We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Swissotel Nankai Osaka
Ranked #10 of 353 Hotels / Ryokan in Osaka
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 8, 2014

The location of Swissotel Nankai Osaka is perfect for travellers with a minute walk from the Nankai Namba station (with express train from or to Kansai Airport). In addition, the hotel staff is professional with excellent command of English and politeness. I am satisfied with overall experience staying with the hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Swissotel Hotels & Resorts
Thank dmtleung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ch_Schaufelbuhl, 支配人 at Swissotel Nankai Osaka, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2014

Dear Guest,

Warmest greetings from Swissôtel Nankai, Osaka!

Thank you very much for making Swissôtel Nankai Osaka your home away from home and posting a fantastic review on Trip Advisor. We are very happy to read that our hotel team members were able to politely provide you with excellent services. Since guests' satisfaction is our priority, we are indeed glad to learn our efforts were positively reflected on your staying experience. Please rest assured that we will continuously strive for further guests' comfort through better services and products. We will certainly look forward to serving you again for another exceptional stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,448)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,474 - 1,480 of 3,448 reviews

Reviewed April 8, 2014

Bell Service was exceptional since they bring your luggage up to the Nankai station. Location is very ideal for those taking the train to kansai airport. Overall , facilities were good and the room was very clean.

Ac was not functioning well in our room and it took some time to have it working. Some front team members lower the hotel's overall assessment on their services because we felt they were not happy giving customer service and felt irritated with the usual tourist questions. We were expecting a lot from a hotel such as Swissotel, unfortunately some of their team members did not live up to our expectations.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank redrose1001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ch_Schaufelbuhl, 支配人 at Swissotel Nankai Osaka, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2014

Dear Guest,

Warmest greetings from Swissôtel Nankai, Osaka!

Thank you very much for choosing to stay at our hotel and posting a review on Trip Advisor. We are pleased to learn that our luggage assistance as well as our facilities were satisfactory to you.
On the other hand, we sincerely regret that we had given you a negative impression due to the shortfall in our guest handling at Front desk. Please rest assured that we will surely reinforce the trainings of our employees in order to provide our guests with an attentive, helpful and personalized service at all times. Service is a top priority to us and we are continuously reviewing our service touch points to ensure that our guests are well attended to.
Once again, thank you very much for your valuable feedback. We hope to welcome you back in a not too distant future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2014

It's a gold location! you can easily access to almost anything. Name it: restaurant, subway, JR, shopping district, etc. Room itself is pretty standard, but I like the practical room design. I fits my needs. I like the wash basin to be outside the bath room. The only bad thing is WIFI is not free!!!!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Swissotel Hotels & Resorts
Thank Rudy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ch_Schaufelbuhl, 支配人 at Swissotel Nankai Osaka, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2014

Dear Guest, thank you very much for making Swissôtel Nankai Osaka your home away from home and posting a review on Trip Advisor. We are pleased to read that our convenient location and our room configuration made your stay enjoyable.
In regards to our internet service, please kindly be advised that we offer various room categories and all our Swiss Advantage, Executive and Suite rooms have internet included in the room rate and our guests can enjoy the complimentary Wireless Access in the entire hotel. Especially, our newly renovated Swiss Advantage rooms include all new design with the latest technologies and modern equipments along with complimentary internet wireless access. It would be a great pleasure to welcome you back in these upgraded facilities and please feel free to contact us directly for your next stay. We will make sure to recommend you a room type that fits your needs and preferences.
Thank you very much for your valuable feedback and we are certainly looking forward to welcoming you back for another pleasant stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2014

We were looking for a stress-free place to stay on our last night in Japan that was in an interesting part of town; we could not have picked a better one. A bit difficult to find coming from the subway station, however after some directions and map reading we found it. A bit of pre-reading could have helped here (or better signage). Rooms excellent, food excellent, service excellent.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Swissotel Hotels & Resorts
Thank Stuart B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ch_Schaufelbuhl, 支配人 at Swissotel Nankai Osaka, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2014

Dear Guest,

Warmest greetings from Swissôtel Nankai, Osaka!

Thank you very much for choosing to stay at our hotel and posting an excellent review on Trip Advisor. We are glad to read that you found our rooms, foods and services excellent.
As for the access to our hotel, please kindly be informed that we provide the transportation guides on our official website. Opening our homepage, you will see a word "MAPS & DIRECTIONS" at the end of our mailing and Email address. Once you click "MAPS & DIRECTIONS" to open the next page and scroll down to the middle, you will see our transportation guides in 5 languages (Japanese, English, Chinese, Korean and German). The guide contains pictures to avoid confusion and highlight various points to smoothen the guest arrival experience. We certainly hope this guide will be helpful for your next stay. Thank you very much for your kind feedback and we are sincerely looking forward to welcoming you back for another pleasant stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2014

Overall the hotel is great, location, size of room, service. However, the check in time for this hotel is 3pm, which is a bit late already, but when I checked in on 26th March, the room was not ready till 16.30. The deco of the hotel is old as well, renovations would be needed.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joyna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ch_Schaufelbuhl, 支配人 at Swissotel Nankai Osaka, responded to this reviewResponded April 7, 2014

Dear Guest,

Warmest greetings from Swissôtel Nankai, Osaka!

Thank you very much for making our hotel your home away from home and posting a review on Trip Advisor. We are glad to read that your overall impression toward our hotel is great and that our service and the room size were satisfactory to you.
On the other hand, we have taken note of your comment regarding the waiting time for the room preparation and would like to sincerely apologize for not being able to offer you the room immediately after you arrived. Your comment has been shared among the team and please rest assured that we are working on ways to eliminate waiting time in order to avoid guests' stressful moments.
Thank you very much once again for your valuable feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back in a not too distant future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2014

This hotel is outstanding. Where do we begin?
The location is perfect. Just an easy 30 minute ride from the airport direct to the Namba station. The hotel is right on the rail line and on top of a major subway line. Perfect.
The staff are very friendly and courteous. They were really great with the children (aged 3 and 2).
The room was a great size for the family. Our 3 year old had a pull out bed and they pushed two double sized beds together almost making a king. My wife, our 2 year old and I had plenty of room.
The breakfast is superb with both Japanese and Western dishes available.
I can't recommend this place enough and would stay here again. Look no further.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank iamarugger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ch_Schaufelbuhl, 支配人 at Swissotel Nankai Osaka, responded to this reviewResponded April 7, 2014

Dear Guest,

Warmest greetings from Swissôtel Nankai, Osaka!

Thank you very much for choosing to stay at our hotel and sharing such a fantastic review on Trip Advisor. We are pleased to learn that you and your family enjoyed the stay with us and that our breakfast offerings and the room you stayed were able to meet your expectation. Moreover, we are very happy to read that you found our team members very friendly and courteous. Providing excellent staying experience to our valuable guests is very important to us. We will hence continuously make our best efforts for further guests satisfaction through better services and products. Thank you very much for your kind highlights and we are very much looking forward to serving you and your family for another exceptional stay. 

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2014

Very well located in the middle of shopping centers,next to the main railway station.
Very spacious rooms, clean,excellent service, the breakfast room for the club floor on 36th floor, amazing very generous breakfast buffet.
Very polite and professional staff.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Samia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ch_Schaufelbuhl, 支配人 at Swissotel Nankai Osaka, responded to this reviewResponded April 6, 2014

Dear Guest,

Warmest greetings from Swissôtel Nankai, Osaka!

Thank you very much for making our hotel your home away from home and posting a fantastic review on Trip Advisor. We are very happy to read that our services, breakfast as well as the room you stayed were able to meet your expectation. Since guests' satisfaction is very important to us, we are thrilled to learn that our efforts were positively reflected on your kind review. Thank you very much once again for your valuable feedback and we are very much looking forward to serving you for another exceptional stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Osaka hotels
Shinsaibashi / Nanba / Tennoji / South Area
Cross Hotel Osaka
Cross Hotel Osaka
#11 of 353 in Osaka
1,494 reviews
Hotel Nikko Osaka
#20 of 353 in Osaka
2,035 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Osaka Station / Umeda
Hilton Osaka
Hilton Osaka
#19 of 353 in Osaka
2,164 reviews
Osaka Station / Umeda
Hotel Granvia Osaka
Hotel Granvia Osaka
#46 of 353 in Osaka
1,519 reviews
Shinsaibashi / Nanba / Tennoji / South Area
Hotel Monterey Grasmere Osaka
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swissotel Nankai Osaka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swissotel Nankai Osaka

Address: 5-1-60 Namba, Chuo-ku, Osaka 542-0076, Osaka Prefecture
Phone Number:
Location: Japan > Kinki > Osaka Prefecture > Osaka > Shinsaibashi / Nanba / Tennoji / South Area
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Osaka
#4 Business Hotel in Osaka
#4 Romantic Hotel in Osaka
#8 Luxury Hotel in Osaka
Price Range: $191 - $549 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Swissotel Nankai Osaka 4*
Number of rooms: 546
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Swissotel Nankai Osaka is a five-star luxury hotel ideally located in the heart of Namba, Osaka’s most exciting entertainment, shopping and dining district. The hotel sits above Namba station and is the only Osaka hotel that offers a direct link to Kansai International Airport with the Rapid Express Train taking just 30 minutes door-to-door. The nearby subway serves as a convenient mode of transportation to many of the popular tourist destinations such as Kyoto, the ancient capital of Nara and the picturesque Kobe. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Fairmont Hotels, Agoda, JAPANiCAN, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Swissotel Nankai Osaka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swissotel Nankai Osaka Hotel Osaka
Swissotel Nankai Hotel Osaka
Osaka Swissotel Nankai Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing