We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, great service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The St. Regis Osaka
Ranked #3 of 351 Hotels / Ryokan in Osaka
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 6, 2013

St. Regis was a very pleasant surprise. Wonderful, understated elegance which is my kind of hotel. Great service and lovely outdoor Japanese garden and bar. They offer a good selection at their breakfast buffet. I love the idea of a room valet service.

Though hotel is not located near the Osaka Central station, it is easily accessible via local train and also from the Kansai airport.

I look forward to staying here again on my next visit to Osaka!

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Demi1130
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St.RegisOsaka, Manager at The St. Regis Osaka, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2013

Dear Demi1130
It was truly a pleasure having you as our guest during your recent visit to Osaka

On behalf of the entire team at The St. Regis Osaka, we are so pleased that you were able to experience our hotel and enjoy the high service and quality levels which we pride ourselves on.

Thank you for your time in reviewing our property on TripAdvisor, and please let us know when you will be returning, as we would love to have you as our guest.
With Kind Regards,
Giuseppe Fornillo
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,584)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

715 - 721 of 1,584 reviews

Reviewed November 6, 2013

The hotel is what you would expect of a St. Regis but on exceptionally polite steroids. This is Japan after all. The service was absolutely faultless.
We arrived very late at night and the butler was at our door within 10 minutes of check in with special amenities for the kids, drinks, etc. The butler was exceptionally helpful throughout our entire stay. The hotel staff even helped my husband find and secure a particular Japanese style grill with a picture that he took off his phone. They also purchased tickets for us on the Shinkasen.

The room were quiet and of a good size, the beds were big and comfortable (2 actual queen sized mattresses). We had a fantastic if unexpected view of the Osaka Marathon. (We had no idea it was being held that week.) The bathroom was very nice and the entire room is on motion activated lighting which actually works. Housekeeping service was again flawless. They never rang when we stayed in late even without a "do not disturb" sign. We never actually saw any housekeeping staff even through they were obviously keeping our rooms spotless. Very unobtrusive service.

As a SPG Platinum member, we were allowed 3000 Yen per night out of the minibar since they didn't have a club floor. I'm unsure if this was a one time offer or if this is a general rule for SPG Plat. But no worries if you're not a member as there is a 24hr Family Mart (convenience shop) right across the street. They sell everything from shampoo to Japanese style fish balls. Yes, even at midnight it was fresh.

I didn't know how good the location the was until I got up the next morning. It's literally steps from a multi city block long, mostly covered food and shopping street Shinsaibashi. clothing, kimonos, books, electronics etc. and so many restaurants! Walk all the way to the river and you're in that famous restaurant area Dotonbori, you're always seeing in brochures; the one with the giant red crab and the neon Gilco man.

Restaurant prices were very modest especially compared to Tokyo. ex. We went to an amazing yakitori bar, ate 50+ sticks of food plus drinks and the charge was only around 60USD. So no, besides for the breakfast buffet, we did not eat at the hotel. =D

The street was so interesting that we browsed through it every day. It's probably the most exercise we've ever had on a vacation (we tend to be beach people) but we all thoroughly enjoyed it.

The hotel offers a map with some suggested walking tours. We took the Osaka Castle route. It's a very lovely walk. The entire excursion took us maybe 4 hours. Then we were back combing that street for lunch. There are a few other walking routes suggested, all of which I'm sure would make great excursions.

If that's not enough for you, the hotel is right next to the Honmachi train station which will take you to a multitude of other places. Two stations down to Umeda and the Diamaru department store which has a Pokémon Center. Great for 2 hours if you have kids. It also has a take away food department and grocery on the basement levels. One stop away is Yodobashi where you can see and buy the all tech Japan has to offer.
The hotel is also 30-40 minutes from Universal Studios Osaka; a very easy taxi ride.

Amazing hotel, fantastic location. There is absolutely nothing to dislike about this hotel. We liked it so much, we're planning a return trip!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank celluchk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St.RegisOsaka, Manager at The St. Regis Osaka, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2013

Dear celluchk
Greetings from The St. Regis Osaka.
We appreciate the time that you have taken to write a so detailed review about our Hotel facilities and services and hope that this will be useful for future guests.
It is a great pleasure and rewarding to read a well detailed review and know that you had enjoyed the convenience of our location, our guest rooms, and the level of service provided by our Butlers.
It is always a great pleasure to receive such positive feedback and your compliments have been shared with the team to recognize their efforts.
Dear celluchk thanks for your loyalty as SPG platinum member and We look forward to the next opportunity of welcoming you back at best address in Osaka

With Kind Regards,
Giuseppe Fornillo
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2013

Elegant, discreet, and quietly luxurious. Standing tall at Honmachi - a prestigious district at Osaka, St Regis is an ideal choice for discerning travelers. It is centrally located with a subway station next door, and only blocks away from the finest stores, and restaurants in town. We stayed at the premier Grand room. It is not exactly spacious, but every inch is designed for its best use, with large bath room and adequate closet area. A beautiful, golden lacquer chest hosts the mini-bar.

Butler is attentive and informative. We asked the concierge to help reserve tables at a couple of restaurants. Upon arrival, the butler presented us with detailed maps and directions to each destination.

Facilities at the gym is a bit primitive, but then with all the attractions in greater Osaka area, one has hardly any time for exercise anyway.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Epicurius_at_large
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St.RegisOsaka, Manager at The St. Regis Osaka, responded to this reviewResponded November 4, 2013

Dear Epicurius_at_large

Thank you for sharing your experience at St Regis Osaka
I appreciate the time that you have taken to write a so detailed review about our hotel facilities, location and service and hope that this will be useful for future guests who plan to visit Osaka; I am glad to read your comments about our concierge and their service , is always pleasant knowing that we are providing the best services to our guests and you feedback is a great motivator
Dear Epicurius_at_large My team and I look forward to welcoming you back for another memorable stay at your home away from home in Osaka .
With Kind Regards,
Giuseppe Fornillo
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2013

I'm writing this review even as we're still booked in this hotel as I wanted to make sure I remembered every detail. We usually stay at a hotel in Nankai but after trying the St. Regis in Bangkok, decided we'd try this. Great decision! This hotel is fabulous! The rooms are beautifully decorated and laid out & everything seems to have been designed for their guests' comfort. Electrical outlets everywhere, bedside control panels for everything including lights, drapes, account; butler's box, espresso machine and of course their heavenly bed! Love the beautiful yukata too and the walk in closet with lots of storage space. And their shower has to be absolutely the best I've tried, with water jets providing a massage like experience! Staff are all very pleasant and helpful and the public areas are truly elegant. Very near great shopping and good restaurants. Definitely our new favorite in Osaka!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travelbugManila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St.RegisOsaka, Manager at The St. Regis Osaka, responded to this reviewResponded November 4, 2013

Dear travelbugManila
Greetings from The St. Regis Osaka.

Thank you for sharing your thoughts and experience on your recent stay with us.

It is really pleasing and motivating for us to receive such compliment from our valued guests and we are glad that you are satisfied with every effort that we make here at The St. Regis Osaka

We would like to thank you for choosing to stay at The St. Regis Osaka and we look forward to welcoming you back to your address in Osaka in the near future.

With best regards,
Giuseppe Fornillo
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2013

As a frequent business traveller I'm normally fairly critical of hotels but The St Regis in Osaka is simply exquisite. From the incredibly polite, attentive staff to the exquisite bedrooms, fantastic lounge bar and great food everything here is perfect. Simply one of my favourite hotels in the world.

Room Tip: I had a room with butler service, everything you need at the touch of a button.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Symze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alain_03198, General Manager at The St. Regis Osaka, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2013

Dear Symze,

Thank you so much for taking the time to post your review on Tripadvisor following your last stay with us.

Your kind comment regarding our staff and food quality is much appreciated and will inspire us to continue to excel in our service delivery. I am taking the liberty to share your compliments with the team.

Once again, I thank you very much for your kind words and looking forward to welcoming you back soon at the St. Regis Osaka.

Kindest regards,

Alain Rigodin
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2013

We spent 3 nights here after arriving from a long journey. We were greeted by our butler who was concerned because our travel agent didn't infirm the hotel about a change in plans. The hotel is magnificent. Great breakfast.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank StephHorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alain_03198, General Manager at The St. Regis Osaka, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2013

Dear StepHorn,

Thank you for taking the time to post your comment on Tripadvisor following your last stay with us.
Your compliment regarding the hotel, our breakfast offering and our Butler service is much appreciated. I have taken the liberty to convey your kind compliments to the hotel team earlier today.

Once again, I thank you very much for your kind words and do look forward to welcoming you back soon at the St. Regis Osaka.

Kindest regards,

Alain Rigodin
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2013

Spent 3 nights here on vacation. Everything about the hotel was first rate. Booked through AMEX fine hotels & resorts, which included breakfast (excellent buffet) and tea (which we didn't use). Staff were cordial, and very helpful with everything from subway routes, to restaurant reservations to suggestions. Deluxe twin room was just that -- we were in a corner with views to north and west. Could not find fault with anything -- felt very much a valued customer.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rooz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alain_03198, General Manager at The St. Regis Osaka, responded to this reviewResponded October 27, 2013

Dear Rooz,

Thank you very much for your wonderful review on Tripadvisor following your recent vacation here at The St. Regis Osaka. It is much appreciated by all of us at the hotel.

It is pleasing to know that our on-going training and caring for our associates is recognized by our valued guests. This will inspire us to continue to excel in our service delivery.

Once again, I thank you very much for your kind words and looking forward to welcoming you back soon at the St. Regis Osaka.

Kindest regards,

Alain Rigodin
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Osaka hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shinsaibashi / Nanba / Tennoji / South Area
Swissotel Nankai Osaka
Conrad Osaka
#5 of 351 in Osaka
179 reviews
Osaka Station / Umeda
Hilton Osaka
Hilton Osaka
#19 of 351 in Osaka
2,139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The St. Regis Osaka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The St. Regis Osaka

Address: 3-6-12 Hommachi, Chuo-ku, Osaka 541-0053, Osaka Prefecture
Phone Number:
Location: Japan > Kinki > Osaka Prefecture > Osaka > Bay Area / Bentencho / Yodoyabashi / Hommachi / Tanimachi / Kyobashi
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Osaka
#2 Spa Hotel in Osaka
#2 Business Hotel in Osaka
#3 Luxury Hotel in Osaka
Price Range: $244 - $884 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The St. Regis Osaka 5*
Number of rooms: 160
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with KNT-CT Holdings Co.,Ltd.(YOKOSO Japan), Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your The St. Regis Osaka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The St. Regis Osaka Hotel Osaka

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing