We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Service/Location Highlight This Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Swissotel Nankai Osaka
Ranked #9 of 342 Hotels / Ryokan in Osaka
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 6, 2009

The rooms(classic room) are a little on the small side but adequate. Bathrooms are also a little on the tight side with enough room no more than one person, but do include the faboluos high tech Japanese toilets(heated seats, push button bidet, etc). Rooms are equipped with nice flat screen tv's, ample and fairly priced mini bar, flashlights for emergencies(which was odd to me but I guess with frequent earthquakes it's just a saftey measure), in room safe, nice toiletries(toothbrushes, razors, combs), pajamas. Carpet was very worn for a hotel in this class and beds were small and way beyond firm for my taste(enocountered this before in Asian hotels, no big deal). Pillows were nice and fluffy. The location steals the show at this place. Located within walking distance to too many restaurants, bars, 24 hour convenience stores and other shopping/entertainment options to mention in Namba and Dontombori. Other side of the hotel features a touristy mall(Namba Parks) and a far less touristy electronic distric. Being a rather large building(with huge Swissotel sign) makes it easy to find even when you get lost on the back streets an alleyways of Namba. As every review has said it's located at the end of the line for the Kansai Airport train, but it also sits atop numerous subway lines which make it conveniet for exploring all of Osaka. The Midosuji line is particularly useful when doing day trips to Kyoto as you take a short ride to Umeda than on to the Kyoto line(about 50 minutes total traveling time). Midosuji as stops at Shin Osaka for all shinkansen(bullet train) accesible cities. We used it for a day trip to Hiroshima/Miyajima and for our departure to Tokyo(staff have pre-printed notes on what tickets to buy abd what stops to take for these days trips at the luggage counter). The staff is amazingly helpful and bended over backwards for all our needs and questions. The restaurants in the hotel seemed unreasonably pricey but looked very good, with so many cheap(not to mention as good or better than the hotel) options i the area I was never even tempted to eat there. Bar/lounge closes very early, 9:30 on the weekdays and like 10:00 on weekends. Overall, I'd highly, highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SHFT54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,372)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,080 - 2,086 of 3,372 reviews

Reviewed April 27, 2009

It was my second trip to Osaka in 6 months. But the first time that we are attempting to travel all girls with 1 kid and 1 toddler in tow. Gosh... you may say...

On arrival, it was easy to get to the train station. The friendly porter was expecting us at the Namba train platform to assist with our luggage. You can imagine the relief on our face that we do not have to lug our luggage to the hotel lobby.

We were allocated the Swiss Advantage Rooms on level 27. The hotel has kindly arranged for nice connecting rooms for us. The beds were gigantic! Yes, that's the word. 2 adults and 1 kid fit comfortably on the bed with room for my friend's daughter to kick around. The amenities were well stocked, plus toothbrush, bath sponge and even bedroom slippers for the little ones. We were impressed!

View from the hotel room was spectacular with full view of the city beneath. It was as if we were on the Umeda Observatory all day long. Check out the photos.

Service at the hotel was prompt and efficient. We had a lot of special requests due to the kids travelling with us, such as hot water for their milk, extra towels and pillows. The staff was quick to assist. My gal friend who's quite a cleanliness freak was really amazed at how clean the rooms were everyday. She even realised that the taps were polished and not a strand of hair on the floor.

One of our most memorable experiences was how kids' friendly the hotel staff are. One morning, during breakfast at Cafe Swiss, the little toddler got cranky and started screaming and crying. The waitress at the Cafe actually gave her a lollipop to calm her down. Although, it didn't worked out. Subsequently, she returned with a cute parrot soft toy to pacify the little one.

Getting around to other parts of Osaka was a breeze. Mainly, the hotel is right above Namba Station. Can you imagine that we managed to make our way to Rinku Town, Universal Studios and Umeda via trains and subway with little assistance?

The vibrant Shinsaibaishi-suji street is just 5 minutes walk away. Easy! There were plenty of restaurants and cafes in the vicinity. We did try the Hana Goyomi Japanese Restaurant in Swissotel Nankai Osaka. The food was presented beautifully. Taste was good. But I would say that Shun Kushiage & Wine was better.

Overall, it was a fabulous trip. Though it's tough to travel with kids, all of us enjoyed ourselves tremendously! To top it off, we had good night sleep everyday on the divine beds. Hmm....

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KaylaKoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2009

I stayed at Swissotel in 2007 and I was very impressed with their service, i.e. decided to stay again in April 2009 with three other girlfriends. We are all a bit disappointed by their service this time. When we were there last time, they offered to pick me up at the airport limousine bus stop and a bell boy (girl) would help us with our luggage all the way back to the airport bus stop when we checked out. However, this time when we asked for the same service, they said they could only help us with our lugggae to the street level. One of my friends checked out earlier than us, at 6am, and she was told there was no one available to help her even with luggage to the ground level because it is "too early".

The location is still great with lots of restaurants and shops nearby in the Namba area. Check out Namba park for sure. They have a great curry soup restaurant.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mjqueenCalgary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2009

Great hotel, great location, great service, ffamily friendly, whether you are on bussines or vacation you can not get better place to stay. the staff is knowledgeabale and very helpful and friendly. Higlhly recomend to all travlelers .

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank letexplore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2009

Everyone who has been to this hotel especially an international travel would gaga over its convenient location. You take the nantai express from Kansai and the last station is Namba. The hotel is located right above the station. Namba is the heart of Osaka amidst several bylanes for eating out and shopping. Rooms were pretty convenient and the basic room tariff was affordable at around $ 140. However, if you wanted the breakfast, internet and Gym BIG as they call it then you are set back by further $ 80.
I asked for a nonsmoking room and they gave me a double room as they didn't have single nonsmoking rooms unavailable. The view from the room of the subway and the namba mall in front was breathtaking. I was in complete awe of the hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank sachinmalik3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2009

We stayed two days at the Swissotel Nankai Osaka and enjoyed our time very much.

Arriving early in the morning, we were immediately greeted by a smiling doorman who rushed to relieve us of our baggage. At the reception we were welcomed by the friendly and helpful staff who at once arranged a room to be ready as early as 10am, which we appreciated very much after a long journey, we needed a shower.

The Hotel is located just above the Namba underground station, in the same building as the Takashimaya shopping mall, which is very convenient. Many of the touristic spots are very easy to reach and we got good directions and tips from the Concierge.

The rooms are spacious and clean – something we are particular about and I am happy to say that all was in very good order. We also used the internet access and the speed was fast and we did not encounter any issues.

We tried out one of the six in-house restaurants (Sh’un) and enjoyed the special atmosphere and food. The wine card is just fantastic. We then visited the bar on the top, which offers good drinks, life music and a fantastic view over Osaka.

Overall, we recommend the Swissotel Nankai Osaka to anyone and will definitely go there again if we travel to Osaka.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ViajeraSingapore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ch_Schaufelbuhl, General Manager at Swissotel Nankai Osaka, responded to this reviewResponded April 21, 2009

Dear ViajeraSingapore,

Grüezi and Greetings from Swissôtel Nankai Osaka and Japan!

We are thrilled that you enjoyed everything from the service, the spacious and clean room, the dining experience at Sh’un, to the location of our Hotel. Thank you very much for sharing your experience with all!

We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back with us again during your next trip to Osaka.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2009

Swissotel Nankai is a shinning example of the kind of hospitality you will find in Japan. The staff is friendly but not intruding, helpful, and extremely efficient. There is consistently superior service through out every department in this hotel. The concierge team took the time to tell us about the nearby area and points of interest. The Front Desk was very knowledgeable as well. Excellent food and beverage venues. There was not once incidence during our entire 12 day trip that was not superior to the other hotels I have stayed in. Their maps are very helpful, with concise subway/train directions. My ability to speak Japanese helped a lot, but everyone's English was really good. This hotel really left an impression on us and I can't wait to return in the near future! They really made us feel like we "lived" in another country for 12 days, "There's no place like home" is a cliche, but the Swissotel Nankai experience was phenomenal.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mrsjygines
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ch_Schaufelbuhl, General Manager at Swissotel Nankai Osaka, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2009

Dear Guest,

Greetings from Swissôtel Nankai Osaka!

Taking pride in constantly exceeding the expectations of today’s discerning modern travellers, we are deeply honoured to be of service to you and even more delighted that you left with a good impression of us. Thank you very much for your sharing your comments with those who visit this website.

It leaves us to look forward to welcoming you back to Swissôtel Nankai Osaka, many more times and we will continue to deliver the highest standard of renowned Swiss hospitality.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Osaka hotels
Hotel Nikko Osaka
#22 of 342 in Osaka
1,996 reviews
Shinsaibashi / Nanba / Tennoji / South Area
Cross Hotel Osaka
Cross Hotel Osaka
#10 of 342 in Osaka
1,458 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Osaka Station / Umeda
Hilton Osaka
Hilton Osaka
#19 of 342 in Osaka
2,103 reviews
Shinsaibashi / Nanba / Tennoji / South Area
Hotel Monterey Grasmere Osaka
Shinsaibashi / Nanba / Tennoji / South Area
Holiday Inn Osaka Namba
Holiday Inn Osaka Namba
#25 of 342 in Osaka
828 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swissotel Nankai Osaka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swissotel Nankai Osaka

Address: 5-1-60 Namba, Chuo-ku, Osaka 542-0076, Osaka Prefecture
Phone Number:
Location: Japan > Kinki > Osaka Prefecture > Osaka > Shinsaibashi / Nanba / Tennoji / South Area
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Osaka
#4 Business Hotel in Osaka
#4 Romantic Hotel in Osaka
#7 Luxury Hotel in Osaka
Price Range: $203 - $534 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Swissotel Nankai Osaka 4*
Number of rooms: 546
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Swissotel Nankai Osaka is a five-star luxury hotel ideally located in the heart of Namba, Osaka’s most exciting entertainment, shopping and dining district. The hotel sits above Namba station and is the only Osaka hotel that offers a direct link to Kansai International Airport with the Rapid Express Train taking just 30 minutes door-to-door. The nearby subway serves as a convenient mode of transportation to many of the popular tourist destinations such as Kyoto, the ancient capital of Nara and the picturesque Kobe. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Fairmont Hotels, Agoda, Rakuten, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, JAPANiCAN, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Swissotel Nankai Osaka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swissotel Nankai Osaka Hotel Osaka
Swissotel Nankai Hotel Osaka
Osaka Swissotel Nankai Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing