We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Incredible Luxury”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Ritz-Carlton, Osaka
Ranked #5 of 303 Hotels / Ryokan in Osaka
Certificate of Excellence
Georgia
Level Contributor
192 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 293 helpful votes
“Incredible Luxury”
Reviewed October 22, 2011

Wow, I loved the Ritz Carlton Osaka. Prior to my trip to Japan, I had stressed over my decision to choose the Ritz Carlton over the new St. Regis. I couldn't have been more pleased with my choice to stay at the Ritz Carlton. My reasoning: Beautiful hotel, luxurious rooms, and large selection of shops and restaurants very close to the hotel.

The property was absolutely beautiful. The rooms were luxurious. I've stayed in many great hotels and this is a new one on my list. Was it over the top? Yes. Was it very European? Yes. Would you stay there again? Absolutely. You could tell that the locals loved the hotel too.

The hotel is very close to Osaka Station. Also, I loved all of the underground shopping malls adjacent to the hotel. By the hotel, there were many restaurants and shopping opportunities. Several high-end department stores were accessible via the underground mall; my favorite department store was Isetan.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Luxury1Georgia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,655 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,081
    403
    105
    39
    27
See reviews for
439
501
149
309
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
dubai
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2011

The Ritz Osaka was the first stop on our honeymoon. We had booked in to a club room for the duration of our 4 night stay but received an upgrade to a junior suite at check in.

Service was impeccable, particular the staff manning the club room. They went above and beyond on several occasions - from arranging hard to find bunruku tickets to helping us locate a geisha make-over boutique in Kyoto, as well as providing excellent amenities in the fantastic club lounge.

We couldn't have asked for a better start to our trip!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DXBDan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed September 5, 2011

We travelled to osaka in Aug and we stayed at Ritz Carlton for three nights. We enjoy our stay there. We were given access to the club floor and we love the service they provided. The staff were all very helpful. After we went back home we discovered we lost a shirt. We immediately emailed the hotel to see if they saw it and even picked it up. They replied us immediately saying they got the shirt and arranged to send it back to us! We couldn't ask for more and we will definitely stay in Ritz Carlton if we travel to Osaka again!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank byiu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level Contributor
110 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2011

This is a Ritz Carlton after all - so you expect more. Don't go there if you want a local or modern twist - this is "good old fashioned Europe" and could be anywhere. Rooms are big (for Japan) - double sink in Bathroom and separate toilet. Spacious room with desk and separate coffee table. All mod cons (even electric curtains). Very well maintained.
Now to the minus: Room key - I don't know when I last had one of those. (heavy bulky etc). Room service - for a five star hotel? well... stacking of tea station incomplete on more than one occasion (over a two week stay). Rubbish not cleared away although they have turn down service. On a positive note - there is no coffee in the complimentary tray at the tea station. I asked for instant coffee the first day and got filter! - and it was there every day till check out. (just a pitty they forgot to restock the sugar a couple of times). Having a room key also means that you need a voucher for the gym and pool. (which you get back and have to keep after each use... now where did I leave this piece of paper?) Gym and Pool are brilliant - I especially liked the outdoor hot tub. Considering this is a 5 star hotel it is amazing it does not have an international ATM. I was sent by the concierge three blocks to a Seven 11 (in the rain). The Hotel Bar must have been the most boring one I have ever been to. Absolutely no atmosphere. Location is good - connection to subway directly via underground passage (a bit confusing first time). Hanshin (? spelling) food market very close by and amazing. Staff overall very friendly and well .. 5 star. Last thing to note for the business traveller - amazingly you can use Japan KDD for toll free calls from the Hotel. Downside - Internet is not included in room rate. (and as everything in Japan expensive).

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank grantig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level Contributor
55 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2011

We stayed at Ritz-Carlton hotels in the past so on our way to Ritz-Carlton Osaka we were pretty comfortable in our thoughts of what to expect. We were completely wrong. Checking-in took more than 40 minutes waiting in line and then another 20 minutes before we got the keys. While waiting in line, everyone who worked in the hotel went out of their way to pretend there was no line and did everything possible to ignore guests who were getting anxious and visibly agitated by a long wait. There seemed to be a lot of staff just walking around, making no eye contact with anyone, yet the line moved ever so slowly that just drove all guests mad.

Fast forward...we got the keys. Walked to elevators, waited literally about 15 minutes to get an elevator thinking that we would never make it to the room. Finally made it to the room and another disappointment - room is nothing what you would expect from Ritz-Carlton brand or what you see on their website. Room looked pretty old and dated and smelled as if someone just cleaned it with bleach. Carpet looked old and dirty, I wouldn't even walk bare feet on it. Not quite inviting. No great view from the room either except for old buildings on the opposite site of the hotel.

Also, please note that if you are in Japan for travel and really would like to experience authentic Japanese hospitality and Japanese culture, this hotel does not resemble anything Japanese at all. Once inside the hotel you would have no idea that you are in Japan, the hotel looks a lot like if you are somewhere in Europe.

In summary, it was quite a disappointing choice for a hotel. We traveled a lot in Japan and have seen amazing service, welcoming staff and beautiful hotels with a true touch of Japanese culture. None of that in Ritz-Carlton Osaka.

Room Tip: Do not pay for Deluxe room as they look pretty much identical to Superior, yet cost much more.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kismika
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wye, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2011

Stayed here on business - its a lovely hotel in a great location in Osaka. It was easy to get to the station etc once I had figured out the underground passages. The swimming pool was nice but could be busy at times. Its a shame that it is an additional charge to use sauna/ steam room - I would expect this to be included in the room rate. Overall it is excellent here.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bee103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
136 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 331 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2011

Stayed here in on a flying 2 day visit to Osaka and was not disappointed. The rooms are plush and contain everything you could want. What's exceptional, even for Japan hospitality and hotel industry, was the service skills of the hotel staff. Discrete, sincere and most welcoming. Simply outstanding.

Hotel is in good location for a short visit with restaurants, banks and shopping all within easy reach. Made my life so very easy compared to elsewhere.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ellysian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Osaka hotels
Bay Area / Bentencho / Yodoyabashi / Hommachi / Tanimachi / Kyobashi
The St. Regis Osaka
The St. Regis Osaka
#3 of 303 in Osaka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Osaka Station / Umeda
Hilton Osaka
Hilton Osaka
#17 of 303 in Osaka
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,883 reviews
Shinsaibashi / Nanba / Tennoji / South Area
Swissotel Nankai Osaka
Osaka Station / Umeda
Hotel Hankyu International
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ritz-Carlton, Osaka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton, Osaka

Property: The Ritz-Carlton, Osaka
Address: 2-5-25 Umeda, Kita-ku, Osaka 530-0001, Osaka Prefecture
Phone Number:
Location: Japan > Kinki > Osaka Prefecture > Osaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Osaka
#3 Business Hotel in Osaka
#5 Romantic Hotel in Osaka
#5 Family Hotel in Osaka
#5 Luxury Hotel in Osaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton, Osaka 5*
Number of rooms: 292
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Explore Japanese culture, history and modern delights at one of the premier Osaka hotels. Just a short drive from the historic cities of Kyoto and Nara, The Ritz-Carlton, Osaka is located in the prestigious business and shopping district of Nishi-Umeda , where guests can indulge in boutique shopping, sophisticated dining and the ancient sights of the city. Featuring the look and feel of 18th century English nobleman's Georgian home, this distinctive Osaka hotel features a 450-piece art and antique collection, a fitness center, elegant event space and one of the largest guest rooms in Japan. •292 Guest rooms including 18 Executive Suites, 64 Ritz-Carlton Club rooms and suites, two Japanese Suites and two Ritz-Carlton Suites •La Baie - Light, creative, contemporary and traditional French delicacies •More than 26,490 square feet (2,461 square meters) of meeting and conference space ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Marriott, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Rakuten, Agoda, Cancelon, Ctrip TA, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton, Osaka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ritz-Carlton Osaka Hotel Osaka
Osaka Ritz Carlton
Ritz Osaka

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing