka, responded to this reviewResponded May 24, 2016

Dear ShanghaiDrummo,

Thank you for posting your very kind reveiw on TripAdvisor.
We are delighted you enjoyed your stay.

Please do come and see us again soon!
Yours sincerely,

Rory Slater
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2014

The entrance to the Ritz Carlton was the wow factor. The hotel was classic old English style, lots of dark timber panelling.
The rooms on the club lounge level spacious and well appointed. A tv in the bathroom mirror, haven't seen that before.
Hotel is well located to shopping and department stores, which have to be seen to be believed, especially the food courts.

Room Tip: Spoil yourself in the club level, where the club lounge has wonderful facilities and excellent view...
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fvm54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rory S, Manager at The Ritz-Carlton, Osaka, responded to this reviewResponded May 24, 2016

Dear fvm54,

Thank you for posting your very kind reveiw on TripAdvisor.
We are delighted you enjoyed your stay.

Please do come and see us again soon!
Yours sincerely,

Rory Slater
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Osaka hotels
Bay Area / Bentencho / Yodoyabashi / Hommachi / Tanimachi / Kyobashi
The St. Regis Osaka
The St. Regis Osaka
#3 of 322 in Osaka
1,508 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Osaka Station / Umeda
Hilton Osaka
Hilton Osaka
#17 of 322 in Osaka
2,023 reviews
Osaka Station / Umeda
Hotel Granvia Osaka
Hotel Granvia Osaka
#51 of 322 in Osaka
1,437 reviews
Shinsaibashi / Nanba / Tennoji / South Area
Swissotel Nankai Osaka
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ritz-Carlton, Osaka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton, Osaka

Address: 2-5-25 Umeda, Kita-ku, Osaka 530-0001, Osaka Prefecture
Phone Number:
Location: Japan > Kinki > Osaka Prefecture > Osaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Osaka
#3 Spa Hotel in Osaka
#4 Luxury Hotel in Osaka
#5 Family Hotel in Osaka
#5 Romantic Hotel in Osaka
Price Range: $301 - $892 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton, Osaka 5*
Number of rooms: 291
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pass through the Gateway of Western Japan and marvel at ancient traditions that punctuate the ultra-modern landscape that includes one of the city’s most elegant five star hotels in Osaka, Japan. The Ritz-Carlton, Osaka is a downtown hotel situated in the heart of the prestigious Nishi-Umeda business and shopping district and close to its treasured cultural heart. A wide range of amenities and services contribute to a memorable experience, including: •291 guest rooms including 18 Executive Suites, 63 Club rooms, 2 Japanese Suites and 2 Ritz-Carlton Suites •The Club Level, featuring additional bespoke services and locally-inspired amenities in the Club Lounge •More than 26,490 square feet (2,461 square meters) of meeting and conference space •Six fine dining restaurants & bar •Luxury Spa & Fitness •Personalized Weddings ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, JAPANiCAN, Hotels.com, Agoda, Rakuten, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton, Osaka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ritz-Carlton Osaka Hotel Osaka
Osaka Ritz Carlton
Ritz Osaka

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing