We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Swissotel Nankai Osaka
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
$116
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$191
$142
Westin.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$183
$96
Trip.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$343
$116
Trip.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$153
$117
Trip.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$120
$91
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$153
$116
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
RIHGA Royal Hotel Osaka(Osaka)
$124
$75
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$71
$60
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$184
$98
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (3,516)
Filter reviews
3,516 results
Traveler rating
1,987
1,159
233
83
54
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,987
1,159
233
83
54
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsswiss advantage roomtrain stationkansai airporttakashimaya department storeexcellent locationpillow menuconvenient locationnamba parksnespresso machinejunior suitetop flooreasy accessthe executive loungewalking distancethe hotel staffhotel is locatedkuromon market
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,522 - 1,527 of 3,516 reviews
Reviewed April 3, 2014

Centrally located at downtown, which is beautiful since there are lot of things to do around and go around.

they have big rooms for japanese standard. Full amenities.

Facilities wise, it was great! we got to use their gym for like 3 times when i was there and it contained most of what i was looking for, treadmills, free weights, and even isolated machines.

sadly wasnt able to use the pool, but it was huge!

all in all, very good hotel! i would stay here more often if only i had more money since its a little bit expensive. But i guess you get what you pay for right.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank christopher1281987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ch_Schaufelbuhl, 支配人 at Swissotel Nankai Osaka, responded to this reviewResponded April 6, 2014

Dear Guest,

Warmest greetings from Swissôtel Nankai, Osaka!

Thank you very much for making our hotel your home away from home and posting a review on Trip Advisor. We are pleased to learn that the room you stayed and our facilities were able to meet your expectation. Please rest assured that we will continuously make our best efforts in view to further guests' satisfaction through better services and products. Thank you very much for your valuable feedback and we indeed look forward to welcoming you back soon again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2014

We chose this hotel as it was one that our tour company picked up at. We were overjoyed with our choice. The staff were amazing, doing everything they could to help us out. They took our luggage right away and when we returned from our tour it was all in our room.
We were too tired to go out for dinner so ordered room service which was excellent, presented nicely and the food was very good.
Huge room, not what we expected in Japan with all the amenities, and extremely clean.
Would stay here again in a heartbeat should we be lucky enough to return to Osaka, and would highly recommend it!

Room Tip: Not sure there would be a bad room but the higher up you are the better view of the skyline of Osaka.
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maxine151
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ch_Schaufelbuhl, 支配人 at Swissotel Nankai Osaka, responded to this reviewResponded April 6, 2014

Dear Guest,

Warmest greetings from Swissôtel Nankai, Osaka!

Thank you very much for staying at our hotel and posting an absolutely excellent review on Trip Advisor. We are very happy to read that you were satisfied with our room service offering, the room you stayed and the services provided by our team members.
Guests' satisfaction is very important to us and we will hence not rest on our laurels and will continue to strive for service improvements and product enhancements in view to provide excellent staying experience to each one of our guests. Thank you very much for your kind feedback and we are certainly looking forward to serving you again for another exceptional stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2014

Just stayed the one night, as we travelled from Hiroshima to Kyoto. A great city to visit and this hotel was perfect for that one night. It's right above a main metro station and very easy to access from the main railway station. The room we had was on the 34th floor, with great views of the city. As a bonus we had access to the executive lounge and gym, which were very good.
The hotel. Is very close to all the best shops and restaurants to visit in the city. It's a very buzzy area.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Andy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ch_Schaufelbuhl, 支配人 at Swissotel Nankai Osaka, responded to this reviewResponded March 31, 2014

Dear Guest,

Warmest greetings from Swissôtel Nankai, Osaka!

Thank you very much for making our hotel your home away from home and posting a kind review on Trip Advisor. We are thrilled to read that the room and the benefits to stay in the Executive floor were very satisfactory to you. Please rest assured that we will continuously strive for guests' satisfaction through better services and products. Thank you very much once again for your positive feedback and we indeed look forward to welcoming you back soon again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2014

Stayed at this hotel as the final stop in our tour. Initially we chose it for its proximity to the trains and it did not disappoint. The best part about Swissotel Nankai is that they are able to deliver your luggage right on the train platform of Nankai. It's also right on the Namba station so you're pretty much 5 mins away from any train or subway line. You're also maybe a crosswalk away from Dotombori and other shopping streets. There's a Takashimaya right across one of the entrances as well. If you're looking for a place where the action is, you have it. If staying for a short while, I think this place is ideal. Though there are other hotels that are also centrally located but are cheaper so if you have time to do research, I'd suggest looking into those first.
Service is as what can be expected from any chain hotel. Coming from a Japanese Inn and hotels, I found it very impersonal though. Our luggage arrived early and they did not have the foresight to place it in our room, unlike the earlier Japanese inn we stayed at. Also, when dealing with the bell captain, I found her to be a little abrupt. You know when you feel a little bit scared to ask people, that's when the service isn't as good as it should be. Anyhow, the rooms were excellent, a bit a little on the hot side. It was early Spring so it was still a bit cold so I assume the hotel had central heating on. Our AC at first wasn't working properly and it doesn't seem like it ever got to a really good working level. Other than that,everything was ok.

Overall, if you're in Osaka for a few days and would like a reliable and standard room, Swissotel would do. If you're open to going out of the chain hotels, I would bet that you can find similarly well located hotels that are cheaper though.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Reg E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ch_Schaufelbuhl, 支配人 at Swissotel Nankai Osaka, responded to this reviewResponded March 30, 2014

Warmest greetings from Swissôtel Nankai, Osaka!

Thank you very much for choosing to stay at our hotel and sharing your staying experience on Trip Advisor. We are pleased to read that our hotel location and the room you stayed were able to make your stay in Osaka excellent. On the other hand, we sincerely apologize for causing you discomfort upon your inquiry at the bell captain desk. Your feedback has been immediately shared with the appropriate member of our management and please rest assured that we will reinforce our staff training to provide heartfelt service to each one of our guests at all times. We greatly appreciate your valuable highlight and certainly look forward to serving you again in a not too distant future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2014

Stayed for 4 days at this gorgeous hotel.the moment we eneterd the room we were like "wow".The outside view from the hotel is too good.Since its right next to Namba station,its easy to locate.The staff was really helpful.
When we were inside the lift and seraching for the map,the staff who came inside the lift herself offered to help us.

Bathrooms are so clean and spacious.

Will definitely return to this next time we are in Osaka.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank Res0411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ch_Schaufelbuhl, 支配人 at Swissotel Nankai Osaka, responded to this reviewResponded March 26, 2014

Dear Guest,

Warmest greetings from Swissôtel Nankai, Osaka!

Thank you very much for making our hotel your home away from home and posting an excellent review on Trip Advisor. We are pleased to learn that we were able to "wow" you with the view from the room you stayed. Also, we are very happy to read that you had a positive impression on our team members for being helpful. As guests' satisfaction and comfort are very important to us, we are glad to know that our efforts were significantly reflected on your staying experiences. We sincerely appreciate your kind feedback and very much look forward to serving you again for another exceptional stay at our hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews