We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“perfect, but it could have been anywhere”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
The Ritz-Carlton, Osaka
Ranked #6 of 298 Hotels / Ryokan in Osaka
Certificate of Excellence
Padua, Italy
Level Contributor
38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“perfect, but it could have been anywhere”
Reviewed January 21, 2014

If you're looking for a great (actually a perfect) hotel in Osaka, this one is for you, amazing room, great food (taste the patisserie), very refined service and convenient location, but if you want to feel in Japan you might feel little bit lost here, a bit of local taste more would have added a lot to this place.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rabat2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,612 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,052
    393
    102
    38
    27
See reviews for
428
483
145
303
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2014

The hotel has the old ritz carton country club decor, but the rooms are spacious and very clean. The location near the train station is excellent. Service is great. They did a great job arranging tours, restaurant reservations and transport. Excellent.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wiznut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2014

We stayed over the New Year Holiday & pleasantly surprised on the following. What makes an hotel stay memorable? For me, a clean, service oriented stay that can inform, assist each guest to where, what, they want, etc. On these counts Ritz Carlton Osaka succeeded!

The concierge was excellent!! Each step of the way, they checked with me on things I wanted to get, eat, do... now, that is premium service! For me, the concierge is key to any hotel experience and I worked with them well in advance, with many things & each one gave me all the info, assistance I could ask for, so many thanks to Shoko-san & Momoko-san! Exceptional!

I've been to many R.Carlton's and this one's most definitely lived up to the old-school traditional decor of R.C. classic. The welcome drink was a classic gesture- especially considering it's the holidays. The greeting from Front-desk, Asst. Front Desk Manager was very nice- set the tone for the welcome. Also, both Momoko and Shoko also came to say "hello" how welcoming we felt- home-away-from-home. Impressed us greatly.

The room is one of the most spacious in Japan, besides maybe the Park Hyatt in Tokyo- it's really large- which is rare in Japan. I enjoyed the double sinks as convenient for couple and spacious bathroom.

We were so fortunate, as everything went smoothly and warm hospitable service that R.C. is known for. Also, we were so impressed with the hotel arranging special event for New Year for guests to enjoy! They had a lion dance, traditional sake breaking, and other festivities---this made the trip so memorable! This is something that I crave on a trip to experience traditions only that can be seen in Osaka Ritz Carlton! That was wonderful!

Unfortunately we didn't have time to use other restaurants, etc. at hotel because of our short stay- but we hope to next time.

Thank you to R.C. Osaka for such a memorable experience! Your efforts made all the difference.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Monica K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
54 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2013

We stayed at the Ritz Carlton Osaka for 3 nights mid December. Arriving late at night, we took the Airport Limousine Bus no. 5 from Kansai Airport, which dropped us in front of Herbis Osaka a short 40 minutes later. Locating the hotel courtesy phone upon alighting the bus, a transfer car was sent to us within 5 minutes.

The lobby of the Ritz Carlton is beautiful, classy and extremely elegant. Check in was easy and efficient, 10 minutes later we were ensconced in our high floor room which overlooked the Umeda train station. The room was large by Japan standards, very clean and comfortable. Bathroom was clean and shower had good water pressure. Separate sinks was an added bonus. Bed was extremely comfortable and afforded a very good nights' sleep. Amenities provided included Nespresso coffee machine and selection of capsules, water kettle and selection of tea bags. Bottles of water were provided daily, and replenished at turn down. Room was quiet despite full occupancy, we were given our request for a room away from the elevators.

Location wise, it's a stones throw from the Osaka/Umeda train stations. Extremely convenient to get around. There is a direct connection from the hotel to the underground passageway which leads directly to the Stations, where eateries, restaurants and shopping options fairly boggle the mind. For that reason, there was no necessity and hence did not have breakfast at the hotel.

Service was indeed top notch, in particular the concierge. I was in constant communication with the concierge weeks before our arrival, arranging for restaurant bookings and bookings for various activities in Osaka, including a visit to the Yamasaki distillery. Emails were answered within the hour, and always with very useful alternatives or options. Reservations for popular restaurants were made effortlessly. Upon our arrival at the hotel, the concierge had an envelope with all confirmed bookings and relevant information, ready and waiting for us.

The professionalism and service standards of the Ritz Carlton clearly shines through and provided us with a smooth and trouble-free visit to Osaka. We will return when our travels take us to Osaka again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WYMC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
114 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 360 helpful votes
Reviewed December 13, 2013

I stayed at the Ritz Osaka in October, paid for a club level suite, the views were incredible, but that's where everything ends... so, let's start with a few things.

Failure #1. I'm in the hotel business, so when I arrived I gave my card to the front desk and also asked for the contact information for the General Manager, and asked the front desk to have him/her contact me. I think when spending a lot of money per night you should be able to communicate with a General Manager directly, and when you ask for them to contact you, they should contact you. This isn't a large hotel by any means, let's keep that in mind.

Failures number 2 through number 25. This hotel is DIRTY. Where do I begin?
* The carpeting is clean in the middle of the rooms, but the edges are so disgustingly dirty and unsanitary that they're black. This is an indication that the foam pad underneath the carpet in the entire room is also very dirty, and probably has black mold growing in it.
* There's a tissue box next to the bed - this is an absolutely unacceptable place for a tissue box in a hotel - men usually like this because they can reach over (I won't say why). The tissue box had two different bodily fluids on it... and was never cleaned the three nights/four days that we were in the room.
* I always check glassware, and rarely use it. Being in the business, I know that housekeepers usually clean the tub/shower, then the toilet, then the sink, then the counters and glassware. Even if they use different brushes, they never change their gloves. However, this was more shameful and disgusting. There was lipstick residue still on two of the water glasses, showing that they were barely cleaned, perhaps only rinsed out. So, I went around the room and used my own lip balm and put a pearl-sized dot under every glass, every coffee cup, every tea cup, on the "on" button for the remote control for the TV, on the "on" button for the phone, and on the pen. Not once were these pearl-size pieces of lip balm discovered or cleaned. This should be a violation of local sanitation laws, and is disrespectful to my health.
* There was hair in my shower... not just one small hair but three hairs from 10cm to 20cm in length. I left them in place, and they were never removed from the shower over three nights and four days of our stay at the hotel.
* Service however was excellent... especially with the club level access. However, the food on the club level does not even come close to meeting expectations. Some seems like it came from a 7-Eleven, and some looks very beautiful, but I really expected a lot more, especially since this is Japan. The seating on the club level needs to be reconfigured... there are windows with fantastic views, but they're blocked by large tables with only 4 seats. I would place a lot of small 2-seat tables near the windows and the larger tables away from the windows. This would result in more people feeling happy because they get to enjoy the view. The people who need 4 seats probably keep themselves occupied with conversation with 4 people instead of looking at the view.

I continued to ask for the General Manager, and for the 3 nights and 4 days that we were at the Ritz Carlton Osaka, was never provided with his/her contact information, and was never contacted by him/her. Not once. For Japan, this is incredibly disrespectful and shameful. While our room was "cleaned" and turned down twice per day, not once did the dirty items get cleaned. Not the blood or semen on the tissue box by the bed. Not the telephone. Not the remote control. Not the glassware. Not the hair in the shower. And I wasn't once rude about it... I was asking in a polite manner, very friendly.

The first thing about service with a very, very expensive hotel room in a small hotel is that you should be able to contact the General Manager to get problems resolved. Two months later, I have not been contacted... and have sent several emails to the hotel. However, when staying in a hotel run by a giant corporation, they make it impossible to directly contact someone. Impossible. On the hotel's website, you should have direct contact information for important staff members.

So, I ended up disputing only half of my charges... I know I used the hotel room, so I thought I'd dispute half the charges as this would be appropriate compensation for my experience. When I disputed half of the charges, and gave my reasoning, I still never received contact from the hotel, but the hotel fought my dispute, and won, so I ended up paying for 100% of my charges.

It will now be interesting to see how the hotel responds to this review... will they finally take a moment out of their day to address this review? If they do, this will be an indication that they're more interested in maintaining their image so that they can make money than actually taking care of a guest during - and after - their visit.

I understand that not everything can be perfect all the time, but we are talking about sanitation and health in this situation. With sanitation and health, everything should be perfect and should be corrected immediately. I should never have to point out hair, blood, semen, or unwashed glasses that I put my lips and mouth on, or phones, or remote controls.

I rarely give anyone a 1-star review for anything - but this was just a combination of a lack of concern or respect for my health - and a lack of communication when I probably asked to communicate with the General Manager three to four times per day during my stay. That is unacceptable, it is disrespectful to me, and very shameful. When spending this much money, everything should be perfect.

Room Tip: Inspect your room very carefully for cleanliness. All of the rooms have a great view. Don't sp...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
32 Thank Ben B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
319 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
Reviewed December 10, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here while visiting Osaka, it's easy to reach it fr kansai, just take bus 5 to herbis Osaka and call them to pick you up from the tel at the bus stop, otherwise it's only a short walk to the hotel, room is spacious and well appointed, service is good, staff is responsive to queries and requests, a good place to stay in Osaka. Location is good, only a short distance from Osaka station.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank philiplk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
92 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
Reviewed December 8, 2013

We arrived on Nov 2, the first day of a long weekend in Japan. The hotel was very full so we took a Junior Suite.
Room: The room was elegant and amenities were luxurious, needless to elaborate. Nevertheless, I was amused when I spotted the plastic garbage bin in the bathroom - it matched exactly with the marble tiles of the entire bathroom.
Access: We took the limousine bus from the airport and got off at Herbis plaza/hotel. Ritz is a few mins walk from there. There's a small directional sign which points you to the hotel.
Location: It's within 10-15 mins walk to JR Osaka station/subway line. A much faster way (which all the locals take) to get to/from the osaka station is via the underground passageway (ask the hotel for details) where you can bypass all the traffic lights. However it's a horrendous maze down there, try it if you want to challenge yourself. There are big nice shopping malls and lots of restaurants around the station.
Staff: Very polite staff. Very impressed with a bell staff Nishikawa-San, she was so friendly and energetic.
Concierge: The young gentleman at the concierge desk on the evening of Nov 2 was very cheery and extremely helpful. The lady staff who helped us in the subsequent days did not seem to be as enthusiastic.
We love the hotel but the Ritz is probably too classy and elegant for the casual travelers. We noticed that all the Japanese guests (including those sitting around in the lobby area) were very well dressed, to say the least. In fact, they all looked like they were going to a high society banquet. We will definitely return but will make sure we bring along our best clothes next time.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TPHK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Osaka hotels
Bay Area / Bentencho / Yodoyabashi / Hommachi / Tanimachi / Kyobashi
The St. Regis Osaka
The St. Regis Osaka
#4 of 298 in Osaka
1,367 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Osaka Station / Umeda
Hilton Osaka
Hilton Osaka
#17 of 298 in Osaka
1,833 reviews
Shinsaibashi / Nanba / Tennoji / South Area
Swissotel Nankai Osaka
Osaka Station / Umeda
Hotel Hankyu International
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ritz-Carlton, Osaka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton, Osaka

Property: The Ritz-Carlton, Osaka
Address: 2-5-25 Umeda, Kita-ku, Osaka 530-0001, Osaka Prefecture
Phone Number:
Location: Japan > Kinki > Osaka Prefecture > Osaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Osaka
#3 Spa Hotel in Osaka
#5 Family Hotel in Osaka
#5 Luxury Hotel in Osaka
#5 Romantic Hotel in Osaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton, Osaka 5*
Number of rooms: 292
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Explore Japanese culture, history and modern delights at one of the premier Osaka hotels. Just a short drive from the historic cities of Kyoto and Nara, The Ritz-Carlton, Osaka is located in the prestigious business and shopping district of Nishi-Umeda , where guests can indulge in boutique shopping, sophisticated dining and the ancient sights of the city. Featuring the look and feel of 18th century English nobleman's Georgian home, this distinctive Osaka hotel features a 450-piece art and antique collection, a fitness center, elegant event space and one of the largest guest rooms in Japan. •292 Guest rooms including 18 Executive Suites, 64 Ritz-Carlton Club rooms and suites, two Japanese Suites and two Ritz-Carlton Suites •La Baie - Light, creative, contemporary and traditional French delicacies •More than 26,490 square feet (2,461 square meters) of meeting and conference space ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Rakuten, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Jetsetter and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton, Osaka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ritz-Carlton Osaka Hotel Osaka
Osaka Ritz Carlton
Ritz Osaka

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing