We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful location and excellent value”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Fraser Residence Nankai Osaka
Ranked #4 of 351 Hotels / Ryokan in Osaka
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 11, 2012

1st of all, great location super near the Namba train station from the airport and the subways. Just a stone's throw away from all the shopping and eateries and sightseeing locations.
Not a hotel but more like an apartment building. When you travel with kids you'll need more space and a kitchenette and even came with a washing machine. opposite is the famous Ippudo ramen.

Other nearby places are takashimaya, namba parks and shopping streets. Breakfast was included not a full buffet but a set meal in the attached restaurant. Simple but sufficent.

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank danielocs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,015)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

604 - 610 of 1,015 reviews

Reviewed December 11, 2012

We stayed in a two room apartment.
Came with two bathrooms, a living room, dining area and kitchenette.
The washer/dryer was big help!
The rooms were clean, amenities were complete and excellent..
great for families with children.

Breakfast sets choices were simple but well done.
The location is simply excellent - close to the malls, and 5mins walk from the train station!
Service staff were also very helpful.

The hotel also had a small library /reading and computer room.

highly recommended!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joshlty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2012

I just stayed here in a studio deluxe room for 3D2N with my wife over the weekend. To me, the best thing about this hotel is its location as it is strikingly close about 5mins+ walk from Nambai Station. For those of us whom can't speak Japanese to ask the locals there for hotel directions, this hotel would be a safe bet for you.

Like other reviewers mentioned, there are also heaps of grocery shops and eateries around so that you can get almost anything you need during your stay. Shopping centers are plentiful, enough for your legs to walk. The hotel staff there can communicate in rather good conversational English, so no worries here for English-speaking foreigners.

As for the studio deluxe room which I was given, it's rather small but still bearable.. However, it is indeed very self contained -- a full set of cutlery, a washing machine beside the toilet, and even a air purifier/humidifier was supplied in the room (it's definately very useful for guests with sensitive skin due to dryness and dust).

However, some minor issues I have here are:
(1) My wife booked a room 2 months or so in advance for a non-smoking double room, yet when we reached there, the staff informed that there was only 1 smoking double room and 1 non-smoking twin-bed room left. As my wife has an allergy to smoke, hence we had to settle for the latter option. Although we know that room preference is not guaranteed at the point of booking, but still we are somewhat disappointed with this arrangement.

(2) On the morning of check-out day, I went over to the counter and asked the staff for a late check out to 1pm (usual check-out timing is 12pm). The expression on the staff wasn't exactly that pleasing (it's almost as if I owned her money). Nevertheless, the staff said ok to check out at 1pm. On the bright side, when we came back to the counter to retrieve our bags which we temporarily deposited with them for a while, that same staff's mood seemed better and much more approachable. A case of momentarily service lapse perhaps??

(3) At the point of checking in during the first day, 2 complimentary bottles of drinking water are given. However, these are not replenished during the second day. Perhaps it's not in their culture to replenish these unlike typical Asian hotels??

(4) Guests have to buy 2 packets of washing detergent from the hotel for about 1000 yen if you intend to use it to wash your clothings using their washing machine in the room. Perhaps as a gesture of goodwill, 1 packet can be given complimentary for hotel guests and should guests require more, they could purchase more from the hotel.

On the whole, I and my wife have no qualms on staying with Frasers Residence Nankai Osaka again in the future.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JusT76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2012 via mobile

Lovely hotel with inroom facilities like washing machine- dryer which comes in handy when travelling with family and kids. Need to buy liquid detergent from the reception.

Breakfast daily in restaurant next to lobby was decent although rather simple and limited in choice.

Highly recommended.

Having stayed in both this and the executive rooms at the Swissotel Nankai Osaka, it is tough one to compare. I had a better deal on Fraser. Swissotel was more luxurious and the executive club breakfast was better.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SporeTripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2012

This is part 3 of our family's Takayama-Kyoto-Osaka Nov Autumn Holiday.

After having spent 8 nights in ryokans in Takayama & Kyoto, and with the initial fun of sleeping on futons had run out, my family of 3 adults & 3 girls craved for some modern facilities & amenities, which we found very welcoming & very pleased in this establishment: Great sized, very clean & comfortable King size & 2 super single beds in a 2-bedroom service apartment, with a functional kitchen as well as dishwasher & washer/dryer. We were also spoilt with the 2 bathrooms (an ensuite bath tub in the master bedroom & another with a spa shower (large overhead shower head with body & leg sprinkler to massage yr body). Both were generously spacious enough without any heckling or jostling needed amongst my party of 6.

Location - Located near Swisshotel, Fraser is in the Namba area. Why we like this place:
1. barely 70m from the Nankai train terminal for the Kansai Airport. It is also fed with numerous other train lines passing thru this large interchange.
2. Meals - plenty of food joints around and it is also within 600m to the famous Dotonbori area. We call this the TImes Square of Osaka. Plenty of local food joints & shopping.
3. Homecooked meals - with a fully functional kitchen, instead of eating out and having limited servings, we opted to shop local greens & regional meat offerings:
- There is a large super market located in a residential area between the hotel & JR Namba Station. They have a good selection of fresh fruits, vegetable, meats and snacks. Most importantly, they accept credit card.
- The Kuromon (Black Door) market, located 500m east of Fraser, also offers another option to find local groceries. As most of the shops there closes at 6-7 pm, we managed to get upto 50% off great cuts of beef & pork for our Shabu-Shabu. Vegetables & fruits are also aplenty, as well as shops selling fresh fish & seafood, even the Fugu (blowfish). Many locals buying stuff from the shops here. Along the way to Kuromon, you may also wish to pass by the Douguyasuji Market, where you can find some kitchenware or knives on offer.
4. Other attractions:
- The hotel offers a 1 day train/bus pass + Osaka Aquarium ticket package.
- Osaka Universal - We opted to walk to the Namba JR station instead of the route suggested by the hotel. At the JR Namba station, you could also buy your Universal tickets together with your train tickets.

The home cooked shabu-shabu dinner was one of our trips highlight, as we managed to stuff ourselves silly with the many great meats, seafood, veg and fruits which Japan has to offer. Hope you'll have a chance to experience this as well.

Room Tip: The 2 bedroom apt comes with a King size & 2 super single. We requested & paid for an extra...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ArthurC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2012 via mobile

Loved staying here. Picked it based on other TA reviews and the fact that it had a washer/dryer. Building seemed very new and modern. Very clean rooms. Free breakfast and Internet was awesome. Will definitely come back when in the area.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shuji123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2012

Great value place to stay in the best location in Osaka. Very friendly staff and great facilities make this a brilliant place to explore Osaka. Could not fault the attention to detail - everything you need for a great stay.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GTGTGTGT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Osaka hotels
Shinsaibashi / Nanba / Tennoji / South Area
Swissotel Nankai Osaka
Shinsaibashi / Nanba / Tennoji / South Area
Cross Hotel Osaka
Cross Hotel Osaka
#11 of 351 in Osaka
1,477 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Nikko Osaka
#20 of 351 in Osaka
2,026 reviews
Shinsaibashi / Nanba / Tennoji / South Area
Holiday Inn Osaka Namba
Holiday Inn Osaka Namba
#25 of 351 in Osaka
852 reviews
Shinsaibashi / Nanba / Tennoji / South Area
Hotel Monterey Grasmere Osaka
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fraser Residence Nankai Osaka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fraser Residence Nankai Osaka

Address: 1-17-11 Nambanaka, Naniwa-ku, Osaka 556-0011, Osaka Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kinki > Osaka Prefecture > Osaka > Shinsaibashi / Nanba / Tennoji / South Area
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Osaka
#3 Romantic Hotel in Osaka
#4 Luxury Hotel in Osaka
#11 Business Hotel in Osaka
Price Range: $158 - $353 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Fraser Residence Nankai Osaka 4*
Number of rooms: 114
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are the first International Serviced Residence in Osaka. Ideally located for business ana leisure, just 2 minites from the airport train staion. Ideal for long term stay as well as short term, from 1 night. Fully equipped with Washing/Dryer machine, Kitchennette, and connected free WiFi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Ctrip TA, JAPANiCAN, Travelocity, Orbitz and HotelQuickly so you can book your Fraser Residence Nankai Osaka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fraser Residence Nankai Osaka Hotel Osaka

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing