We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best location ever!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
Swissotel Nankai Osaka
Ranked #9 of 307 Hotels / Ryokan in Osaka
Certificate of Excellence
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best location ever!”
Reviewed January 16, 2013

Location is unbeatable. Right above the Nankai Express train station from Kansai airport. Close to major shopping areas such as Namba and Shinsaibasi. Single room was smaller than expected and no free water provided. Stayed on smoking floor hence room was very smoker despite request of an air purifier. Service was good, offered to carry my two big luggages down to train platform upon checkout. Will stay there again when going to Osaka again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BabyCat1231
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ch_Schaufelbuhl, General Manager at Swissotel Nankai Osaka, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
Dear Guest, thank you very much for making Swissôtel Nankai your home away from home while staying in Osaka. We feel sorry to hear that we were not able to provide you with a non smoking room this time but we will always try our best to accommodate our valuable guest’s requests. On the other hand we are very happy to hear, that you find our location the best and that you have experienced a good service. We are looking forward to your next visit to Swissôtel Nankai when you will return to Osaka again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,139 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,769
    1,044
    208
    73
    45
See reviews for
1,317
838
167
289
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (255)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kota Kinabalu, Malaysia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2013

Love the location of this hotel. You could connect from Kansai Airport by Nankai Express Railway and reach hotel in 35 minutes and walk to checkin in 3 minutes.
Located in Namba area is great for food and drink outing around Shinsaibashi,Dotonbori....
Service is not as good as my last stay a year ago except the house-keeping still keep up the standard.
Overall a good stay if its not overpriced.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank dewichen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ch_Schaufelbuhl, General Manager at Swissotel Nankai Osaka, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
Dear Guest, thank you very much for your valuable feedback and that you have chosen Swissôtel Nankai again during your stay in Osaka. We appreciate your comment and glad to hear that you love our location as well that we were able to maintain our house-keeping standards. Please check out our Swissôtel Nankai internet site for best rates in the future as we always have very attractive packages available. We hope we can welcome you back to our hotel during your next stay in Osaka.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
55 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2013

we stayed for 5 nights during Christmas 2012, as couple.

The location of the hotel is perfect, close to everything, and right in the heart of Osaka, and loads of different restaurants around.

The hotel room is quite big when you compare to other hotels in Japan, at least we can move around with the suitcases =)

Staff in the hotel are very helpful, and all of them speak fluent English, which is quite rare in Japan.

Highly recommended, and will definitely go again!

Room Tip: Ask for high level
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Kris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ch_Schaufelbuhl, General Manager at Swissotel Nankai Osaka, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
Dear Guest, thank you very much for spending Christmas at Swissôtel Nankai Osaka and we are very happy to hear, that you had a great stay with us as well that you like our spacious rooms and that our English speaking Team Members were very helpful. We hope we can welcome you back to Swissôtel Nankai again when you plan another trip to Osaka.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hiroshima Prefecture, Japan
Level Contributor
76 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2013

Booked kids room special (connecting rooms) for a one night stay. Got connecting swiss advantage rooms on the 16th floor. Nice room althought the double room was quite a bit smaller than the twin room. It didn't spoil our stay. Rooms well appointed and clean. Everything was in working order. The Nespresso coffee maker was excellent. Buffet breakfast on the 36th flloor also without complaints and enough choice! Great view of Osaka. Only one negative moment and that was during check-out. There was a mistake in the bill and it took some time to correct it.

Room Tip: Go for the twin room for some more space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jans_family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ch_Schaufelbuhl, General Manager at Swissotel Nankai Osaka, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
Dear Guest, thank you very much for your kind review and that you made Swissôtel Nankai your home away from home while visiting Osaka with your family. We are very happy to hear that you have enjoyed your stay, our location as well our newly renovated Swiss Advantage rooms with many additional amenities. We appreciate as well your comment about the check-out process and apologize that we made a mistake that we were not able to rectify the problem immediately. Feedback like yours is very important for us to improve our service as well have specific trainings in order to provide our valuable guests a memorable stay. Hopefully you will be able to return to Osaka and stay again with Swissôtel Nankai.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pasig
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2013

I always travel with loads of cleaning disinfectants to spray the room of the hotel. In this hotel, all i did was disinfect the tv remote and the phones because the room was very clean.
The location is excellent! The staff are so courteous just like everyone in Osaka were.
We just came at the peak season so the price was a bit high.
We love Osaka and the hotel. My family will definitely come back!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank addictshopper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ch_Schaufelbuhl, General Manager at Swissotel Nankai Osaka, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
Dear Guest, thank you very much for your feedback and that you made Swissôtel Nankai Osaka your home away from home with your family. It is great to hear that you find our rooms very clean and we are thrilled that you had an awesome stay with us. We are looking forward to welcome you and your family back to Swissôtel Nankai during your next visit in Osaka.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bandung, Indonesia
Level Contributor
136 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2013

If you are new to Osaka then this hotel would be a great place to stay, especially if you come with your children. First of all, the location is superb. There is a direct train from Kansai Airport to the station underneath the hotel. This station can also take you to the rest of Osaka. If you need something to eat, Namba is just a stone throw away (10 minutes walk from the lobby to Dotonbori). Takashimaya's Food Hall downstair is also excellent. As for the hotel itself, the rooms, the breakfast and the service are all beyond our expectation. We booked the swissadvantage rooms and they are very spacious. Also, a big thank you to the staffs for assisting us finding a doctor when our son was sick. We will definitely return to this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank LaMadameEtSonChien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ch_Schaufelbuhl, General Manager at Swissotel Nankai Osaka, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Dear guest, thank you very much for your kind review and staying at Swissôtel Nankai Osaka during your visit in Japan. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and our convenient location to various facilities. In addition, we are happy to hear that our team members were able to assist you finding a doctor when your child was sick. We sincerely hope he got better quickly afterwards. We look forward to welcoming you back again to Swissôtel Nankai Osaka.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine, California
Level Contributor
131 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2013

A western first class quality hotel (swissadvantage room 23rd floor) at reasonable price. Very spacious room for triple (the third is sofa bed). Great location, the limo bus to and from Itami is right outside Namba / the hotel building. Very practical since train to Koya also leaves from the train inside Namba. Takashimaya dept store and Namba Park dept store is in the building / adjacent. Definitely a keep.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank simpangratis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ch_Schaufelbuhl, General Manager at Swissotel Nankai Osaka, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Dear guest, thank you very much for choosing Swissôtel Nankai for your home away from home in Osaka. We are very glad to hear that you had a pleasant stay in our newly renovated Swiss Advantage room and that you like our convenient location to various public transportations and facilities. We are looking forward to welcoming you back again to our hotel in a not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Osaka hotels
Shinsaibashi / Nanba / Tennoji / South Area
Cross Hotel Osaka
Cross Hotel Osaka
#10 of 307 in Osaka
1,351 reviews
Shinsaibashi / Nanba / Tennoji / South Area
Holiday Inn Osaka Namba
Holiday Inn Osaka Namba
#26 of 307 in Osaka
756 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shinsaibashi / Nanba / Tennoji / South Area
Hotel Monterey Grasmere Osaka
Hotel Nikko Osaka
#19 of 307 in Osaka
1,877 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swissotel Nankai Osaka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swissotel Nankai Osaka

Property: Swissotel Nankai Osaka
Address: 5-1-60 Namba, Chuo-ku, Osaka 542-0076, Osaka Prefecture
Phone Number:
Location: Japan > Kinki > Osaka Prefecture > Osaka > Shinsaibashi / Nanba / Tennoji / South Area
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Osaka
#4 Romantic Hotel in Osaka
#4 Business Hotel in Osaka
#7 Luxury Hotel in Osaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Swissotel Nankai Osaka 4*
Number of rooms: 546
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Swissotel Nankai Osaka is a five-star luxury hotel ideally located in the heart of Namba, Osaka’s most exciting entertainment, shopping and dining district. The hotel sits above Namba station and is the only Osaka hotel that offers a direct link to Kansai International Airport with the Rapid Express Train taking just 30 minutes door-to-door. The nearby subway serves as a convenient mode of transportation to many of the popular tourist destinations such as Kyoto, the ancient capital of Nara and the picturesque Kobe. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Fairmont Hotels, Agoda, Rakuten, Hotwire, JAPANiCAN, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Hotel.de, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Swissotel Nankai Osaka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swissotel Nankai Osaka Hotel Osaka
Swissotel Nankai Hotel Osaka
Osaka Swissotel Nankai Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing