We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Located in Center of the City Osaka, middle between Harukasu and Castle” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The St. Regis Osaka

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The St. Regis Osaka
Ranked #4 of 296 Hotels / Ryokan in Osaka
Certificate of Excellence
Fukushima, Japan
Level Contributor
808 reviews
230 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 283 helpful votes
“Located in Center of the City Osaka, middle between Harukasu and Castle”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2014

I stayed at 24th Floor(High Floor delux) upgraded with the SPG member. Butler service is as expectedly perfect, warm welcoming and taking care 24hours any time. No sauna, No pool but ther is fitness 14th floor(24 hours open) I think I should come back again though ST Regis NY is superior because of Japanese Best "Omotenashi"

Room Tip: Corner room is the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kikuc007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alain_03198, General Manager at The St. Regis Osaka, responded to this review, February 4, 2014
Dear Kikuc007,

Thank you so much for the nice post and descriptive you wrote on Tripadvisor following your last visit here at the St. Regis Osaka. It is much appreciated.

I am pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay and the team and I do look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kindest regards.

Alain Rigodin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,340 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    989
    242
    67
    28
    14
See reviews for
316
474
115
182
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (154)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
singapore
Level Contributor
71 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2014 via mobile

Great hotel. Very spacious room with a huge toilet. The Japanese do luxury very well. And service as always is impeccable. Little touches always impress like the butler closet so u don't even have to open your front door to collet laundry and stuff. As good as the peninsula in Tokyo .

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank littlemissT13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alain_03198, General Manager at The St. Regis Osaka, responded to this review, February 2, 2014
Dear Littlemiss T13,

Thank you so much for the nice post you wrote on Tripadvisor following your last here at the St. Regis Osaka. It is much appreciated.

I am pleased to read that you had a lovely stay and hopefully was able to enjoy the many shopping venues surrounding the hotel.

Many thanks again for staying at the The St. Regis Osaka, the team and I do look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kindest regards.

Alain Rigodin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellevue, Washington
Level Contributor
38 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2014

The hotel was top notch with no problems to speak of. Although there is no lounge for SPG elites, they do give Platinum members free breakfast in the restaurant, and a generous mini-bar allowance as a sort of compensation. The butlers assigned to my room were efficient, and the room, while not upgraded to a suite, was fine. I would stay here again although am curious as to whether the failure to give a platinum suite upgrade reflected lack of availability or instead a failure to follow the SPG rules in this regard (as it seems many Starwood properties, particularly in Japan, fail to do).

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jay K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alain_03198, General Manager at The St. Regis Osaka, responded to this review, February 2, 2014
Dear Jay K,

Thank you very much for being a loyal SPG Platinum and for taking the time to write your feedback on Tripadvisor following your last visit here at the St. Regis Osaka. It is much appreciated.
I am pleased to read that you had an enjoyable stay even though this time we could not extend an upgrade due to the unavailability of Suites and the high occupancy.

Once again, I thank you for your kind words and do look forward to welcoming you back soon at the St. Regis Osaka.

Kindest regards,

Alain Rigodin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2014

The First time I've stayed at a st Regis hotel was at osaka when they just opened a few years ago. The service was spectacular.

The rooms were huge, really luxurious. It was the first time I saw the nespresso coffee machine in a hotel room as well. There was a tv in the bathroom with waterproof remote. The butler service was amazing. Attending to our needs without seeming like it was a chore. We also ordered from the pillow menu and were pleasantly surprise with all the choices.

The location is right by the Hon-machi subway station. However, must note that there is no swimming pool at this hotel.

Will be returning in the future. Thank you for the wonderful stay.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alain_03198, General Manager at The St. Regis Osaka, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
Dear Sarah T,

Thank you so much for taking the time to post your comment on Tripadvisor following your last visit in Osaka. This is much appreciated.

I am pleased to read that you had a lovely first stay with us here at the St. Regis Osaka and did enjoy the butler service experience. The team and I do look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kindest regards.

Alain Rigodin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
52 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2014

When you arrive to Osaka, ask the taxi driver to take you to "Santo Regiso". 3 drivers did not
know St. Regis although they tried hard.
The hotel is a modern hotel. Rooms are spacious. The shower was exceptionally good.
Tried the Japanese breakfast and that too was very good. Views from the room were beautiful.
Service was perfect.
The only thing I was not happy with was the lack of a Japanese restaurant in the hotel.
I highly recommend the hotel.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank luftmdlg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alain_03198, General Manager at The St. Regis Osaka, responded to this review, January 23, 2014
Dear Luftmdlg,

Thank you so much for taking the time to post your comment on Tripadvisor following your last here at the St. Regis Osaka. This is much appreciated.

I am pleased to read that you had a lovely stay. Please note that there is a Japanese restaurant named “Ajikicho”, opened daily and located at Basement 1 at Hommachi Garden city (name of the building complex where the hotel is located). There is also a Chinese restaurant "Shatohanten" offerering Sichuan cuisine and located on the same level. Should you wish to make a reservation, our Butler will be delighted to assist you the next time you visit us.

Looking forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kindest regards,

Alain Rigodin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2014

Went with 3 other family members.

Pros:
- VERY GOOD SERVICE!! (personal butler)
- BIG rooms with BIG windows and beds!
- They deliver coffee to you in your room in the morning
- No matter what time you call the service line there is always someone there. no need to wait.
- Great location.


Cons:
- Not much options for breakfast. (got bored after 2 days - not sure if they changed it though as I visited 3+ years ago)
- The entrance isn't very grand


Will definitely go back!!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Leslie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alain_03198, General Manager at The St. Regis Osaka, responded to this review, January 23, 2014
Dear Leslie T,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write your feedback on Tripadvisor following your last stay with us.

It is much appreciated and I am pleased to see that you enjoyed the hotel and its location.
Once again, I thank you for your kind words and do look forward to welcoming you back soon at the St. Regis Osaka.

Kindest regards,

Alain Rigodin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
155 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2014

Hotels are interestingly diversified places in what people see them as. Some people love them and see it as a getaway place to relax and rejuvenate. Others see it as only a place to go to sleep at night when traveling away from home. For my husband and I, when a hotel and its people successfully create a space that feels like home away from home, that's when the hotel has achieved success. My feelings on the day of check-out from St Regis Osaka probably reflects how much I really love this home away from home. I said to my husband, "Oh, I'm sad, why can't we stay here forever..." At a St Regis hotel anywhere in the world, one expects wonderful service. Add in the Japanese hospitality and the service becomes exceptional.

The personal service begins at check-in. Instead of standing at a counter for check-in, guests are assisted at the sit-down check-in desk. My husband has Platinum 100-night status with SPG and the hotel recognized and explained to us the added perks (thank you!). The lady who assisted us at check-in politely apologized for our wait and invited us to the St Regis Bar for a complimentary drink.

After a wonderful start at the St Regis Bar, we headed up to our suite with Osaka skyline views (we upgraded to the Hagis suite). Within 10 minutes, our butler (Timothy) arrived, introduced himself, and very politely asked if he may take some time to explain the functions found in the living room and bedroom (bedside controls for the lights, curtains, and door signs. He took the moment to make sure we felt comfortably at home. He also informed us that if the feather pillow was too soft for our liking, we could request for another type from their pillow menu that has 12 types of pillows. We appreciated very much the attention to detail.

Loved the butler box located next to the door of our suite. The butler box was accessible by us through a sliding door from inside our suite while the butler had access to it through a secured mini door from the outside. Newspapers were put in the box every morning. We sent pieces of clothing to be pressed and left them at the butler box. The butler came to retrieve them and then returned the pressed clothing in the butler box when ready. There was no hassle of him ringing our doorbell to return our clothing.

The mini bar had a Nespresso machine so we were able to continue with our daily Nespresso drinks as if at home in Chicago. The walk-in closet was certainly a win for any woman's heart (it is for me!). The bathroom had the most pampering shower with 5 sprays and water shooting out from different angles. Every evening when we returned, turndown service was already completed by housekeeping with lights dimmed, soft music playing from the TV, and yukata laid on the bed for us.

Timothy gave us printed information and directions to our dinner reservation which we had requested the hotel to assist in making, about a month prior to our visit. While speaking with us, he inquired about our earlier lunch reservation that day which the hotel also assisted in a month ago. He asked me if the restaurant remembered not to put shrimp in our meal due to my allergy. How thoughtful of him to remember and check in with us on this although the last time we informed them about my allergy for reservation purposes was a month ago! The people at St Regis Osaka care and they find ways to show that they care. This is why it's home away from home for us. My husband and I travel a lot and our stay at St Regis Osaka had the most personal touch which we will always remember. Thank you for a memorable stay!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank terinay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alain_03198, General Manager at The St. Regis Osaka, responded to this review, January 19, 2014
Dear Terinay,

I would like to thank you for taking the time to write your kind comment on Tripadvisor following your last stay here at The St. Regis Osaka. Thank you for your feedback and most lavish praise you bestowed upon the hotel in general and our Butler Timothy-san in particular.

This is truly appreciated and will inspire us to continue to excel in our St. Regis service delivery and in providing comfort whilst in our care. As a tradition, a letter of commendation will be issued to Timothy-san and a copy of your post will also be displayed on our bulletin board for all our associates to see.

Once again, thank you very much for your kind words and we do look forward to welcoming you and your family back to the St. Regis Osaka on your next visit to Osaka.

Kind regards,

Alain Rigodin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Osaka hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shinsaibashi / Nanba / Tennoji / South Area
Swissotel Nankai Osaka
Shinsaibashi / Nanba / Tennoji / South Area
Cross Hotel Osaka
Cross Hotel Osaka
#10 of 296 in Osaka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,267 reviews
Osaka Station / Umeda
Hilton Osaka
Hilton Osaka
#17 of 296 in Osaka
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,793 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The St. Regis Osaka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The St. Regis Osaka

Property: The St. Regis Osaka
Address: 3-6-12 Hommachi, Chuo-ku, Osaka 541-0053, Osaka Prefecture
Phone Number:
Location: Japan > Kinki > Osaka Prefecture > Osaka > Bay Area / Bentencho / Yodoyabashi / Hommachi / Tanimachi / Kyobashi
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Osaka
#1 Family Hotel in Osaka
#2 Business Hotel in Osaka
#2 Spa Hotel in Osaka
#3 Luxury Hotel in Osaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The St. Regis Osaka 5*
Number of rooms: 160
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Starwood APAC, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your The St. Regis Osaka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The St. Regis Osaka Hotel Osaka

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing