We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Luxury”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
The St. Regis Osaka
Ranked #3 of 309 Hotels / Ryokan in Osaka
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Perfect Luxury”
Reviewed May 7, 2014

We stayed three nights here during our stay in Osaka and this hotel is the epitome of luxury.

The hotel was in perfect condition, the staff polite and quick to anticipate your needs and wants, and the bathroom is to die for (marble tub, large shower with rain shower head, TV, high tech toilet).

Room was large by Japanese standard and was outfitted with central controls, meaning we could control all lighting, temperature and curtains open/close from our bedside. This is the future! Bed is comfortable and large, with a number of pillows to choose from.

The hotel is in a centralised location and has a convenient store nearby, and right next to a subway station.

This is perhaps the nicest hotel I've stayed in Osaka, I was told Japanese and Western celebrities stay here frequently as well.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ashley J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alairi, General Manager at The St. Regis Osaka, responded to this review, May 7, 2014
Dear Ashley J,

Thank you so much for taking the time to post your comment on Tripadvisor following your last stay here at the St. Regis Osaka. This is much appreciated.
I am pleased to read that you had a lovely first stay, did enjoy the comfort of your room and what our premium location has to offer.

The team and I do look forward to welcoming you back soon the next time you visit the Kansai region.

Kindest regards,

Alain Rigodin - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,444 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,074
    256
    69
    29
    16
See reviews for
355
511
121
193
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (159)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2014

Stayed there for first time. I usually stay at ritz Carlton when I am in Osaka but tried st. Regis for first time. What better at st. Regis is that there are not too many outside people so it gives you more privacy. What can be better: only two desks for front desk and I had to wait for a while for check in. I wish they had a pool there.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sw k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alairi, General Manager at The St. Regis Osaka, responded to this review, May 7, 2014
Dear Sw K,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write your feedback on Tripadvisor following your last here at the St. Regis Osaka.

It is much appreciated and I am pleased to see that you had overall a most enjoyable stay.

Once again, thank you and looking forward to welcoming you back soon at the St. Regis Osaka.

Kindest regards,

Alain Rigodin - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2014

I personally use Tripadvisor to find good value hotels- I'm not interested in paying the earth for 5 star treatment when there is great value elsewhere for perfectly good hotels. I often get frustrated that the top 10 hotels for most cities on Tripadvisor are also the most expensive hotels by a mile.

However what attracted me to the St Regis is it wasn't that much more expensive than other hotels we were staying at in Japan (for instance the Citadines hotel in Shinjuku, Tokyo) and yet the leap up in quality was astounding.

Our average hotel in Japan was about £100 a night, and yet for £165 a night at the St Regis in Osaka there wasn't a moment I questioned paying that bit extra between the two of us for what felt like total and utter luxury to us. I've never laid in a marble bath and watched television, or pressed a button to open my curtains to reveal stunning views over the city, or been treated with such endless care and thought. The customer care of the staff at the St Regis is goes more than the extra mile to be almost embarrassingly subservient and caring.

As a tourist the location on top of a subway station is fantastic- we walked miles every day until we could barely stand up and being able to get off the train and into your bedroom in minutes was bliss. Everything about the bedroom feels plush and luxurious. The enormous, comfortable beds. The walk in closet for your clothes that automatically turns the lights on when you walk into it. The huge shower which sprays you from every angle. On our last morning we stayed relaxing in the rooms right until the check out at 12 (which is generous they let you stay so long). They also delivered newspapers to us each morning which we didnt seem to have to pay for.

We never really used the Butler service as I never quite understood what it was for and moe importantly, what we'd have to pay for. However we did indulge one morning and have breakfast delivered to our room. It was so large we only ordered one breakfast to share from the set menu. I think the only tiny down side of staying in such a luxurious hotel is the fact that you pay a LOT for extras, so the breakfast was about £20-25. We had two drinks in the bar downstairs which again came to about £20-25.

If you want to indulge and £165 is within budget for you, then it is worth it. I think you can get rooms cheaper but we paid extra for the higher skyline views and had a room on the 25th floor. Again it was stunning, much like the hotel :)

Room Tip: Skyline views are from the 20th floor and up
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank uratargetmarket
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alairi, General Manager at The St. Regis Osaka, responded to this review, May 7, 2014
Dear Uratargetmarket,

Thank you very much for the detailed post you wrote on Tripadvisor following your first stay here at the St. Regis Osaka. It is much appreciated.

We are indeed receiving excellent comments about how convenient your now preferred hotel in Osaka is located. The team and I are delighted to read that you had a lovely stay and that you were able to enjoy the many shopping surrounding the hotel.

Many thanks again for staying at the The St. Regis Osaka and looking forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Kindest regards.

Alain Rigodin - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ozamiz City, Philippines
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for 4 days and I have nothing but praise for them. The service is impeccable and the place itself if totally 5 star. Rooms are spacious and the view was amazing. Breakfast was ok. The location gives it more credits as the hotel is located just above a subway station. 5 stars for this hotel for me.

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael_Asombrado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alain_03198, General Manager at The St. Regis Osaka, responded to this review, April 27, 2014
Dear The WanderingLife,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a post on Tripadvisor following your last visit here at the St. Regis Osaka. It is much appreciated.

We are pleased to read that you had a lovely stay and did enjoy very much the beautiful view from your room and amenities offered. We also take note of your feedback regarding the breakfast experience and thank you for your recommendation

It was a pleasure to have you as our guest and the team and I sincerely do look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kindest regards.

Alain Rigodin - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2014

After staying in a ryokan for the days previous to checking into the St. Regis we were really looking forward to some classic luxuries. The thing that blew us away first though was the view! We had a room on the 26h floor and you felt as if you had all of Osaka within your grasp. We found the rooms clean with delicious tea and nibbles to welcome us. The room was a good size and the bathroom and dressing room were very inviting.

We were a little disappointed with the breakfast menu as it al sounded delicious but was lacking in quality upon arrival. The bar though is a beautiful place for cocktails before dinner as the all over decor of the hotel is classic and beautiful. We would stay there again if the chance arrives!

Room Tip: Go as high as you can to get the view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheWanderingLIfe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alain_03198, General Manager at The St. Regis Osaka, responded to this review, April 22, 2014
Dear TheWanderingLife,

I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for your comment posted on Tripadvisor, following your last stay at The St. Regis Osaka.

Your feedback and recommendation is much appreciated as it enables us to continuously improve the way we do thing. I am delighted that you had an enjoyable stay including your room with the stunning view of Osaka city.

Looking forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back here at The St. Regis Osaka the next time you visit the Kansai region.

Kindest regards,

Alain Rigodin - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2014

After the hustle and bustle of Osaka , the hotel is a peaceful oasis . Very comfortable rooms, great shower and good service . The restaurants are very quiet and you are therefore tempted to go out again. Perhaps the pricing should be reviewed ?Appreciate it is a luxury hotel and western fare but there might be more of a buzz around if there wasn't a sense of unnecessary over charging.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CMM5star
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alain_03198, General Manager at The St. Regis Osaka, responded to this review, April 22, 2014
Dear Alwaysfivestar,

Thank you for taking the time to post your comment on Tripadvisor following your last here at the St. Regis Osaka. Your feedback and suggestion is much appreciated.
I am pleased to read that you had a lovely stay and the team and I do look forward to welcoming you back soon the next time you visit Osaka.

Kindest regards.

Alain Rigodin - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2014

Everything about my stay was terrific. The room was exceptional. The service was exceptional. The exercise facilities were excellent. Very nice views. Nespresso coffee maker in the room. I really can't think of any negatives. Left my Ipad room. Called immediately after leaving the hotel, and when it was too late to turn back. They sent the Ipad onto my next destination with no muss of fuss.

Wonderful hotel I hope to visit in the future.

Room Tip: High floors have very nice views to the North. Southern views might be good too.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maxsar911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alain_03198, General Manager at The St. Regis Osaka, responded to this review, April 22, 2014
Dear Maxsar911,

Thank you so much for taking the time to post your comment on Tripadvisor following your last stay at The St. Regis Osaka. Your feedback is much appreciated.
It is pleasing to know that you much enjoyed what the St. Regis brand and The St. Regis Osaka has to offer. I am also pleased to read that your Ipad was found and was returned to you safely.

Again thank you for your comment and I do look forward to welcoming you and your family back soon the next time you visit the Kansai region.

Kindest regards,

Alain Rigodin - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Osaka hotels
Shinsaibashi / Nanba / Tennoji / South Area
Swissotel Nankai Osaka
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shinsaibashi / Nanba / Tennoji / South Area
Cross Hotel Osaka
Cross Hotel Osaka
#10 of 309 in Osaka
1,374 reviews
Osaka Station / Umeda
Hilton Osaka
Hilton Osaka
#17 of 309 in Osaka
1,951 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The St. Regis Osaka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The St. Regis Osaka

Property: The St. Regis Osaka
Address: 3-6-12 Hommachi, Chuo-ku, Osaka 541-0053, Osaka Prefecture
Phone Number:
Location: Japan > Kinki > Osaka Prefecture > Osaka > Bay Area / Bentencho / Yodoyabashi / Hommachi / Tanimachi / Kyobashi
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Osaka
#1 Family Hotel in Osaka
#2 Business Hotel in Osaka
#2 Spa Hotel in Osaka
#3 Luxury Hotel in Osaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The St. Regis Osaka 5*
Number of rooms: 160
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Starwood APAC, Rakuten, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The St. Regis Osaka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The St. Regis Osaka Hotel Osaka

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing