We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Utterly comfortable”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Ritz-Carlton, Osaka
Ranked #4 of 333 Hotels / Ryokan in Osaka
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 5, 2012

Utter comfort, good location, brilliant service at this wonderful hotel.
Classic views over the futuristic landscape of Osaka.
The pool is excellent and comes equipped with pool floats and kickboards, which is a nice touch. There's also a good spa complete with sauna and hot and cold baths - if you take a locker they will charge you 1000yen for the pleasure of accessing the spa - but otherwise it seems you can use them for free as a hotel guest.
Underneath is a convenient food plaza - we had one great Italian meal and one moderate Indian one (we ate our Japanese food elsewhere in Osaka).
One of the days we stayed there was a typhoon - thanks to the subterranean walkways and shopping centre, we were still able to enjoy a full day of checking out Japanese shops without getting soaking wet.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JulietBeijing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,830)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

568 - 574 of 1,830 reviews

Reviewed October 3, 2012

Good, clean hotel, with kind and helpful staff.
They did not do anything extraordinary to make this anything super special.
Location is OK, with underground access to Osaka-Station.

Value was not great and it just did not feel like a top notch hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pattoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2012 via mobile

Only a short trip on te bullet train from Tokyo, Osaka seems very different. More traditional but in positive ways. A city full of brilliant bra and restaurants. Huge fans of Whisky, making this perfect for me. Stopping at Bar K and Bar Hiramatsu.
The Carlton here has brilliant service and wonderful staff. This made our trip to Osaka even more special. A brilliant place to say, will be going back soon!

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Daryl H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2012

I stayed at this hotel last December and now is a good time for a review if anyone is considering a December booking. This hotel is all about the show. They have many international visitors and local celebrations. I thoroughly enjoyed my stay and have included some holiday shots.

Of note and not yet mentioned is the bar area, the swimming pool/fitness area and the breakfast buffet. One could live in the bar. Top notch drinks and small plates with an emphasis on service. The pool and fitness area is well equipped and calming. The breakfast buffet is one of the best I have had in the world.

It is a bit of a walk to the trains, but mostly underground access.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gaume01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2012

Grand decor and helpful concierge - gave good recommendations for shopping, restaurant and nightlife. It is a bit of a walk from the nearest station but nonetheless very easy to walk to from it. To get to the heart of Osaka takes about 20minutes (including walk) via the train.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank NRS_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2012

I stayed in the hotel to celebrate my wife's birthday in Feb.

The hotel is located in the city center and not new anymore. But the design inside the lobby is grand and elegant. There is a fire stove in one corner where a big flower case is standing on a marble table. Although the room is not very big, the housekeeping is good and detail.

The service standard is amazing. As I can't find the underground railway entrance, I have to asked the concierge captain, The captain not only show me the way but leading me through the lift down to the basement and passing through the garden about five minutes walking distance. My wife and I were both surprising with the incredible service.

The catering facilities there are also wonderful including the coffee shop, wine bar & etc.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank davidkcm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2012

High quality hotel options may be limited in Osaka, but this one is nonetheless best avoided. Best suited for over 60s who are likely to feel at home with the decor. Location by the train station isn't great either.

Staff are helpful, the service overall is ok...but it just feels like you are staying in your rich aunts spare room. In desperate need of a makeover.

Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
2  Thank TheGlobalFinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Osaka hotels
Bay Area / Bentencho / Yodoyabashi / Hommachi / Tanimachi / Kyobashi
The St. Regis Osaka
The St. Regis Osaka
#3 of 333 in Osaka
1,529 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Osaka Station / Umeda
Hotel Granvia Osaka
Hotel Granvia Osaka
#51 of 333 in Osaka
1,457 reviews
Osaka Station / Umeda
Hilton Osaka
Hilton Osaka
#18 of 333 in Osaka
2,050 reviews
Osaka Station / Umeda
The Westin Osaka
The Westin Osaka
#14 of 333 in Osaka
1,216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ritz-Carlton, Osaka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton, Osaka

Address: 2-5-25 Umeda, Kita-ku, Osaka 530-0001, Osaka Prefecture
Phone Number:
Location: Japan > Kinki > Osaka Prefecture > Osaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Osaka
#3 Spa Hotel in Osaka
#4 Luxury Hotel in Osaka
#5 Family Hotel in Osaka
#5 Romantic Hotel in Osaka
Price Range: $285 - $847 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton, Osaka 5*
Number of rooms: 291
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pass through the Gateway of Western Japan and marvel at ancient traditions that punctuate the ultra-modern landscape that includes one of the city’s most elegant five star hotels in Osaka, Japan. The Ritz-Carlton, Osaka is a downtown hotel situated in the heart of the prestigious Nishi-Umeda business and shopping district and close to its treasured cultural heart. A wide range of amenities and services contribute to a memorable experience, including: •291 guest rooms including 18 Executive Suites, 63 Club rooms, 2 Japanese Suites and 2 Ritz-Carlton Suites •The Club Level, featuring additional bespoke services and locally-inspired amenities in the Club Lounge •More than 26,490 square feet (2,461 square meters) of meeting and conference space •Six fine dining restaurants & bar •Luxury Spa & Fitness •Personalized Weddings ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Marriott, Orbitz, JAPANiCAN, Agoda, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Rakuten, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton, Osaka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ritz-Carlton Osaka Hotel Osaka
Osaka Ritz Carlton
Ritz Osaka

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing