We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, great value”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Swissotel Nankai Osaka
Ranked #9 of 322 Hotels / Ryokan in Osaka
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 2, 2013

The hotel is located above the Namba station and easy walking to the entertainment zone. The hotel is modern w very comfortable bed. I was able to find a room last minute at a great rate. I would definitely recommend. I had no complaints.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank omeeda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ch_Schaufelbuhl, General Manager at Swissotel Nankai Osaka, responded to this reviewResponded March 3, 2013

Dear Guest, thank you very much for your kind review and we are very happy to hear, that you like our comfortable beds which just recently have been replaced to provide to all our guests a good night sleep. We are looking forward to welcome you back to Swissôtel Nankai when you will have another opportunity to traveling to Osaka.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,265)
There are newer reviews for Swissotel Nankai Osaka
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,729 - 1,735 of 3,265 reviews

Reviewed February 28, 2013

Ideally located as Namba Station is the centre of town (with 30 exits!)
Great reception staff, wonderful housekeeping, everyone could speak English! An advantage over most others.

First, a question for GM Schaufelbuhl, what is the lights (green, blue, then red) that we see below us (fr room 26th floor). Think that it's the restaurant but couldn't access that floor becos we leave very early & come back very late. Hope to come again next year to view this.
The view from room balcony is just stupendous, especially at nite.
Well stocked amenities, even has 2 hair dyers! Impressed with its high pressure shower.
Two thumbs up!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank seeseepg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ch_Schaufelbuhl, General Manager at Swissotel Nankai Osaka, responded to this reviewResponded March 3, 2013

Dear Guest, thank you very much for making Swissôtel Nankai Osaka your home away from home and for your kind review. We are glad to hear, that you had a nice stay and find our colleagues great who always provide a service with “Passion for Perfection”. In regards to your question about the lights, it depends to what side you had your room. We are assuming that you had a view to the south and there are tow buildings with changing colors. One is the large shopping complex “Namba Parks” and the other a little further away is the Tsutenkaku Tower, it was created after the Eifel Tower’s prototype and it stands today over 103m. Located in the Shinsekai area, the tower is one of the city’s main attractions due to its panorama of the metropolis from the 5th floor. Opened 7 days a week from 9am, every romantic traveler’s first choice should be Tsutenkaku since it’s so impressive to watch. On top of the tower, one can see red, green and blue lights which signal the weather condition for the following day (red for rain, blue for cloud and green for nice weather). We hope we were able to answer your question and should you have further inquiries, please do not hesitate to contact us directly through email. Thank you very much again and we are looking forward to welcoming you back to Swissôtel Nankai when you travel to Osaka again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2013

Was there with my family in February, rooms are clean and size are decent for japan's standard. Very convenient as it's right above the nankai station . Too simple to get there from and to Kansai airport. And it's right at the center of namba , so near to shinsabashi, dontobori.. ect, can't be anymore central enough . =)

Service was fantastic too, we had 12 luggages for 7 of us when we were leaving osaka. The concierge actually helped us with our luggages up to the point where we board the train.Absolutely stunning service and will defo be coming back to this hotel .

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ernest80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ch_Schaufelbuhl, General Manager at Swissotel Nankai Osaka, responded to this reviewResponded March 3, 2013

Dear Guest, thank you very much for choosing Swissôtel Nankai for your stay in Osaka and for your very kind review. We are happy that you had a nice stay with us and were able to experience our fantastic service with “Passion for Perfection”. Hopefully we can welcome you back to Swissôtel Nankai Osaka next time you visit Japan.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2013

We considered this pleasant and well managed establishment our vacation home when we visited the Kansai area.

First, the hotel is conveniently located at Namba, an attractive commercial, tourism and transportation hub of Osaka. In addition to easy access of sightseeing spots in Osaka, many popular tourist destinations in Kyoto, Nara and Kobe are all a day's trip from this base.

Second, this beautiful facility is well cared for by the management and service team. Many guest rooms were recently renovated and equipped with improved accommodations. The guest room is spacious comparing to our experiences with some other hotels in Japan.

Third, we have enjoyed the genuine "customer first" service attitude from every service team member over multiple stays at the hotel. Before our recent visit, the reservation and customer relations staff helped resolve a reservation issue which was caused by the online reservation system. During our recent visit, we encountered a minor medical emergency around mid-night after our arrival. The senior Bell Captain and his staff contacted several local hospitals for us. They were able to find an emergency care facility with an English-speaking on-duty doctor. We were very pleased with a fortunate outcome about a totally unexpected event.

We look forward to visiting our home away from home. Swissotel Nankai Osaka, in coming years.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank shellyw99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ch_Schaufelbuhl, General Manager at Swissotel Nankai Osaka, responded to this reviewResponded February 24, 2013

Dear Guest, thank you very much for making Swissôtel Nankai your home away from home while visiting Osaka. We are very happy to hear, that you have enjoyed your stay and our newly renovated Swiss Advantage Rooms as well that we were able to assist you in many ways and we truly hope, that you feel better after seeing a doctor here in Osaka. We truly are looking forward to welcoming you back to Swissôtel Nankai during your next visit in Osaka.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2013 via mobile

The GM spoilt us from the moment I enquired about the reservation for our stay in the beginning of February. He surprised us with welcome drink and snacks because it was my partner's birthday, thanks Christian! We managed to get to our room as soon as arrived; the first time when were there, we had to wait until 3pm before we could go to the room! We like our deluxe suite and also the buffet breakfast. They still bake the best croissant :) The location is the best and it's so easy to move around when you stay here. The service we received from all the staff was great. Another great stay and this is a great hotel if you're planning to stay in Namba.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AG1781rtw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ch_Schaufelbuhl, General Manager at Swissotel Nankai Osaka, responded to this reviewResponded February 21, 2013

Dear Guest, thank you very much for your kind review and message and we are very happy to hear that you and your partner had a great stay at Swissôtel Nankai Osaka and that we were able to providing you with a memorable experience. We are looking forward to welcoming you back to Swissôtel Nankai during your next visit in Osaka.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2013

We were there in Feb 7th -14th 2013. We stayed in the 22nd floor we booked the advangrade rooms . Room is great size consider japan hotels ! And very new .
Location is great very convenient . Very near shopping area and eateries!
The concierge ( the ladies) are very good very helpful and friendly . They will fully assist you if you have any problems.Is a great hotel to stay !
Try the skybar restaurant is great and they served Italian food and food is good !
At first we were quite worried of how to get our luggages to the train station cause there were 7 adults and a child and we have 12 pieces of luggages of all we know the concierge all assist us to the train station and push all our luggages to the train ( to airport) .
A big thank you to you all the swissotel staffs for such a efficient service ! Rooms are clean . They served Nespresso too ! Great hotel ! I will definitely stay there again if I go to Osaka again ! A big Thank You from us from Malaysia !

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Emily L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ch_Schaufelbuhl, General Manager at Swissotel Nankai Osaka, responded to this reviewResponded February 17, 2013

Dear Guest, thank you very much for your kind review and that you and your family made Swissôtel Nankai your home away from home while in Osaka. We are very happy to hear, that you had a great stay and that you like our new renovated room as well we are very proud that our colleagues showed you their “Passion for Perfection”. Thank you very much again and we are looking forward to welcome you back to Swissôtel Nankai in the hopefully not too distance future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2013

Awesome Hotel Location. Great and Attentive Staff; even if they didn't understand what you are saying they took every means and action to try to understand . Ultimately ~Needs fulfilled.
As we were early arriving at the Hotel, there wasn't a room available for us however they checked us in and we were able to leave our bags at the concierge.This enabled us to go on our adventure touring Osaka minutes after dropping our bags.
My friend our I truly enjoyed our short stay at Swissotel and we look forward to returning again.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank SPYKEMAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ch_Schaufelbuhl, General Manager at Swissotel Nankai Osaka, responded to this reviewResponded February 7, 2013

Dear Guest, thank you very much for staying at Swissôtel Nankai during your visit in Osaka and your kind words. We are very happy to read that you have enjoyed your stay with us and looking forward to welcoming you back to Swissôtel Nankai Osaka again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Osaka hotels
Shinsaibashi / Nanba / Tennoji / South Area
Cross Hotel Osaka
Cross Hotel Osaka
#10 of 322 in Osaka
1,401 reviews
Hotel Nikko Osaka
#18 of 322 in Osaka
1,933 reviews
Shinsaibashi / Nanba / Tennoji / South Area
Hotel Monterey Grasmere Osaka
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shinsaibashi / Nanba / Tennoji / South Area
Holiday Inn Osaka Namba
Holiday Inn Osaka Namba
#23 of 322 in Osaka
793 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swissotel Nankai Osaka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swissotel Nankai Osaka

Address: 5-1-60 Namba, Chuo-ku, Osaka 542-0076, Osaka Prefecture
Phone Number:
Location: Japan > Kinki > Osaka Prefecture > Osaka > Shinsaibashi / Nanba / Tennoji / South Area
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Osaka
#4 Family Hotel in Osaka
#4 Romantic Hotel in Osaka
#7 Luxury Hotel in Osaka
Price Range: $186 - $578 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Swissotel Nankai Osaka 4*
Number of rooms: 546
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Swissotel Nankai Osaka is a five-star luxury hotel ideally located in the heart of Namba, Osaka’s most exciting entertainment, shopping and dining district. The hotel sits above Namba station and is the only Osaka hotel that offers a direct link to Kansai International Airport with the Rapid Express Train taking just 30 minutes door-to-door. The nearby subway serves as a convenient mode of transportation to many of the popular tourist destinations such as Kyoto, the ancient capital of Nara and the picturesque Kobe. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Fairmont Hotels, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, JAPANiCAN, Rakuten, Ctrip TA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Swissotel Nankai Osaka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swissotel Nankai Osaka Hotel Osaka
Swissotel Nankai Hotel Osaka
Osaka Swissotel Nankai Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing