We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great facilities, excellent access to airport.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
Swissotel Nankai Osaka
Ranked #9 of 316 Hotels / Ryokan in Osaka
Certificate of Excellence
Seoul
1 review
“Great facilities, excellent access to airport.”
Reviewed September 25, 2013

I stayed my last night of a week long trip to Japan. Arrived early(around 11am) and asked for an early check-in and was provided with a room immediately. Truely grateful for the lady in the front desk(very kind and also spoke fluent english). Room was tidy with exceptionally clean bathroom and great view over Osaka city. However, there was no complimentary water in the room and had to walk my way down to find a convenient store in order to aviod drinking expensive water from the mini bar.
Is directley connected to Namba station where you can take a train to Kansai airport(Just took me an hour and a half from leaving my room, check-out, take train and arrive at the airport).
Lots of restaurants, bars, shopping spots nearby so would never be bored in the neighborhood.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Swissotel

Helpful?
Thank Christopher L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ch_Schaufelbuhl, General Manager at Swissotel Nankai Osaka, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Dear Guest, Thank you so much for the wonderful review! We greatly appreciate your comments and you sharing it on the Trip Advisor website. We are glad to hear that you like our outstanding location as it is just next to the biggest shopping area in Osaka and we have, as pointed out correctly a direct train access to Kansai International Airport. Our first priority is to make our guests feel comfortable so it is wonderful to read how much you appreciated our front desk colleague upon arrival and our room product. We have taken note on the comment on the amenities and please be kindly informed that we are always happy to provide complementary bottled water upon guests requests. We are looking forward to your next visit and thank you very much for choosing Swissôtel Nankai Osaka as your Home away from Home.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,222 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,817
    1,073
    210
    74
    48
See reviews for
1,367
857
169
297
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (261)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Quebec City, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
174 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2013

What a great location just across from Namba Parks, spectacular views, second floor lobby had great event displays with wedding dresses, dinnerware and table decorations.
We took the afternoon buffet at the restaurant on top. Decadent food, presentation and views just perfect after a long day of walking
Rooms were quiet, modern chic with dark paneling

Room Tip: any floor towards Namba Parks
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dominique L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ch_Schaufelbuhl, General Manager at Swissotel Nankai Osaka, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Dear Guest, Thank very much for taking the time to share your recent experience at Swissôtel Nankai Osaka on Trip Advisor. We are really pleased that you have enjoyed our hotel location, our rooms décor and our wedding facilities on banquet floors. It is also encouraging to learn that our afternoon buffet at Tavola 36 in the sky of Osaka met your expectations. Your kind comments are greatly appreciated since guest satisfaction and delicious foods are amongst our highest priorities. We are looking forward to your return for another stay, hopefully in a not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macau
1 review
Reviewed September 22, 2013

Great location and view! However, its a bit confused if you travel by subway. There are only small line mentioning whereabout the hotel located. A bigger sign could be useful for first timer. Other than that, that's one of the biggest room I stayed in Japan with that price range.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Swissotel

Helpful?
Thank Antonio C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ch_Schaufelbuhl, General Manager at Swissotel Nankai Osaka, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Dear Guest, Thank you very much for taking the time to post your feedback on Trip Advisor. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Swissôtel Nankai Osaka, especially the perfect location and the impressive city view offered from our rooms. Also, we are pleased to inform you that we are currently in the discussion to improve the ground floor of our hotel from the train station. The entire area will be renovated until 2015 which will include easy-to-follow signage and directions. Looking forward to your return visit in Osaka!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2013

It is situated Just above Nambi station. A very convenient hotel in the centre of Nambi and everything was just in a walking distance.

Hotel room was large in Japanese hotel standard. The view were good.

We will stay in this hotel again if we visit Osaka next time

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kljp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ch_Schaufelbuhl, General Manager at Swissotel Nankai Osaka, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Dear Guest, Thank you for the positive review regarding your recent stay at Swissôtel Nankai Osaka, and for taking the time to share it with other Trip Advisor travelers! The convenient location of our hotel allows our guests the opportunity to fully explore the Namba area and take advantage of all the wonderful dining, shopping and others attractions that make our city so great. We are also glad that you found our room large and the city view good. We are looking forward to your next visit in Osaka and thank you very much for choosing Swissôtel Nankai as your Home away from Home.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviewed September 20, 2013

Everyone was so helpfully...they even go to the extend to check online for our enquiry.
They is one staff by the name of Nakao, she is so helpfully. The room was up to date and they change the bed cover everyday and refill the toiletry. The best part is the location, because the Namba station is right below and the subways connects to entire place in Osaka.Lastly place to eat for is everywhere from traditional to fastfoods..

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yip J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ch_Schaufelbuhl, General Manager at Swissotel Nankai Osaka, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Dear Guest, Thank you very much for staying at Swissôtel Nankai Osaka and for having taken the time to leave your impressions on Trip Advisor. We are thrilled that you enjoyed our services and were able to take advantage of our hotel location, directly on top of the Namba Train and Subway Station which makes it the perfect home base to visit all various fantastic places around Osaka. We also appreciate your recognition on our guest service colleague and housekeeping team and I will be happy to pass them your compliments. We are looking forward to welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila
1 review
Reviewed September 19, 2013

Together with my husband, we stayed at this hotel for 5Days 4 nights.

Check in took less than 5 minutes. Front desk was professional, efficient and yet still warm and sincere. I checked in before my husband who was arriving from Fukuoka so I left details for him to be able to go to the room while I left the hotel. They asked for his identification and everything was fuss free.

The team at the Concierge were great! They knew most of the places that I wanted to visit and gave me clear directions on how to get there! Those they were unfamiliar with they were able to Google and answer me within 2 minutes max. I appreciated how patient they were in answering all my queries. It takes skills to explain the different subways, trains and express lines! I witnessed a local who was upset at some matter and was raising his voice. I don't need to understand what they were talking about but I commend her patience and how she carried herself with this guest. When they were done, she was clearly tired but attended to me with a warm smile and the same level of service that I appreciated the day before.

It took me awhile before I got my bearings as there were different possible exits from the hotel. One floor down via escalator from the lobby leads you to Takashimaya (left side) while turning right and down the escalator leads you to the train station. Going down the lifts (different form the ones leading to the rooms) to the ground floor you can turn left which leads you to Namba Park or right which leads you to a different level of the train station.

We tried the Pillow menu. It was quite interesting but ended up with what was provided when we went in the room.

Housekeeping were friendly and very efficient. We requested for different items throughout the stay ( ice, weighing scale, tape etc) and they were all attended to within 5-10 minutes. They noticed that I was folding all the plastic shopping bags and putting it in one paper bag. They actually folded the other ones that I didn't fold.

Check out was just as easy as we checked in. Front desk asked if we needed assistance and made sure we knew our way to the station.

I am certain that we will stay in this hotel again on our next trip to Osaka. I initially chose this hotel due to its location. Next time I come back will not just be about the location but definitely for the service.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Swissotel

Helpful?
Thank Rea K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ch_Schaufelbuhl, General Manager at Swissotel Nankai Osaka, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Dear Guest, Thank you for your remarkable review shared here on Trip Advisor about your recent stay at Swissôtel Nankai Osaka. We are thrilled to read that you have fully appreciated all the aspects of your visit and it is truly rewarding when a guest recognizes our efforts to provide excellent service and takes the time to say thank you. Your comments will be shared accordingly with our team members and will be certainly a true source of motivation for them. We will keep on continuously pursuit excellence in everything we do and we look forward to welcome you back many times in Osaka.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2013

This is the second time I stayed at Swissotel Nankai Osaka. Its location is a major advantage - just above a train station with direct trains to Kansai Airport. Lots of restaurants and department stores are nearby and it is walking distance to Shinsaibashi.

I stayed at the newly refurbished SwissAdvantage room with free internet which is a very nice amenity to have. The bed was comfortable and the room was well designed, despite a bit small as in most Japanese hotels. Breakfast is offered at the restaurant on the top floor, with a decent selection of Japanese and western options. The staff was helpful in pointing out directions to attractions.

I will very likely come back to this hotel for my next trip to Osaka.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank exe_ck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ch_Schaufelbuhl, General Manager at Swissotel Nankai Osaka, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Dear Guest, thank you very much for making Swissôtel Nankai your home away from home again in Osaka and for your kind review. We are very happy to read, that you have enjoyed your stay with us and that you like our newly renovated Swiss Advantage room which comes with many additional amenities like free WIFI in the entire hotel, in room Nespresso coffee machine as well free access to our gym. We are as well happy to hear, that you have enjoyed our Breakfast Buffet on the top floor restaurant with a nice view over Osaka. Hopefully you will be able to visit Osaka again and that you then as well will stay with Swissôtel Nankai again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Osaka hotels
Shinsaibashi / Nanba / Tennoji / South Area
Cross Hotel Osaka
Cross Hotel Osaka
#10 of 316 in Osaka
1,384 reviews
Hotel Nikko Osaka
#19 of 316 in Osaka
1,913 reviews
Shinsaibashi / Nanba / Tennoji / South Area
Holiday Inn Osaka Namba
Holiday Inn Osaka Namba
#24 of 316 in Osaka
774 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shinsaibashi / Nanba / Tennoji / South Area
Hotel Monterey Grasmere Osaka
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swissotel Nankai Osaka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swissotel Nankai Osaka

Property: Swissotel Nankai Osaka
Address: 5-1-60 Namba, Chuo-ku, Osaka 542-0076, Osaka Prefecture
Phone Number:
Location: Japan > Kinki > Osaka Prefecture > Osaka > Shinsaibashi / Nanba / Tennoji / South Area
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Osaka
#4 Family Hotel in Osaka
#4 Business Hotel in Osaka
#7 Luxury Hotel in Osaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Swissotel Nankai Osaka 4*
Number of rooms: 546
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Swissotel Nankai Osaka is a five-star luxury hotel ideally located in the heart of Namba, Osaka’s most exciting entertainment, shopping and dining district. The hotel sits above Namba station and is the only Osaka hotel that offers a direct link to Kansai International Airport with the Rapid Express Train taking just 30 minutes door-to-door. The nearby subway serves as a convenient mode of transportation to many of the popular tourist destinations such as Kyoto, the ancient capital of Nara and the picturesque Kobe. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Fairmont Hotels, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, JAPANiCAN, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Rakuten, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, Agoda, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Swissotel Nankai Osaka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swissotel Nankai Osaka Hotel Osaka
Swissotel Nankai Hotel Osaka
Osaka Swissotel Nankai Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing