We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great market” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kuromon Market

Kuromon Market
Book In Advance
More Info
$77.99*
and up
Small-group Kansai Soul Tour in Osaka including Japanese Snacks
Ranked #10 of 856 things to do in Osaka
Certificate of Excellence
Sungai Buloh, Selangor, Malaysia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great market”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2014

I visted Kuromon Ichiba with my family in November 2013.

Plenty of fresh food, fruits & vegetables.

Sashimi prices are relatively cheaper then restaurants.

We ate a whole big Hokkaido crab for JPY3,800. It is much cheaper to eat Hokkaido crab in the market then at Dotombori.

There are many types of food at this market. You buy & eat along the way.

There is a local supermarket that opens 24 hours.

If you are looking for a bargain please come to Kuromon Ichiba after 5pm. Some food & fruits are given discounts.

We enjoy ourselves eating at the market. Great eating experience.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank JenneelimKL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,619 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    600
    662
    296
    44
    17
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Great place to feel local”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2014

It's just a stone throw away from our hotel, hotel hillarys.

On the way to Nihonbashi station, we walked through this local market. It caters for both local and tourists. You will be able to see plenty of local food and souvenirs.

There is a big supermarket where they sell a lot of food and fruits. We bought a big persimmon for only 100 yen. It;s sweet and crunchy. We were regret that we didnt buy more.

for a small amount, you will be able to get the fresh taste of some food like BBQ scallop, oyster, shashimi, omochi, kobe beef, pickle etc.

It worths a visit.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank zhiyun08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur
Level Contributor
43 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Ordinary local market”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2014

I read some good reviews about Kuromon Ichiba and also browsed through their official website. However, it did not turn out to be the same as what I read.

We visited Kaiyukan in the morning and reached Namba station by subway. Asked around for direction but was told that it would take 15-20 min. walk and it sounded so complicated to walk there. So, we took a taxi.

We found a local sushi outlet and had some sushi, sashimi and a mini shabu-shabu at very reasonable price. There are not many stalls as compared to Nishiki Market in Kyoto, although local produce really look attractive being displayed in each stall and the price seem to be reasonable.

Toilet is available here and surprisingly there is also fee wifi near toilet area.

Not a 'must visit' place in Osaka unless you really have spare time and wish to see a local market.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank chanlil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
140 reviews
98 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“A Sensory Treat”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2013

kuromon ichiba is a 5 min walk from Nipponbashi subway station. It is a sensory treat as you get to see and sample local Japanese delicacies - pickled vegetables, fresh fish including fugu and beef. I liked the way the Japanese layout their produce. Checkout the juicy kobe beef at a corner store - cheap & good

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank RickFun35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
171 reviews
67 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
“Don't expect Ueno”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2013 via mobile

This market is a stones throw from Swissotel Nankai Hotel. Ueno, Tokyo is my standard of flea market in Japan. Kuromon is small
Within the area are 2 larger fresh produce shops which have value for money items especially seasonal fruits. My family enjoyed bargain strawberries and juicy persimmons. There are several fresh meat and seafood sellers. Many of them offer fresh sashimi and sushi but prices are quite touristy. There was only one meat seller who also cooks the wagyu meat to order. This was the only stall we ate twice in the 8 days we stayed in Osaka.
I would definitely visit Kuromon if I stayed in the Namba area but not otherwise.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank AlvinCK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kuromon Market also viewed

Osaka, Osaka Prefecture
Osaka, Osaka Prefecture
 
Osaka, Osaka Prefecture
Osaka, Osaka Prefecture
 

Been to Kuromon Market? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing