We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Swissotel Nankai Osaka
Nearby Hotels
Hilton Osaka(Osaka)
$318
$293
Hilton
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$170
Trip.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$206
$117
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$181
$137
JAPANiCAN.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
RIHGA Royal Hotel Osaka(Osaka)
$226
$114
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$384
JAPANiCAN.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$267
$175
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$283
$145
JAPANiCAN.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$249
$130
JAPANiCAN.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$263
$176
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (3,512)
Filter reviews
3,512 results
Traveler rating
1,983
1,159
233
83
54
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,983
1,159
233
83
54
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsswiss advantage roomtrain stationkansai airporttakashimaya department storeexcellent locationpillow menuconvenient locationnamba parksnespresso machinejunior suitetop flooreasy accessthe executive loungewalking distancethe hotel staffhotel is locatedkuromon market
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,822 - 1,827 of 3,512 reviews
Reviewed April 21, 2013

We stayed here for 4 nights in Jan 2013. To enjoy free wifi and have a bigger room, we paid extra to upgrade the room. Similar to other hotels in Japan, the room is clean. We have no idea in the size of our original room but the size of our upgraded room is just similar to other five star hotel in Japan. Anyway, the room is comfortable.

Breakfast area is located at the highest floor with nice view. There are different choices of food for selection but they don't have much changes in the food choices every day.

The hotel is just next to Nambo station with just few minutes walk. It is very convenient.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Celia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ch_Schaufelbuhl, General Manager at Swissotel Nankai Osaka, responded to this reviewResponded April 21, 2013

Dear Guest, thank you very much for taking the time to writing this review and for making Swissôtel Nankai your home away from home while staying in Osaka. We are happy to hear, that you have enjoyed your stay and especially our fabulous location. We certainly hope that you will chose Swissôtel Nankai again should you travel to Osaka in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2013

We had a Swiss Advantage Room with a nice city view. We checked in during a rather busy time but all customers were well attended by "floaters". We were escorted to the room along after a smooth checking in process.

This was the cleanest hotel room we had ever stayed. Everything was in its uttermost spotless condition. The size was good and the view was better than expected. The bed was comfortable. The location was also very convenient, close to restaurants, shops, stalls, department stores and subway stations. Despite this, it was very quiet in our room.

Did I mention it was really clean? The room was like new every single day.

I guess the only negative I could think of was how we had to take two different lifts to reach our room: one to get to reception and then the other "hotel lifts".

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jkl615
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ch_Schaufelbuhl, General Manager at Swissotel Nankai Osaka, responded to this reviewResponded April 21, 2013

Dear Guest, thank you very much for making Swissôtel Nankai Osaka your hotel of choice and staying with us and we are thrilled to hear, that our rooms were the cleanest you had ever stayed as well that the size of the room suited you and we were able to exceed your expectations. We are sorry to hear, that it was inconvenient for you to take two different elevators to reach the room but unfortunately the structure of the building does not allow direct access to the guest floors. Hopefully you can visit Osaka again and then that you will stay with Swissôtel Nankai again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2013

I would like to thank the staff and management of Swissotel Nankai Osaka for making our stay in Osaka memorable and stress-free. On the day of our departure and when the Concierge brought down our luggage, we were informed that the train to the airport had stop operations due to an accident along the tracks. After consulting with their manager, the Concierge offered to bring us to the bus station, which is a good 15 minutes walk from the train station. Cheerfully and patiently, she helped us buy the tickets and gave us perfect instructions what to do. We arrived at the airport exactly 2 hours before our flight. Thank you again, Ms Hiromi Vetsu. Keep it up.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 43philip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ch_Schaufelbuhl, General Manager at Swissotel Nankai Osaka, responded to this reviewResponded April 21, 2013

Dear Guest, thank you very much for your kind review and for choosing Swissôtel Nankai Osaka during your stay in Japan. We are very happy to hear, that we were able to provide you with a memorable and stress-free stay. In addition we are thrilled to know, that you had a excellent departure experience with Passion for Perfection from our Concierge colleagues. Hopefully you can visit Osaka again in the future and that you will choose Swissôtel Nankai for your upcoming visits.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2013

Great beds by Japan standards. They were soft-ish, great pillows. Nice decor, great city views from the "swiss advantage room" we had. The staff were very friendly with excellent english by all staff, service fantastic. All staff are exceptional. Would definitely come again if I wanted to stay again in Osaka. Such a great location, straight out of the Shinkansen, a small walk and never leave the station building to get to the hotel. Too easy!

I wished the breakfast in the hotel were not so expensive though. To not have this included in the hotel room price provides some disappointment but to be fair this is not unique to this hotel. Furthermore, extra charges for swimming pool and gym is also not so nice. This seems to be the norm for Japanese hotels though not unique to the one either. I had gym included in m room price, but not the pool, which was odd. If this hotel had tall his included in the room price, it would make it the perfect hotel!!

Overall highly recommended.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Swissotel
Thank Bec00005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ch_Schaufelbuhl, General Manager at Swissotel Nankai Osaka, responded to this reviewResponded April 18, 2013

Dear guest, thank you very much for making Swissôtel Nankai Osaka your home away from home. We are thrilled to read that you found the services from our “friendly” team members fantastic, and your kind word is very much appreciated. We are glad to hear that you were satisfied with our Swiss Advantage room as well.
Also, we appreciate your feedback regarding the charges of breakfast and our facilities. Your comments have been shared with our management for future reference. Thank you very much once again and we are certainly looking forward to welcoming you back again to Swissôtel Nankai Osaka.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2013

Location of hotel is absolutely perfect! Being right above the Nankai station really helped my family travel around the Kansai area (Kyoto/Kobe). Lugging heavy shopping bags back to the hotel becomes a breeze!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Swissotel
Thank Cedric C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ch_Schaufelbuhl, General Manager at Swissotel Nankai Osaka, responded to this reviewResponded April 18, 2013

Dear guest, thank you very much for your feedback and for making Swissôtel Nankai Osaka your home away from home. We are glad to hear that our convenient location helped you and your family to enjoy traveling as well as shopping. We would like to express our appreciation once again and hopefully we can welcome you back to our hotel soon again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews