We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location. great service ,helpful staff!!”
Review of La Kongo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
La Kongo
Ranked #152 of 283 Specialty lodging in Osaka
Reviewed July 28, 2013

Located nearly Doutonburi (Shopping area) just 5 mins walk! Even though the room was quite tiny but the staff was very friendly , helpful........He's very strong and always try to help us carry my luggages. :)

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank May P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (31)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

15 - 21 of 31 reviews

Reviewed May 28, 2013 via mobile

The guest house is very well located close to the sleepless area of Namba. It's served through 2 metro lines: the pink line (3 mns walk from station) and the red line (10mns walk from the station). Rooms are extremely clean but quiet small and so is the bathroom but well breaking news: this is Japan! The staff is very nice, polite and professional (just like the rest of the Japanese). Overall: excellent location, excellent value for money, safe and very clean: what else to ask for?:-)

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrFrequentTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2013

I stayed here last year for a couple of nights and loved the place. Firstly the room was amazing, by western standards it was really big, by Japanese standards it was huuuuuugggge!
I stayed with my boyfriend and we had 2 double beds, a sofa, a t.v, and floor to ceiling windows. It was very clean also.
The location is just perfect, in one minute you are right in Dotonburi area which is great and there is a subway station only 5 minutes away. The restaurant was also superb. We were really trying to only eat Japanese food, but when we saw the Nepali restaurant and smelled the food we couldn't resist and it was delicious! We also had a great time talking to the Nepali man that works there.
Overall we had a great time there and would definitely return if we had the chance.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank geegCork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2013

I stayed at La Kongo for 3 nights during Golden Week, it's really close to Dotonbori which is a bustling place at night with loads of places to eat and drink. The room was very small but clean and the futon was very comfortable. Service was great and they have some excellent (I'm told, I don't drink beer) Nepalese beer at the bar.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LEldekvist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2013

Stayed at La Kongo for 5 nights in March and had a good time with Visnu (the nepal guy who hosted the whole place).

La kongo offered a very hospitable place to stay with clean rooms, comfortable beds and free laundry service. We had a nice time when we were there. Visnu made everything right with his input on Japan and shared many stories with where we all came from.

His recommendation on eateries were spot on. If you decide to choose to stay there, you must try the restaurant opp this guesthouse which offered bbq food which was tasty and a class of its own.

Will come back to stay if I was to go to Osaka again.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank desfindo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2013

This is basically a tiny and clean Guest House a couple of minutes walk from the centre of Osaka's foodie district. Although our room was tiny - a bed and a very small bathroom - it was very clean and absolutely fine for what we needed.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LondonZoeJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2013

Staff, service & price are very very good. The whole building is very clean and it is just 10-15min walk from Dotonbori area. The only thing that makes it not perfect is that it has no lift. Will stay here in my next trip to Osaka.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank halohas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Osaka hotels
0.4 mi away
Namba Guest House Sakura
Namba Guest House Sakura
#83 of 283 in Osaka
10 reviews
0.1 mi away
Fuku Hostel Nagomi
Fuku Hostel Nagomi
#2 of 283 in Osaka
163 reviews
1.2 mi away
Home Hostel Osaka
Home Hostel Osaka
#45 of 283 in Osaka
9 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Peace House Showa
Peace House Showa
#163 of 283 in Osaka
41 reviews
0.0 mi away
Osaka Namba Hostel Miyabi
0.2 mi away
Dotombori Base
Dotombori Base
#159 of 283 in Osaka
1 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Kongo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Kongo

Address: 5-11 1chomehigashi, Dotonbori, Osaka 542-0077, Osaka Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kinki > Osaka Prefecture > Osaka
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #152 of 283 Specialty lodging in Osaka
Price Range: $22 - $149 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Kongo 2.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, Hotwire, Rakuten and TripOnline SA so you can book your La Kongo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing