We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Comfort Hotel Osaka Shinsaibashi
Ranked #121 of 342 Hotels / Ryokan in Osaka
Reviewed June 11, 2009

This hotel is a typical 3-star business hotel and located close to Namba station - about 15-20 min walking distance (with luggage; the hotel mentions 10 min which is defintely underestimated) and 5 min from Shinsaibashi underground station. The athmospere is a bit "motel-like". There are lot (!) of restaurants & shops in this area.

Our room was tiny (normal size for Japan) but the interior was quite new. Free WLAN is provided. (Simple) breakfast is included too.

I rate this hotel with 4 points especially for a quite "modern" athmosphere, a good value for money and it's location.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Zuckerbussi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (272)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

51 - 57 of 272 reviews

Reviewed May 26, 2009

On a trip through Japan my husband and I stayed here our very first night in the land of the rising sun. It's *fairly* easy to find, and in a great location just off the Shinsaibashi arcades, near shopping and restaurants. The staff was nice and had good English, and there was a free breakfast included.

Okay, the bathroom was a lot like one on an airplane (with a shower thrown in), and the bedroom is like a very shabby dorm room, but it's cheap and in a nice location. It worked well for us to stay here briefly before moving on (to the Cross Hotel). Don't expect much, and then this will just be a cheap place to crash amidst exploring. Osaka itself was great! We saw sumo, the aquarium, Osaka-Jo, and had some seriously yummy food.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank kate_portland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2009

We stayed at this hotel for 3 days/2 nights. Our hotel room was small, like most Japanese hotel rooms, however there was more than enough room for 2 big suitcases etc. The room was very clean and the staff were quite friendly.

The hotel is located very close to shops, pubs and lots of eateries. It's only a very short walk to Americo Muro.

The only issue we had was that we had problems with our air conditioning in the room and no one could help us try and figure out how to work the room controls.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Clairie2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2009

This hotel was perfect for our trip. The staff were lovely and so helpful. We were travelling with a 1 year old and they really catered to our needs. There is a washer/dryer in the hotel which was very convenient and location wise it is perfect. I have no problem recommending the hotel. The beds were very generous for a twin room. My sister advised that the double beds were the same size as a single in the twin room. The noise levels were the only issue as you can hear a pin drop in the next room.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Michelle P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2009

We stayed in a semi-double room at the comfort hotel Shinsaibashi in November 2008 and it was by far our favourite hotel of the trip. You could not get a better location for the hotel- just 2 minutes walk to Shinsaibashi, one endless strip of shopping, entertainment and dining. The room was clean with capsule bathroom and spacious enough for 2 people to stay comfortably, including a desk and chair along one wall, LCD tv and small bar fridge. Although small, the capsule bathroom was clean and had a modern japanese toilet. The whole hotel is impeccably clean and room service came every day. Hotel staff spoke some english and were friendly, helpful and polite. On our last day they even held our luggage after check-out. Our only complaint was that the hotel was centrally heated for winter and the air-conditioning could not be turned onto cooler air during one unusually warm night, so we had to open the window and had a few mosquitoes fly in :(

Breakfast at the comfort hotel was varied with an assortment of japanese and western foods. These included onigiri (cold japanese rice balls), fruit salad packs, yoghurt, assorted pastries and croisssants, orange juice, tea and coffee.

Some reviewers expressed difficulty in finding the hotel although we didn't experience any trouble. From JR umeda station, catch the midosuji (red) "M" subway line from M16 (the subway line interconnects with the main JR station) to M19. From the Shinsaibashi subway station (red M line), take the exit up a ramp with Daimaru department store on your right (i think it was exit 6), turn right and walk down the main shopping strip for 2 blocks. At the traffic lights, take a left-hand turn and continue walking straight for 3 blocks (past 3 intersecting streets). You will pass a convenience store on your right as you walk down. If you pass a convenience store on your left you have walked a little too far. Comfort hotel is on the corner with the third intersecting street with a small sign on the curb. If you get lost, the address is "1-15 Higashishinsaibashi, Chuo-ku". Write this down and point to the address and ask "sumimasen- kono jyusho wa doko des ka?"(excuse me, where is this address?) Or say, "sumimasen, comfort hoteru shinsaibashi wa doko des ka?" (where is the comfort hotel shinsaibashi?). Leaving Osaka, we chose to just walk the kilometre or so with our suitcases to the JR station so that we didn't have to wheel our luggage up and down stairs. As the shopping strip is flat this posed no problems and was easier as we then knew our way around shinsaibashi.

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mandz8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2009

For the price, you get a clean room with free internet, free breakfast and fantastic location. I forgot to bring my wireless card but they had a set at the front desk and the staff were more than happy to lend it to me.
The daily breakfast is also great as it saves you the trouble of looking for somewhere to eat first thing in the morning. You get a basic but very decent choice of pastries, cereal, Japanese rice balls, salad, fruit, juice and coffee/tea. If this is not to your taste, it's enough to fill your stomach up and fuel you up first thing in the morning for you to go searching for something more to your liking.
As for the location, you're right in the heart of Dotonbori so there's enough to keep you going for a few nights.
Nothing at all to complain about! Fantastic hotel for it's price.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank finendandy21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2009

Arrived around 10 pm and no problem finding the hotel as I took a taxi from the bus station where the airport bus drops you off at.

Check in was quick and efficient and the front desk staff had a good knowledge of English. Had booked the standard single room for 6048 Yen per night which at the time was about $61 Australian dollars at that time August 2008 was getting over 95 Yen to the Australian dollar and pretty good value for Japan.

The room was spotlessly clean and had everything you could want from a basic no frills hotel except space. Room 918 was from what I can gather was a typical single room. A small entry hall with a very handy small closet, no door on it and not really wide enough for a standard suitcase but big enough for your carry on luggage at least you can get it out of the way and you can hang a few clothes in, but not too many. The bathroom is one of those pre-fabricated module ones, again tiny but has what you need, a very deep but short bath, sink and high-tech electronic toilet and all the usual amenities that Japanese hotels seem to provide, just don’t expect any room, and because it is a prefabricated modular thing, from the room to get into it is a step about 10 inches or 20 cm high you have to manage and getting out there is about a 3 inch or 8 cm step to get up, which may be a problem for some people. The actual room is nice enough , has a comfortable bed, desk, chair, TV, fridge, hot water pot and free internet connection, but you will need to get a kit from the front desk to use it.

The hotel is in a very convenient location about two or three blocks from the main shopping district, maybe another block to the subway station and surrounded by small shops and restaurants. Plenty to see in the area and a short walk to the river. My room had a nice view of the city towards the river, but I suspect rooms on the opposite side of the building have less of a view.

Breakfast was included in my rate and was a typical continental style Comfort Inn set up with a few Japanese items as well. They also have some handy vending machines, washer and dryer and pc if you don’t have your own laptop.

Despite the small size of the room I highly recommend this hotel to anyone requiring a clean no frills basic accommodation On my return to Osaka I stayed at another hotel the Cross Hotel and a much better hotel, but around twice the price.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank minicooperdownunder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Osaka hotels
Shinsaibashi / Nanba / Tennoji / South Area
Hearton Hotel Shinsaibashi
Shinsaibashi / Nanba / Tennoji / South Area
Hotel Villa Fontaine Shinsaibashi
Shinsaibashi / Nanba / Tennoji / South Area
Best Western Hotel Fino Osaka Shinsaibashi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shinsaibashi / Nanba / Tennoji / South Area
Red Roof Plus Osaka Namba
Shinsaibashi / Nanba / Tennoji / South Area
Nishitetsu Inn Shinsaibashi
Shinsaibashi / Nanba / Tennoji / South Area
Holiday Inn Osaka Namba
Holiday Inn Osaka Namba
#25 of 342 in Osaka
826 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Hotel Osaka Shinsaibashi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Hotel Osaka Shinsaibashi

Address: 1-15-15 Higashi-Shinsaibashi Chuo-ku, Osaka 542-0083, Osaka Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kinki > Osaka Prefecture > Osaka > Shinsaibashi / Nanba / Tennoji / South Area
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#29 Family Hotel in Osaka
Price Range: $81 - $201 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Comfort Hotel Osaka Shinsaibashi 3*
Number of rooms: 193
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, JAPANiCAN, Rakuten, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Comfort Hotel Osaka Shinsaibashi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Osaka

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing