We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value. Worth every penny”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Fraser Residence Nankai Osaka
Ranked #5 of 322 Hotels / Ryokan in Osaka
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 14, 2013

Stayed there twice in our 5-day trip in Kansai during CNY. The location is great - Dotonbori is just 5 mins walk away and easy access to subway/train to either Umeda or KIX. Spacious room and fully equipped. However it's a shame that we did not get to use the kitchen because food in Dotonbori is just great and affordable (thanks to JPY depreciation). Great concierge service and well-coordinated front desk staff as they dealt with all my requests perfectly. However I think housekeeping has some room for improvement - during my second stay the sofa and carpet in my room were a bit dirty (by Japanese standard) when I checked in.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank exploreryacht
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (957)
There are newer reviews for Fraser Residence Nankai Osaka
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

542 - 548 of 957 reviews

Reviewed January 31, 2013

This was the second time we'd stayed at the Fraser Residences Osaka and it was just as good as last time. Again we stayed in the one bedroom deluxe apartment, although this time we got a higher floor so we had nice views across the the Namba Parks mall area which had winter illuminations.
I don't think it's the size of these apartments which works so well, as much as the layout. You get a nice bedroom with really useful wardrobe space, and then another room with a lounge and small kitchen area. I think it's the kitchen part which is so useful. You have a washer/dryer machine you can use, as well as a cook-top and microwave/toaster. It might take you a couple of minutes to work out how all the utilities work, there are English guides in the room, but still there are a lot of buttons on some of them.
The staff have always been very happy to help, and they seem to market deliberately to English speaking countries so they have excellent English skills too.
As ever in Japan there are convenience stores nearby (hint: the Family Mart over the road is better than the Sunkus) and the combination of these and the kitchen facilities can make eating very cheap. Note the microwave also toasts bread, which we figured out when we were making breakfast!
Also directly opposite is Ippudo, which is a ramen restaurant with outlets in most cities across Japan. I love these places, they give a real authentic experience of sitting at a bench with a load of strangers all eating their ramen. The thing is that Ippudo is non-smoking, which really makes it stand out from a lot of similar eateries, which almost never are. Also their ramen is awesome, don't be put off by the menu outside, they have an English one inside and will help you out. Although to be honest their menu only has about 5 things on, and you could do a lot worse than just pick the "red bowl" or the "white bowl"!
The Fraser residence is also right next to Namba station, if you get the Rapito train from the airport, there's actually a sign for hotel as you leave the platform. You simply go left, leave the station and cross a road and there it is on your right. Less than 2 minutes from the station building.
Like everyone else here I can't recommend this place highly enough, we'd always stay here if we're in South Osaka.

Room Tip: Ask for a higher room, you'll get a better view across to Namba Parks.
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank geoffrey_matt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2013

The Fraser Residence was really a gem, positioned right in the center of Osaka. Beyond the very central location, the rooms were very clean, modern, and somewhat spacious by Japanese standards. Rather than room, I should really call it an apartment, as it had a washing machine, dryer, and kitchenette. Breakfast, which was included, was one of the better hotel breakfasts we had during our trip to Japan.

Overall, this place is just a great value for the money, in the best part of town, and I would definitely stay here again if I returned to Osaka.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2013

We had the pleasure of staying at Fraser Residence Nankai Osaka in January 2013. Traveling with 2 young children, the additional space of the apartment was a real bonus. The apartment was beautifully maintained with a fantastic view of an evening. Walking distance to city conveniences such as restaurants, public transport and Takashimaya department store, you could not ask for a better location.
We did have some difficulties with a miss communication when booking through an online hotel booking site (an adjoining room, was actually a studio apartment). However, this was no fault of the hotel. Once communicating with them directly, the service was superb and they accommodated our family very comfortably. Would recommend Fraser Residence to anyone visiting Osaka.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HappyTravellerB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2013

So nice,a must if you are planning a trip to Osaka,great location,near all the action,restaurants,great shopping,near subway and train station.the Fraser is a boutique modern type hôtel offering nice ammenities,in room washer dryer,fridge,micro kitchen,flat tv,dvd player,hair blower,iron and iron board,very clean and modetn and what a fantastic view of Osaka'sskyline. I would highly recommend this place and breakfast is included,great value for the money!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SUEBIDOUX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2013

Every thing is good as I rated above. We liked the room the most. You can't find any spacious room with this price in the big city of Japan. Fraser Residence Nankai Osaka will be always our first choice for any future trip to Osaka.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
1  Thank Hsiao-Mei L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in a 2 bedroom apartment which was great! Very clean and room a decent size with all amenities we needed. Breakfast included was a bit basic but easier than navigating a Japanese version outside of the hotel. Location was the highlight, 5 min walk from interesting lane way restaurants and bars. Definitely would stay here again

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stephsydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Osaka hotels
Shinsaibashi / Nanba / Tennoji / South Area
Swissotel Nankai Osaka
Shinsaibashi / Nanba / Tennoji / South Area
Cross Hotel Osaka
Cross Hotel Osaka
#10 of 322 in Osaka
1,401 reviews
Shinsaibashi / Nanba / Tennoji / South Area
Holiday Inn Osaka Namba
Holiday Inn Osaka Namba
#23 of 322 in Osaka
793 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Nikko Osaka
#18 of 322 in Osaka
1,933 reviews
Shinsaibashi / Nanba / Tennoji / South Area
Hotel Monterey Grasmere Osaka
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fraser Residence Nankai Osaka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fraser Residence Nankai Osaka

Address: 1-17-11 Nambanaka, Naniwa-ku, Osaka 556-0011, Osaka Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kinki > Osaka Prefecture > Osaka > Shinsaibashi / Nanba / Tennoji / South Area
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Osaka
#3 Romantic Hotel in Osaka
#5 Luxury Hotel in Osaka
#11 Business Hotel in Osaka
Price Range: $161 - $598 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Fraser Residence Nankai Osaka 4*
Number of rooms: 114
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are the first International Serviced Residence in Osaka. Ideally located for business ana leisure, just 2 minites from the airport train staion. Ideal for long term stay as well as short term, from 1 night. Fully equipped with Washing/Dryer machine, Kitchennette, and connected free WiFi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Rakuten, Agoda, Orbitz, Expedia, JAPANiCAN, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Fraser Residence Nankai Osaka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fraser Residence Nankai Osaka Hotel Osaka

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing