We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel - Excellent location and service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Fraser Residence Nankai Osaka
Ranked #5 of 322 Hotels / Ryokan in Osaka
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 8, 2014

Stayed 5 nights in a 1-bedroom suite.

Impressed by the following during my stay:
- Excellent hotel location in the heart of Namba, Osaka - the subway station is just 5 minutes walk from the hotel. However, the JR train station is slightly further, around 10 minutes away (a pleasant stroll during early spring). There are numerous shopping malls and eateries around the hotel. Dotonbori, Amerikamura, Shinsaibashi and Kuromon Ichiba are all within walking distance from the hotel.

- Excellent hospitality shown by the all hotel staff - Hotel staff are always ready to assist, polite, cheerful and most importantly, speaks good English. The assistant sales manager even emailed directions from Kansai airport to the hotel few days before my trip to Osaka. We flew in to Osaka early in the morning and was at the hotel around 9am, the hotel staff showed us to the guest lounge where we were able to freshen up before continuing our journey to Kyoto. She was even attentive enough to pass me a package which I was expecting even before I had the chance to enquire about it. By the time we got back from Kyoto in the evening, our luggages are all in the room, was glad that we didn't have to go through the whole checking in process again.

- Well-equipped room - we have washer/dryer (you can buy detergent from front desk), tv + dvd player + music player, microwave, air purifier in our room. The washer is especially helpful for travelers on long trips. The bed is huge and comfortable, a great place to rest after a full day of sight-seeing/shopping.

However, there are certain things that needed improvements on:
- Tea bags and coffee wasn't replenished by housekeeping during my stay in the hotel. We had to call up reception to ask for green tea and coffee almost on a daily basis. Nevertheless, they are usually quite apologetic and prompt in responding to our request.

- Breakfast provided by the hotel is not as great compared to other eateries around the hotel. Breakfast is a very simple Japanese or western breakfast set, and it is the same menu throughout my stay. I am sure the hotel will be able to come out with more variety and tastier food for the guests.

Overall, we are extremely satisfied with our stay in Fraser Residence Hotel. Will definitely consider staying in this hotel if we ever travel to Osaka again!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank hkeng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (957)
There are newer reviews for Fraser Residence Nankai Osaka
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

373 - 379 of 957 reviews

Reviewed April 6, 2014

My first stay in Fraser Residence, and we have an excellent time.

I had a 1bedroom suite with king size bed, love the spaciousness, the cleanness in the room. I had a gd view that faces part of Namba City and Namba Park. Although there was a little hipcups in my room where my room was ready much later after 4pm instead but the staff were very polite and apologetic.

Fully facilitate room, and the one thing that we loved with the washer cum dryer! It was nice to find a washer do some laundry for a long trip. You can purchase the detergent from the reception or you could get from any shop round the corner in Namba. There was well equipped kitchen. It was very thoughtful to find air purifier in the room, and a walk-in wardrobe. It was a cosy place where I feel @ home.

For people who are keen to visit the Osaka Aquarium KAIYUKAN, do check out the reception for more details, as they sell the Aquarium pass that comes with a single day pass for subway (gd deal). So it will be gd plan out your plan for the day fully utilize the subway pass

Nothing to complain about the location, right next to Namba station where you can find lots of places to visit. Location was simply awesome

Do ask the reception for advise for places to visit, and how to travel around. It was a pity that I could not recall the name of the staff now, but I sure did write a an excellent feedback for her excellent service when I remembered her name when I was staying there.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Regina L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2014

A great apartment with two bedrooms, two bathrooms, and an open kitchen/living-room solution. The kitchen was well equipped with cooking pans, plates, glasses and cutlery. It also contained a hot water pot, a microwave oven, a stove, coffee maker (tea bags, instant coffee and coffee pods were supplied free of charge), dish washer and a combined washer/dryer. The bathrooms had advanced heated toilets with bidet functions, etc. The apartment came with a binder with manuals for all equipment in english and japanese.

The location was perfect, close to shopping and public transportation in the bustling Namba area.

The staff was friendly and professional. We made our enquiry by email and received a booking confirmation the next day, along with description how to take the train from Kensai International Airport to Fraser Residence. Payment was made on check-in.

Highly recommended!

Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
2  Thank Trond B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2014

My second time staying at Fraser Residence, still very satisfied and impressed with their service, location, the cleanliness and spaciousness of the room (me and my friend were staying at the 1 bedroom apartment). Very, very close to Namba Nankai station, go out from the south exit of the station, go out to the Namba Park area and there will be elevator going to ground floor level, turn left and walk across the street with traffic light and you will see Fraser residence behind the 130 Yen okonomiyaki shop. It only took us 5 minutes from the station to the hotel!!! Room is so spacious and clean. During my last stay in June 2013, the toiletries were not replenished everyday but this time they replenished the toiletries every day! Hotel staff were pleasant and polite, they even helped me with restaurant reservation, we are very thankful of that. On our departure day, we had to check out earlier to catch a morning flight, was trying to ask whether we could have breakfast earlier than 7am (the restaurant at ground floor of the hotel only opens at 7am), hotel staff helped us to arrange and we managed to have our breakfast at 6:45am, very thankful of their great service. Will stay there again when I go to Osaka.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alytan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2014

Close to train station and such a change to have a large apartment after the typical small roomed hotels in Japan.
We'll positioned for transport and shopping.
Comfy bed, friendly staff, very clean. Fantastic!!

Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Mary12Auckland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2014

I can't rate this place highly enough - squeaky clean, well appointed, quiet room, great location, tasty breakfast, but the truly outstanding thing is the staff. We arrived at 9.30am and the our room (1 bed apartment) was ready (much to our delight after travelling for over 25 hours). The check-in staff were just so friendly and welcoming. The next day, when I was unwell, not only did the front desk staff point my husband in the direction of the pharmacy, she actually walked him a full block to one and suggested which medications to purchase. Over the rest of the stay, their assistance continued, from directions, to translating web pages when google translate did not work, or for restaurant recommendations. The cleaning staff were also great. The price was also very reasonable. I will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Skaat88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2014

We've found that when travelling in Japan, proximity to a JR rail station makes life so much easier. We arrived in Osaka in the evening, found our way to a train, hopped off 30 minutes later at the Namba station, then walked 300 metres following the excellent instructions to the hotel. My first hour in japan couldn't have gone easier. The location is perfect, and even though we were upgraded rooms, this hotel was fabulous. Modern, clean, super friendly and helpful staff, it was a winner. It also had a decent gym and a sitting area/library. The breakfast inside the hotel was very minimal with three options, but they have a second breakfast restaurant actually inside namba station that was better (and only a couple of hundred metres easy walk). We had great ramen from a restaurant directly across the road from the hotel so try that too. The shopping in Dontomburi (easy 15 min walk) has amaze ball shopping but the crowds were insane. Still worth it though! Do stay at the Fraser, it was just perfect!

Room Tip: Ask for a room high up for the view
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Boyos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Osaka hotels
Shinsaibashi / Nanba / Tennoji / South Area
Swissotel Nankai Osaka
Shinsaibashi / Nanba / Tennoji / South Area
Cross Hotel Osaka
Cross Hotel Osaka
#10 of 322 in Osaka
1,401 reviews
Shinsaibashi / Nanba / Tennoji / South Area
Holiday Inn Osaka Namba
Holiday Inn Osaka Namba
#23 of 322 in Osaka
793 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Nikko Osaka
#18 of 322 in Osaka
1,933 reviews
Shinsaibashi / Nanba / Tennoji / South Area
Hotel Monterey Grasmere Osaka
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fraser Residence Nankai Osaka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fraser Residence Nankai Osaka

Address: 1-17-11 Nambanaka, Naniwa-ku, Osaka 556-0011, Osaka Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kinki > Osaka Prefecture > Osaka > Shinsaibashi / Nanba / Tennoji / South Area
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Osaka
#3 Family Hotel in Osaka
#5 Luxury Hotel in Osaka
#11 Business Hotel in Osaka
Price Range: $161 - $598 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Fraser Residence Nankai Osaka 4*
Number of rooms: 114
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are the first International Serviced Residence in Osaka. Ideally located for business ana leisure, just 2 minites from the airport train staion. Ideal for long term stay as well as short term, from 1 night. Fully equipped with Washing/Dryer machine, Kitchennette, and connected free WiFi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, JAPANiCAN, Orbitz, Agoda, Booking.com, Rakuten, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Fraser Residence Nankai Osaka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fraser Residence Nankai Osaka Hotel Osaka

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing