We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent, excellent, excellent” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Swissotel Nankai Osaka

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Swissotel Nankai Osaka
Ranked #8 of 296 Hotels / Ryokan in Osaka
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Excellent, excellent, excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2013

What to say about the Swissotel! It is a fantastic hotel.

I arrived at the hotel just as I was getting VERY sick. The staff went out of their way to make an appointment with a doctor and arrange a taxi to take us there. Later that day, the woman who helped organise all of this (I wish I knew her name) came up to my room with a tray of fruit and a get well card. I absolutely adored Japan, and it may seem strange but this act of kindness was the most memorable part of my trip.

Given that I spent 8 nights (and days!) at the hotel, I got to see it quite well. The room was spacious, quiet, with beautiful views, a comfortable bed and lovely calming atmosphere. The quality of the amenities including the nespresso were appreciated. Service impeccable. Location superb - right by Namba station and the heart of Namba area. I didn't get to try the hotel's restaurants but there are some streets nearby with great atmosphere and food. I only saw these as I was starting to recover so it was an effort for me to get there, but my guess is that it was less than 5 minutes walk for 'healthy' people, so all very close by.

I LOVE Japan and the Japanese people, and I missed out on seeing Kyoto and Osaka, so this country is at the top of my list for my next trip. I will return to the Swissotel Nankai.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FrequentFlyer67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ch_Schaufelbuhl, 支配人 at Swissotel Nankai Osaka, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
Dear Guest, thank you very much for making Swissôtel Nankai Osaka your home away from home and posting your fantastic review on Trip Advisor. We are very pleased to learn that our team members were able to provide you with care and comfort when you were not feeling well. We sincerely hope you got better quickly afterwards. Our goal is to provide excellent customer service and a welcoming environment at all times for our valuable guests. Therefore, we are glad to know that our efforts were positively recognized in your review. We will not rest on our laurels and will continue striving for enhancing guest satisfaction. We sincerely look forward to welcoming you again for another pleasant stay in a not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,042 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,708
    1,019
    199
    73
    43
See reviews for
1,278
810
164
283
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (241)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bellevue Hill
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2013

Great Hotel, Great Location in Namba.
We had the best time. The room was alot
bigger than we expected. All the staff we so lovely
and bent over backwards. Super clean and nice strong
coffee in the morning.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Swissotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ch_Schaufelbuhl, 支配人 at Swissotel Nankai Osaka, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Dear guest, thank you very much for choosing to stay at Swissôtel Nankai Osaka and posting your kind review on Trip Advisor. We are very happy to read that you were satisfied with our services and the room you stayed. We greatly appreciate your feedback and hopefully you can visit Osaka again so we can welcome you back to us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2013

Great Location, excellent rooms & service.
Definitely the place to stay in Osaka, with walking distance to shopping streets and variety of restaurants, and convenient access to train station and train to airport.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Swissotel

Helpful?
Thank Duen V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ch_Schaufelbuhl, 支配人 at Swissotel Nankai Osaka, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Dear guest, thank you very much for making Swissôtel Nankai Osaka your home away from home and posting your review on Trip Advisor. We are pleased to read that our convenient location has provided you with a pleasant stay. Once again, thank you very much for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back soon again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2013

We have a 3-year-old so location and comfort are both important. Located right above the Namba station of Nankai Electric Railway, hotel staff can take your luggage right to the train when you leave for Kansai airport. A 10 to 15 minute walk to Kuromon Ichiba and to Dontobori is great for all the dining needs. Last but not least, a king size bed or two side-by-side double bed is also important for all 3 of us to stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Swissotel

Helpful?
Thank Sherman C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ch_Schaufelbuhl, 支配人 at Swissotel Nankai Osaka, responded to this review, October 27, 2013
Dear guest, thank you very much for choosing to stay at Swissôtel Nankai during your stay in Osaka. We are very happy to read that our convenient location and our luggage assistance enabled you to have a satisfactory stay. We greatly appreciate your kind review and hopefully you can visit Osaka again so we can welcome you back to Swissôtel Nankai Osaka.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
35 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2013

It's all true what you read about the fine interiors of the Swissotel Nankai Osaka, its convenient location above the Namba airport express train station, and its proximity to Dotonbouri, Nippombashi and other places of interest. What impressed me most about the Swissotel is its high level of service to ensure guest satisfaction. Aside from being efficient, the staff are very pleasant and accommodating. I will not consider staying elsewhere on my next visit to Osaka.

Room Tip: Higher floors have great view of the city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank edcap99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ch_Schaufelbuhl, 支配人 at Swissotel Nankai Osaka, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Dear guest, thank you very much for choosing to stay at Swissôtel Nankai Osaka and posting your kind review. We are very happy to hear that our services impressed you and that the hotel décor and convenient location brought you a pleasant stay. Your kind comment is very much appreciated and we are truly looking forward to welcoming you back to Swissôtel Nankai Osaka for another pleasant stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
230 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2013

The hotel is well appointed with great location - close to the underground and shopping like Takashimaya and even the famous Mikimoto pearls.
Noticed a lot of trainees but did not affect the level of service.
The only downside is the entrance lobby which does not match the standard you would expect at all.

Room Tip: Try out the local eateries near the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ch_Schaufelbuhl, 支配人 at Swissotel Nankai Osaka, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Dear Guest, thank you very much for posting your review on Trip Advisor. We are very pleased to read that you have enjoyed our services and our convenient location to various shopping facilities. In addition, we have taken note of your comment regarding the entrance lobby, which has been shared with our management for future reference. Once again, we appreciate your valuable sentiment and look forward to welcoming you back again to Swissôtel Nankai Osaka.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharjah, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
82 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2013

LOCATION: The hotel is located just above Namba Station, so its easy access as soon as you get off the rapid express. Conveniently, there is a phone located at the station where you can directly contact the hotel and they will send someone to assist with your luggage. The station has a lot of food options, as does the mall. The Dotonbori area is a 5 - 10 minute walk from the hotel, giving you a lot more options for dining out.

LOBBY: The lobby is rather large and spacious. The lobby connects to the main entrance as well entrances from other locations like the train station or the mall. All these are interconnected and can be confusing at time, but is very convenient.

CHECK-IN / CHECK-OUT: Check-in was hassle free. All transactions were completed without a hassle.
NOTE: We had booked online via the Swissotel official website, and they had an offer where they may upgrade from an executive room to a suite based on availability. We inquired about this offer and were immediately upgraded. Definitely worth the upgrade. It also gave us late check-out option of up to 04:00pm.

STAFF: Extremely friendly and helpful. All staff would regularly inquire if we required anything. Always with a smile on their face and very easy to communicate with.

ROOMS: The junior suite we were upgraded to was spacious. The toilet/bathroom and washbasin were separate, allowing two people to use each individually. All amenities were available in the bathroom, and any extras required were provided immediately. We had a toddler with us, and even though we did not ask for anything specific, they provided toiletries specific to our child: small sponge, toothbrush and toothpaste, sleeping suit etc. The room itself consisted of a living room which had a seating area and a TV, and a bedroom that had a TV of its own. My only grievance was that we were a family and the beds were twin instead of queen or king.

DINING: The breakfast buffet was slightly disappointing. We would have expected a little more variety based on the standards. Vegans or vegetarians may find it difficult to have a full meal there/ However, whatever was served was of exceptional quality.

INTERNET: Wi-Fi within the room was free and allowed multiple devices to connect at the same time. Signal and strength was excellent.

OVERALL: The price may be a little on the higher side, but is definitely worth it. The view from any of the floors is amazing, Highly recommended.

Room Tip: For quick food and drink options, you can explore the basement of the hotel and visit some of the st...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Prezzman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ch_Schaufelbuhl, 支配人 at Swissotel Nankai Osaka, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Dear guest, thank you very much for making Swissôtel Nankai Osaka your home away from home. We are thrilled to read that you found the services from our "friendly" team members helpful, and your kind word is very much appreciated. We are glad to hear that you were satisfied with our Junior Suite room as well.
Also, we have taken note of your feelings regarding the menu selections at the breakfast venue. Your feedback has been shared with our management for future reference. Thank you very much once again and we are certainly looking forward to welcoming you back again to Swissôtel Nankai Osaka.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Osaka hotels
Shinsaibashi / Nanba / Tennoji / South Area
Cross Hotel Osaka
Cross Hotel Osaka
#10 of 296 in Osaka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,266 reviews
Shinsaibashi / Nanba / Tennoji / South Area
Holiday Inn Osaka Namba
Holiday Inn Osaka Namba
#27 of 296 in Osaka
4.0 of 5 bubbles 719 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shinsaibashi / Nanba / Tennoji / South Area
Hotel Monterey Grasmere Osaka
Hotel Nikko Osaka
#24 of 296 in Osaka
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,808 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swissotel Nankai Osaka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swissotel Nankai Osaka

Property: Swissotel Nankai Osaka
Address: 5-1-60 Namba, Chuo-ku, Osaka 542-0076, Osaka Prefecture
Phone Number:
Location: Japan > Kinki > Osaka Prefecture > Osaka > Shinsaibashi / Nanba / Tennoji / South Area
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Osaka
#4 Family Hotel in Osaka
#4 Romantic Hotel in Osaka
#7 Luxury Hotel in Osaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Swissotel Nankai Osaka 4*
Number of rooms: 548
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Swissotel Nankai Osaka is a five-star luxury hotel ideally located in the heart of Namba, Osaka’s most exciting entertainment, shopping and dining district. The hotel sits above Namba station and is the only Osaka hotel that offers a direct link to Kansai International Airport with the Rapid Express Train taking just 30 minutes door-to-door. The nearby subway serves as a convenient mode of transportation to many of the popular tourist destinations such as Kyoto, the ancient capital of Nara and the picturesque Kobe. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Rakuten, Orbitz, Booking.com, Agoda, JAPANiCAN, HotelsClick, Fairmont Hotels, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Swissotel Nankai Osaka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swissotel Nankai Osaka Hotel Osaka
Swissotel Nankai Hotel Osaka
Osaka Swissotel Nankai Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing