We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing beds and great transport links”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Swissotel Nankai Osaka
Ranked #9 of 307 Hotels / Ryokan in Osaka
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Amazing beds and great transport links”
Reviewed March 11, 2013

LOCATION: Part of Osaka Namba Nankai station complex (though as soon as you enter the hotel it is immediately very quiet and peaceful). Easy access to the subway (Midosuji line to Shin-Osaka for Shinkansen). Walking distance to Dotonbori etc.

FACILITIES: Swiss Advantage Queen room. Good sized room with exceptionally comfortable bed (best during my time in Japan), a wide pillow selection, and very nice provided silk pyjamas (not something that would usually interest me - but these were great)! The reception and concierge services were laudable, with English language proficiency being high. The drawbacks I would highlight would be the very limited number of TV channels for an international hotel chain, that the towels were a little hard (not very absorbent, and fairly small), and that access to the bathroom sink could be a little inconvenient as the sink was behind the bathroom door, and yet the door wouldn't fully fold back due to the bath.

I'd happily recommend this Swissotel purely based on the comfort of the beds alone. If you want to use Osaka as a base for exploring the surrounding area (day trips to Kyoto etc) then this is a great place to stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Immoraliste
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ch_Schaufelbuhl, General Manager at Swissotel Nankai Osaka, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Dear Guest, thank you very much for your kind review and that you have chosen Swissôtel Nankai for your stay in Osaka. We are thrilled to hearing that you had a great sleep in our comfortable beds and that you find them the best during your time in Japan. We really appreciate as well your feedback in regards to the English TV selection and Bathroom, which we will certainly take into consideration during our regular review of our products. We are looking very much forward to hopefully welcome you back to Swissôtel Nankai should you visit Osaka again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,179 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,787
    1,061
    209
    74
    48
See reviews for
1,339
849
168
293
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (258)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2013 via mobile

Stayed there with my parents. We love this hotel because it is located in the centre of everything. Everything we need are within minutes away. The rooms are big in Japanese standard. The staff at concierge were very helpful and speak good English. We were really pleased with this hotel and should stay here again in our next visit

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christina L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ch_Schaufelbuhl, General Manager at Swissotel Nankai Osaka, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Dear Guest, thank you very much for your kind review and that you made Swissôtel Nankai Osaka your home away from home while travelling though Japan. We are very happy to hear, that you like our location, our helpful concierge and that you were very pleased with your stay and our hotel. We hopefully can welcome you back to Swissôtel Nankai in the not too distance future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Campbell, California
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2013

The hotel is located above the Namba station and easy walking to the entertainment zone. The hotel is modern w very comfortable bed. I was able to find a room last minute at a great rate. I would definitely recommend. I had no complaints.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank omeeda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ch_Schaufelbuhl, General Manager at Swissotel Nankai Osaka, responded to this review, March 3, 2013
Dear Guest, thank you very much for your kind review and we are very happy to hear, that you like our comfortable beds which just recently have been replaced to provide to all our guests a good night sleep. We are looking forward to welcome you back to Swissôtel Nankai when you will have another opportunity to traveling to Osaka.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penang Island, Malaysia
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2013

Ideally located as Namba Station is the centre of town (with 30 exits!)
Great reception staff, wonderful housekeeping, everyone could speak English! An advantage over most others.

First, a question for GM Schaufelbuhl, what is the lights (green, blue, then red) that we see below us (fr room 26th floor). Think that it's the restaurant but couldn't access that floor becos we leave very early & come back very late. Hope to come again next year to view this.
The view from room balcony is just stupendous, especially at nite.
Well stocked amenities, even has 2 hair dyers! Impressed with its high pressure shower.
Two thumbs up!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank seeseepg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ch_Schaufelbuhl, General Manager at Swissotel Nankai Osaka, responded to this review, March 3, 2013
Dear Guest, thank you very much for making Swissôtel Nankai Osaka your home away from home and for your kind review. We are glad to hear, that you had a nice stay and find our colleagues great who always provide a service with “Passion for Perfection”. In regards to your question about the lights, it depends to what side you had your room. We are assuming that you had a view to the south and there are tow buildings with changing colors. One is the large shopping complex “Namba Parks” and the other a little further away is the Tsutenkaku Tower, it was created after the Eifel Tower’s prototype and it stands today over 103m. Located in the Shinsekai area, the tower is one of the city’s main attractions due to its panorama of the metropolis from the 5th floor. Opened 7 days a week from 9am, every romantic traveler’s first choice should be Tsutenkaku since it’s so impressive to watch. On top of the tower, one can see red, green and blue lights which signal the weather condition for the following day (red for rain, blue for cloud and green for nice weather). We hope we were able to answer your question and should you have further inquiries, please do not hesitate to contact us directly through email. Thank you very much again and we are looking forward to welcoming you back to Swissôtel Nankai when you travel to Osaka again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sabah
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2013

Was there with my family in February, rooms are clean and size are decent for japan's standard. Very convenient as it's right above the nankai station . Too simple to get there from and to Kansai airport. And it's right at the center of namba , so near to shinsabashi, dontobori.. ect, can't be anymore central enough . =)

Service was fantastic too, we had 12 luggages for 7 of us when we were leaving osaka. The concierge actually helped us with our luggages up to the point where we board the train.Absolutely stunning service and will defo be coming back to this hotel .

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ernest80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ch_Schaufelbuhl, General Manager at Swissotel Nankai Osaka, responded to this review, March 3, 2013
Dear Guest, thank you very much for choosing Swissôtel Nankai for your stay in Osaka and for your very kind review. We are happy that you had a nice stay with us and were able to experience our fantastic service with “Passion for Perfection”. Hopefully we can welcome you back to Swissôtel Nankai Osaka next time you visit Japan.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2013

We considered this pleasant and well managed establishment our vacation home when we visited the Kansai area.

First, the hotel is conveniently located at Namba, an attractive commercial, tourism and transportation hub of Osaka. In addition to easy access of sightseeing spots in Osaka, many popular tourist destinations in Kyoto, Nara and Kobe are all a day's trip from this base.

Second, this beautiful facility is well cared for by the management and service team. Many guest rooms were recently renovated and equipped with improved accommodations. The guest room is spacious comparing to our experiences with some other hotels in Japan.

Third, we have enjoyed the genuine "customer first" service attitude from every service team member over multiple stays at the hotel. Before our recent visit, the reservation and customer relations staff helped resolve a reservation issue which was caused by the online reservation system. During our recent visit, we encountered a minor medical emergency around mid-night after our arrival. The senior Bell Captain and his staff contacted several local hospitals for us. They were able to find an emergency care facility with an English-speaking on-duty doctor. We were very pleased with a fortunate outcome about a totally unexpected event.

We look forward to visiting our home away from home. Swissotel Nankai Osaka, in coming years.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank shellyw99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ch_Schaufelbuhl, General Manager at Swissotel Nankai Osaka, responded to this review, February 24, 2013
Dear Guest, thank you very much for making Swissôtel Nankai your home away from home while visiting Osaka. We are very happy to hear, that you have enjoyed your stay and our newly renovated Swiss Advantage Rooms as well that we were able to assist you in many ways and we truly hope, that you feel better after seeing a doctor here in Osaka. We truly are looking forward to welcoming you back to Swissôtel Nankai during your next visit in Osaka.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2013 via mobile

The GM spoilt us from the moment I enquired about the reservation for our stay in the beginning of February. He surprised us with welcome drink and snacks because it was my partner's birthday, thanks Christian! We managed to get to our room as soon as arrived; the first time when were there, we had to wait until 3pm before we could go to the room! We like our deluxe suite and also the buffet breakfast. They still bake the best croissant :) The location is the best and it's so easy to move around when you stay here. The service we received from all the staff was great. Another great stay and this is a great hotel if you're planning to stay in Namba.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AG1781rtw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ch_Schaufelbuhl, General Manager at Swissotel Nankai Osaka, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Dear Guest, thank you very much for your kind review and message and we are very happy to hear that you and your partner had a great stay at Swissôtel Nankai Osaka and that we were able to providing you with a memorable experience. We are looking forward to welcoming you back to Swissôtel Nankai during your next visit in Osaka.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Osaka hotels
Shinsaibashi / Nanba / Tennoji / South Area
Cross Hotel Osaka
Cross Hotel Osaka
#10 of 307 in Osaka
1,369 reviews
Hotel Nikko Osaka
#18 of 307 in Osaka
1,894 reviews
Shinsaibashi / Nanba / Tennoji / South Area
Holiday Inn Osaka Namba
Holiday Inn Osaka Namba
#26 of 307 in Osaka
764 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shinsaibashi / Nanba / Tennoji / South Area
Hotel Monterey Grasmere Osaka
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swissotel Nankai Osaka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swissotel Nankai Osaka

Property: Swissotel Nankai Osaka
Address: 5-1-60 Namba, Chuo-ku, Osaka 542-0076, Osaka Prefecture
Phone Number:
Location: Japan > Kinki > Osaka Prefecture > Osaka > Shinsaibashi / Nanba / Tennoji / South Area
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Osaka
#4 Business Hotel in Osaka
#4 Family Hotel in Osaka
#7 Luxury Hotel in Osaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Swissotel Nankai Osaka 4*
Number of rooms: 546
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Swissotel Nankai Osaka is a five-star luxury hotel ideally located in the heart of Namba, Osaka’s most exciting entertainment, shopping and dining district. The hotel sits above Namba station and is the only Osaka hotel that offers a direct link to Kansai International Airport with the Rapid Express Train taking just 30 minutes door-to-door. The nearby subway serves as a convenient mode of transportation to many of the popular tourist destinations such as Kyoto, the ancient capital of Nara and the picturesque Kobe. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Fairmont Hotels, Hotels.com, JAPANiCAN, Rakuten, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Swissotel Nankai Osaka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swissotel Nankai Osaka Hotel Osaka
Swissotel Nankai Hotel Osaka
Osaka Swissotel Nankai Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing