We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent service, spacious room”
Review of The Westin Osaka

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Westin Osaka
Ranked #17 of 316 Hotels / Ryokan in Osaka
Certificate of Excellence
Tokyo, Japan
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Excellent service, spacious room”
Reviewed October 23, 2012 via mobile

We enjoyed our stay. The service was excellent as reviewed. Room was more spacious than what I would expect in Japan. Hotel policies are the same as others in Japan, it seems - pricey in-room wifi, gym and pool access, restaurants and coffee places, etc. The hotel provides free shuttle bus to/from Osaka station every 15min so it was very convenient. It's located a few-minute walk from Umeda building and about 10min walk from Umeda station.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trang P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExperienceTeam, フロント オフィス マネージャー at The Westin Osaka, responded to this review, October 28, 2012
Thank you for the feedback. We are very glad to hear that you had a comfortable stay with us.
We look forward to serving you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,170 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    445
    508
    158
    36
    23
See reviews for
344
277
121
229
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Level 5 Contributor
97 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2012

The thing with Japan is you always have sky high expectations with everything: service, food, facilities. You're speechless with the beauty, the grace and the harmony of everything you see and experience... Until you get to need wi-fi in the lobby of your hotel and you realize they don't have such thing. Or you want to use the gym and then you're told it cost you a bunch of your hardly earned yens. Or let's say you need to sit in the cafe for a couple of minutes because the seats in the lobby are taken and you need a quick rest before taking your taxi to the airport and then the staff tells you you're not allowed to sit there if you're not consuming something. Big let down.

I understand that is the hotel policy, which is sad since other Westins in the region are far more generous with those little details... But on the bright side, the people in the front desk and in the concierge are simply fabulous, always ready to help and organize your exploration of the town. They even will give you their own medicine for a headache if you don't feel like moving to the pharmacy. People from Japan are awesome. Some hotels, aren't so much.

Room Tip: Get a suite with view to Umeda.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank julesher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExperienceTeam, フロント オフィス マネージャー at The Westin Osaka, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
Thank you for the feedback.
In response to many guest's requests for internet enviroment,
we have now begun offering internet access service at lobby area from October.
You can access the internet for free.
We will make effort to meet your request to the extent that we can.
We are looking forward to seeing you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2012

Despite the very friendly employees at this hotel, this was a rather disappointing stay!
The hotel is old, dated and has some very strong downsides. The breakfast was one of the worst hotel breakfasts I have ever seen. For USD 38 a very poor selection with poor taste. There is no wireless internet and they charge USD 13 for wired internet access. the air condition was set at 25C and could not be turned lower! Worst of all, hotel guests are being charged USD 52 per entry to use the gym and pool. This is truly outrageous!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank captainkirk1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExperienceTeam, フロント オフィス マネージャー at The Westin Osaka, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
Thank you fo your feedback.
We are very sorry to hear that you did not have comfortable stay with us.
As you pointed out, our guestrooms are getting old so that rooms are being refurbished.
WiFi was also implemented to lobby area.
we look forward to serving you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2012

I stayed there and checked in very late and all my interactions with the staff: front desk, concierge, house keeping were very friendly, Particularly the concierge staff, Nishishita, that helped me find a late night ramen place to grab a bite to eat. The female staff during the mornings at the desk were also very friendly in helping me with the large amount of luggage I had and putting it away onto the complimentary shuttle bus to the train station. It was in all a very nice experience.

The rooms are huge too and with fantastic thick curtains so you won't know it is daylight outside at all. Which actually meant I overslept but with the beds being so comfortable, that is bound to happen.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExperienceTeam, フロント オフィス マネージャー at The Westin Osaka, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
Thank you for your feedback.
We are very glad to hear that you had a comfortable stay with us. How was ramen taste?
Nishishita, who helped you to find the ramen place, was also happy with your comment.
We lool forward to serving you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2012

I stayed at the Westin in September of 2012 for business and was very disappointed with my room. My biggest complaint about the rooms was the AC. I know that Japan gets hot but it is unreasonable that the rooms don't get below 24C and that you need to keep the blinds closed for the AC to work The wireless internet signal was very weak and my room needed a booster which the hotel tried to charge for. I would recommend that business travelers look elsewhere to avoid these hassles.

On the plus side, the hotel offers a shuttle to the Osaka station which is very convenient. If you are looking to go to Namba, the cab is about 2,500 JPY. Also, the lobby of the hotel is beautiful and a nice place to meet for a drink.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scott1734
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExperienceTeam, フロント オフィス マネージャー at The Westin Osaka, responded to this review, September 28, 2012
Thank you for the feedback.
We would like to say how sorry we were that you were not satisfied with our service.
As you pointed out, summer sunshine is so strong that it takes timeto cool guestrooms by air conditioner.
In regard to internet environment, WiFi will be implemented by near future.
We will continue trying to do our best todeliver better sevice.
We are looking forward to serving you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2012

Staying in this hotel for one night on my way home to Hong Kong. The hotel was situated close to Osaka Station. Hotel run frequent shuttle bus service to and from Osaka Station, very convenient. Hotel decor is okay with a bit old. Room assigned on 8/fl, quite spacious with store shower. Big size consider in Japan. which most of the hotel is having very tiny room. i booked through Booking.com at US$200.00 for one night which breakfast is not included. Breakfast cost me US$90 for two person. not much variety compared to the price they charged. Generally, staff is very courteous and very helpful. One little hic up is I asked for a late check out to 1pm at the Front Desk and was arranged. But, when i returned from shopping at 12:30pm. The room was being lock-out by Housekeeping already. Obviously, communication was broke down between departments. All in all, pretty nice hotel to stay in Osaka.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carman C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExperienceTeam, フロント オフィス マネージャー at The Westin Osaka, responded to this review, September 20, 2012
Thank you for the feedback.
We are glad to receive the compliment from you. However, we are very sorry to find out that your room was already locked out when you returned to the room. We take necessary measures to insure scuh things do not happen in the future.
We look forward to assisting you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level 6 Contributor
37 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2012

So this was our 2nd hotel in Osaka.
Having my friend who worked in Starwood group, i managed to get a good deal for two nights. The rate was very reasonable for Westin Hotel.
Having seen other Westin hotels in Beijing, I found this property had similar feeling: value for money but location may not be the best, guess it had to differentiate from other Starwood brands.
After checking out from previous hotel, we managed to catch the free shuttle from Osaka station to Westin Hotel. It was right next to the famous tower with observation deck (though we didn't have time to go up at the end...)
Since it was quite early in the morning, we just left our luggage at the concierge.
After a whole day out, we missed the last bus back to the hotel. Unfortunately we had to walk a long way back, which took us more than 15 min with a tired body. Not sure if it was too late already, the overnight staff was not really friendly upon check in.
The room itself was surprising big! As a gesture for our annversary, the hotel put some greeting words on the window, though it was quite hard to see.
What I like the hotel was the natural light in the lobby and room with sunshine through the window.
However, with much interaction with the staff there, I did not have much comment on service in this hotel.
May consider to return with its rate offer.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dabawing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExperienceTeam, フロント オフィス マネージャー at The Westin Osaka, responded to this review, September 5, 2012
Thank you for the feedback.
We hope you enjoyed your stay at The Westin Osaka. Yes, The Westin Osaka is slightly separated from Osaka Station so that let you get away from the noise and clamor of daily life. The famous tower adjacent to our hotel is Umeda Sky Building. The skyscraper is 173meters high. When go out onto Sky Walk at the very top of the tower, you can feel the fresh air and enjoy 360-degree panoramic views. we look forward to serving you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Osaka hotels
Osaka Station / Umeda
Hilton Osaka
Hilton Osaka
#18 of 316 in Osaka
1,982 reviews
Osaka Station / Umeda
Hotel Granvia Osaka
Hotel Granvia Osaka
#51 of 316 in Osaka
1,421 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Osaka Station / Umeda
Hotel Hankyu International
Shinsaibashi / Nanba / Tennoji / South Area
Swissotel Nankai Osaka
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Osaka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Osaka

Property: The Westin Osaka
Address: 1-1-20 Oyodonaka, Kita-ku, Osaka 531-0076, Osaka Prefecture
Phone Number:
Location: Japan > Kinki > Osaka Prefecture > Osaka > Osaka Station / Umeda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Osaka
#12 Luxury Hotel in Osaka
#16 Family Hotel in Osaka
#27 Business Hotel in Osaka
#30 Romantic Hotel in Osaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Osaka 4*
Number of rooms: 303
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, JAPANiCAN, Hotwire, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, KNT-CT Holdings Co.,Ltd.(YOKOSO Japan), Rakuten, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Westin Osaka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Osaka Hotel Osaka
Westin Osaka
Osaka Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing