We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very comfortable stay indeed!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Swissotel Nankai Osaka
Ranked #9 of 342 Hotels / Ryokan in Osaka
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 23, 2013

The hotel is very centrally located. just below the Nankai Airport Express Line. The rooms have just been refurbished and are most comfortable. Comfy beds with pillow menu, big bath tub, gorgeous views (I was on the 28th). The icing on the cake is the Nespresso machine in the room. :) Staff are conversant in English and are very helpful.

Would definitely use the hotel again should I visit Osaka the next time.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yewfai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ch_Schaufelbuhl, General Manager at Swissotel Nankai Osaka, responded to this reviewResponded June 23, 2013

Dear Guest, thank you very much for making Swissôtel Nankai your home away from home in Osaka and we appreciate your kind review very much as well thank you very much for the nice pictures you have taken during your stay with us. We are very happy to hear, that you like our newly refurbished Swiss Advantage room and glad to hear that we were able to provide you with a great start into the day with our Nespresso machine in the room. We are looking forward to welcome you back to Swissôtel Nankai when you will visit Osaka again in the hopefully not too distance future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,372)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,682 - 1,688 of 3,372 reviews

Reviewed June 22, 2013

This Hotel is so convenient to KIX (Osaka Airport) walk about 500 feet from the Arival baggage claim to the Rapito train and it end in Namba Station.The Hotel is directly above the station. Much like the Grand Hyatt above Grand Central Station in New York. The hotel is centrally located very close to Dotonbori (My favorite place in Osaka), think "Myrtle Beach" on Steroids, only will an Anime flair. This is also a great base for Day trips to Kyoto, Kobe, etc. via the JR station which is 6 subway stops away. The subway system in Japan is very easy to use, and inexpensive.
The rooms were Large (for Japan) and very well kept. The Pillow menu was fantastic. I highly recommend this Hotel to any first time visitor to Osaka

Room Tip: The higher floors have Great City views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KanoSouthCarolina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ch_Schaufelbuhl, General Manager at Swissotel Nankai Osaka, responded to this reviewResponded June 23, 2013

Dear Guest, thank you very much for your kind review and that you made Swissôtel Nankai your home away from home while visiting Osaka. We are very happy to hear, that you like our central location as well the rooms which come with many amenities like the pillow menu to provide a sound sleep to our valuable guests. We certainly hope that you have the opportunity to returning to Osaka and will stay with us again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2013

Conveniently located just above the train station that links directly to the Kansai International Airport, it is a mere 35 minutes or so train ride from the airport. Upon reaching the station, a few turns will take you to the lift to the hotel lobby. And the hotel is linked underground to a few subway lines, ones that take you conveniently to Kyoto or Kobe at very reasonable prices. Takashimaya Shopping Centre is right below the hotel, with OIOI oppsite. On weekends, indie bands play in the open air area between the hotel and OIOI. It's conviniently located near Americamura and Dotomburi. Rooms are nice and rather spacious.

Room Tip: Ask for high floor facing Namba Walks. You can see Shinseikai from there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank buaytahan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ch_Schaufelbuhl, General Manager at Swissotel Nankai Osaka, responded to this reviewResponded June 26, 2013

Dear Guest, thank you very much for your kind review and for staying with Swissôtel Nankai while visiting Osaka. We are very happy to read, that you find our hotel fantastic and that you like our location and the rooms with the nice view. Hopefully you will have the opportunity to visit Osaka and Swissôtel Nankai again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2013

I have stayed two nights from 12 June 2013 in the hotel with my mom.

The hotel is located in the Namba station and the location is the best! Two department stores are located in the station and Dotonbori street (where lots of great foods can be found) is also located near the hotel. As Nankai train passes, it was easy to go to Kansai airport (it took about 30 mins). A subway also passes the station, it was easy to go to Kita (North part of Osaka) and other cities such as Kyoto.

Our room was located on the 30th floor. The room was quite bigger than we expected and had a great view. The hotel had a range of pillows that guests can select and it made our sleep much more comfortable. There was a Nespresso coffee machine with coffee capsules in the room and we enjoyed nice coffee in the room.

Hotel staff were good at speaking in English, so we had no issues to communicate with staff. They were also friendly as expected.

There were two things that we were slightly disappointed with this hotel: (1) When we visited the hotel, the hotel was renovating some of their facilities (including restaurants, bars, and public baths) and there were limited use of those facilities. However, we have not noticed any of those when we made a booking. It would be better if the hotel notified the renovation to the guests when they book rooms. (2) Housekeeping cleaned the room well except for the area where mini bar and coffee machine was located (dust was still there after cleaning the room). As foods are stored, we expect housekeeping take more consideration of cleaning the area.

Besides of slight disappointment, we really enjoyed staying at Swissotel Nankai Osaka. We are absolutely going to return to this hotel when I visit Osaka again:)

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Swissotel
Thank Regina K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ch_Schaufelbuhl, General Manager at Swissotel Nankai Osaka, responded to this reviewResponded June 24, 2013

Dear Guest, thank you very much for providing feedback about your resent stay and that you have chosen Swissôtel Nankai while staying in Osaka. We are very pleased to hear, that you like not only our fantastic location but as well our Swiss Advantage rooms which have a large selection of amenities and happy to read, that you enjoyed the pillow menu as well the in-room Nespresso Machine. On the other hand, we have taken note about your comment and it is very unfortunate to read, that you have not noticed our announcement that the pool and our Italian Restaurant is closed due to renovation which was posted on all internet pages since February already. As well we understand that Housekeeping could have done a better job in dusting the room and we sincerely apologize for the shortfall of this service as well the closure of the pool and Restaurant. Hopefully you will be able to visit Osaka again and will stay with Swissôtel Nankai as well in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2013

Excellent location, easy assessable from Kansai Airport. Excellent advice and information sheet by hotel staff on transportation to various places of interest. Comfortable stay and reasonable rate. Only complaint- Wifi only in riom and its quite weak. Overall Good!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Swissotel
Thank Alice Aysee L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ch_Schaufelbuhl, General Manager at Swissotel Nankai Osaka, responded to this reviewResponded June 23, 2013

Dear Guest, Thank you very much for staying at Swissôtel Nankai Osaka and for your kind review. We are happy to hear, that you have enjoyed your stay as well we have taken note of the weak WIFI connectivity. We just have implemented WIFI in the entire hotel and it seems, that we still need to work on the strength of the signal in order to provide better signal to all guests. Hopefully you will stay with Swissôtel Nankai again when you have the opportunity in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2013

It is very convenient, just upstairs of train station (Namba). It is easy to go any where from Osaka. Hotel staff is very friendly and they can speak fluent English. I am sure I will choose the same hotel for my next trip.



  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Swissotel
Thank Man Shan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ch_Schaufelbuhl, General Manager at Swissotel Nankai Osaka, responded to this reviewResponded June 23, 2013

Dear Guest, Thank you very much for making Swissôtel Nankai your home away from home in Osaka and we are very happy to ready, that you had a nice stay with us and that you will choose Swissôtel Nankai again when you have the opportunity next time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2013

The hotel was located at a very good location with nice rooms and great staff. Staff didn't mind or gave me any look when I told her I was there with my gay partner for our third anniversary. Great! :)

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Swissotel
Thank D Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ch_Schaufelbuhl, General Manager at Swissotel Nankai Osaka, responded to this reviewResponded June 20, 2013

Dear Guest, thank you very much for your kind review and that you made Swissôtel Nankai your home away from home while in Osaka with your partner. We really appreciate your comment and are very happy to hear, that you had a great stay with us and hopefully we can welcome you back to your next Anniversary or even earlier.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Osaka hotels
Hotel Nikko Osaka
#22 of 342 in Osaka
1,996 reviews
Shinsaibashi / Nanba / Tennoji / South Area
Cross Hotel Osaka
Cross Hotel Osaka
#10 of 342 in Osaka
1,458 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Osaka Station / Umeda
Hilton Osaka
Hilton Osaka
#19 of 342 in Osaka
2,103 reviews
Shinsaibashi / Nanba / Tennoji / South Area
Hotel Monterey Grasmere Osaka
Shinsaibashi / Nanba / Tennoji / South Area
Holiday Inn Osaka Namba
Holiday Inn Osaka Namba
#25 of 342 in Osaka
827 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swissotel Nankai Osaka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swissotel Nankai Osaka

Address: 5-1-60 Namba, Chuo-ku, Osaka 542-0076, Osaka Prefecture
Phone Number:
Location: Japan > Kinki > Osaka Prefecture > Osaka > Shinsaibashi / Nanba / Tennoji / South Area
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Osaka
#4 Business Hotel in Osaka
#4 Romantic Hotel in Osaka
#7 Luxury Hotel in Osaka
Price Range: $204 - $524 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Swissotel Nankai Osaka 4*
Number of rooms: 546
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Swissotel Nankai Osaka is a five-star luxury hotel ideally located in the heart of Namba, Osaka’s most exciting entertainment, shopping and dining district. The hotel sits above Namba station and is the only Osaka hotel that offers a direct link to Kansai International Airport with the Rapid Express Train taking just 30 minutes door-to-door. The nearby subway serves as a convenient mode of transportation to many of the popular tourist destinations such as Kyoto, the ancient capital of Nara and the picturesque Kobe. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Fairmont Hotels, Booking.com, Agoda, Rakuten, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, JAPANiCAN, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Swissotel Nankai Osaka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swissotel Nankai Osaka Hotel Osaka
Swissotel Nankai Hotel Osaka
Osaka Swissotel Nankai Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing