We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel with Great Service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
The St. Regis Osaka
Ranked #3 of 314 Hotels / Ryokan in Osaka
Certificate of Excellence
Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Great Hotel with Great Service”
Reviewed April 19, 2012

We stayed for 3 nights in this great hotel. The rooms were very clean, spacious and with great city view. The concierge was very helpful and made all our arrangements for Koyasan trip, local dinner reservations, and sight seeing trips. The staff were very pleasant and made our stay more enjoyable.

Room Tip: We stayed in a corner room with great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank G2Travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,466 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,090
    258
    70
    32
    16
See reviews for
364
517
123
195
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (160)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 5 Contributor
36 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2012

We took a trip to Osaka Japan during 11-15 April 2012 and chose to stay at St.Regis Osaka as it looked spectacular on the website . We arrived at Kansai Airport and was promptly greeted by our chauffeur and was whisked to our booked Sedan car. It's 29,000 Yen for a one way trip and 51,000 Yen for a round trip. You have an option of booking a cheaper or more expensive types of cars or even take public transport there as the hotel is a short walk from Honmachi Station ( Exit 7 ) .

The hotel is located i the business district of Honmachi near Midosuji Avenue where all the expensive designer boutiques are . It's 10 minutes by Taxi to Umeda , another major shopping hub and there are plenty of restaurants around the hotel. I would say that it's in a quiet neighborhood .
Upon arrival at the hotel ( 45 mins ride ) we were welcomed at the entrance by the concierge and a bellboy ( who was a woman ) who helped us with our luggage . One thing I love about this place is NO ONE excepted any tip. We handed our driver some tip money and he politely declined. How refreshing.

The lobby/check in is on the 12 floor over looking beautiful Japanese garden . It's small but has an air of grandeur . The check in process was very fast and efficient and we were given the key cards to our room . No one showed us to our room but w are adults and we could find our own way. The luggage came up 5 minutes later . The foyer was quite dark and pretty lifeless and the room itself was small but comfortable.

We booked the Grand Deluxe ( 35,000 Yen ++ ) room with the panoramic windows . Minutes after arriving at our room Housekeeping sent over some Flavoured Japanese tea and cookies. Nice touch . The bed was big and comfortable. Even though I was disappointed in the size of the room I have to say the sleep quality is AMAZING . I haven't had such good sleep since forever . The bathroom and the shower is in the same area . Meaning if you take a shower your bath tub will be wet as well. There do however have these amazing 4 shower heads that they called The Rainforest Shower . ( Projectile shower heads ) The toiletries are by Sothys and they provide you with everything from toothbrush to shaving kits.
I understand that in Japan everything is charged but I can't help being annoyed that all good hotels ( Mandarin Oriental Tokyo , St. Regis Osaka ) put charges on the use of in room wifi . In this case it was 1,900 per day . The TV Channels were limited and there were no HBO or any movie/entertainment Channels in English . There is a Nespresso machine in the room and the frige is fully stocked with expensive beverages . they do give you 2 free bottles of water per day .
The next morning we came down for buffet breakfast ( Including in the room rate ) and found the service to be chaotic . It should have been a nice and relaxing morning but the staffs were running around like headless chickens and the service was a bit slow. The buffet itself was good. Not Great. I found the selection quite small and poor for such establishment . You get to order your own choice of eggs and beverages.

We also tried out the french restaurant Rue D'or on Level one and that was good. They have Sunday brunch buffet which was very nice and tasty. The desserts were very good.

The general helpfulness of the staffs needs to be mentioned. They were very helpful in booking/suggesting restaurants with minimum fuss and giving out directions even though some of them didn't speak good English. We really appreciated their effort . You also get your own Butler whom you can call for anything.

There is a small gym in the hotel but it has no spa only a salon though it clearly stated on their website that they do have a spa . ( I tried to make a spa booking and was informed prior to my arrival that they didn't have a spa on site .)

All in all it was a very pleasant stay with a few glitches here and there . I would definitely return to St.Regis Osaka again without hesitation .

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kade9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2012

This place is extraordinary. Vaulted ceilings. Posh furnishings. Elegant decorations. Beautiful color schemes. And a staff that really knows how to add to the luxury experience. Ask directions and they'll almost walk you to your destination.

Even the other guests add to the place's charm. Plenty of families. Some same-sex couples. Japanese, Chinese, Europeans, South Americans. And everyone smiling and courteous. It was as though the St. Regis Osaka spun some kind of magic to attract only wonderful people.

And the rooms themselves really make you feel like you're getting more than your money's worth. Even the walk-in closet felt luxurious. So did the bathtub. And there was an armoire of sorts, an absolutely stunning piece of furniture, that held the refrigerator, a charming tea set, a Nespresso machine, wine and champagne glasses, libations and other assorted goodies. I loved opening that thing every morning and starting my day off with some decent espresso. It made me feel rich.

But the St. Regis Osaka has two major problems. The biggest is that the building sways in the wind. My mother in law noticed the undulations immediately upon being shown to her room. My father and I noticed it later when we saw hanging lamps moving back and forth as though an earthquake had just rocked Osaka. When my mother in law asked why the building seemed to be moving, we were told not to worry; that it wasn't going to fall down, that it was on ball-bearings and therefore susceptible to the wind. We weren't really frightened that the hotel was gonna come tumbling down; we were just wondering if we would be able to sleep in a hotel room that seemed to be crossing some stormy seas? The answer on three of our four nights was no. Not only did the building sway (we were on the 19th of 27 floors), it seemed to occasionally snap back with enough of a jolt to wake us up. The first time it happened we thought another guest had slammed a door. The second and third time it happened we realized what it really was. What a shame. The St. Regis Osaka really is a beautiful property. But who wants to stay in a hotel that jolts you awake in the middle of the night?

The second problem was the size of the pillows. They're huge and will elevate your head so high that your neck will scream in pain the whole next day.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jiesto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St.RegisOsaka, Manager at The St. Regis Osaka, responded to this review, April 19, 2012
Thank you for coming and staying at St Regis Osaka and for sharing with us your feed back about your stay. I am pleased to read that you like our hotel and though it a beautiful space. Just the same I am sorry that you were not able to sleep comfortably when you were with us. It seems our Butler team failed to let you know that we have a pillow menu and can offer different pillows to allow everybody to sleep comfortably.

With regards to the feeling of the building swaying I appreciate that our teams explanation of the hotels construction whilst factual and straight forward, was not necessarily the most emphatic way to talk. As with all building over a certain height in Japan our building has been engineered to with stand the occasionally unexpected and very strong forces of nature.

If I can be of any further service to you and your family when next you visit Osaka please do let me know.

With regards,
Malcolm Omond

Hotel Manager
St Regis Osaka
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2012

We have spent three nights with our family (3 kids aged 16, 13,10). Location and brand were the main drivers of our choice. We enjoyed much more than that: everything is very elegant, the staff were gracious and helpful. The rooms were perfect for us as we got two adjacent ones king size + double queen.

La Veduta Restaurant.
My wife and I had a great dinner at on the first night and were entertained by the chef, while the kids had room service. Mr Nakaigashi was very kind and spoke to us in a very good Italian. Really a high level northern Italian cuisine! We came back with the children again the following night, and although we did not get a great table (we were split across two tables), we enjoyed the dinner and the beautiful atmosphere of the restaurant. We missed the Chef on that night. All the staff members were extremely kind and professional. Great design and style: especially the giant chandeliers and the view.

Concierge.
They really helped shipping luggage over to other destinations of our tour of Japan. Very kind and extremely effective. Directions to reach a traditional Japanese restaurant in Dotomburi were very clear (and right).

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AE C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St.RegisOsaka, Manager at The St. Regis Osaka, responded to this review, April 19, 2012
Dear Andrea C

Thank you for staying with us when you recently in Osaka and also letting us know what you experienced here in the hotel. Chef Nakahigashi (Fumi) was very flattered that you remember him by name and also for your praise of his food.

The entire team enjoyed looking after you when you stayed with us and we hope that you and your family can return for another visit when next you are in Japan.

If I can be of any assistance please do let me know.

With thanks and regards,
Malcolm Omond
Hotel Manager
St Regis Osaka
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
68 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 172 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2012

After travelling to Tokyo and Hiroshima on business last November/December 2011 i stopped off in Osaka on the way home to visit my daughter who lives there.

She suggested that i try the St Regis as it was close to her home and she advised me that it looked quite nice and was newly opened.

When i was booking the room the hotel had a promotion on that enabled me to get a suite at a very low price and the "Bang for bucks" equation when i checked in was phenominal !!

The hotel itself is lovely and my suite was surprisingly large. Front of house staff were very professional and attentive. The hotel is not loud and busy and it has a very nice feel about it and a real feeling of serenity.

Furniture and fittings in the suite were lovely and i had 2 huge flat screen TV sets, one in my lounge room and one in my bedroom.

Bathroom was quite large, beautifully appointed and filled with upmarket amenities. It had both a bath and a shower.

There is a butler "Box" next to the front door which means you don't need to get the door when your laundry,paper, shoes, etc. are delivered.

The restaurant was interesting. - It was Italian, with the chefs own Japanese accent/interpretation on Italian cuisine added to the dishes, so to say the least the food was surprising !

A Japanese tenor complete with Black tie arrived during the meal and started singing ! - That was interesting as well !

There is a Japanese garden outside the bar area which is quite nice to walk around as well.

In summary, i really liked this hotel and it definately deserves its 5 star staus in all aspects. We are planning to vist our oldest daughter again later in the year and the St Regis will be the place to call home.

Room Tip: I would definately book a suite again. Worth the $$$ and very comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RelaxWithMax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St.RegisOsaka, Manager at The St. Regis Osaka, responded to this review, March 31, 2012
Dear RelaxwithMax

Thank you for visiting our hotel at the end of last year. I am very pleased to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for the kinds words about your experience. Please do let us know when you are making plans for your return visit at the end of this year. We all look forward to welcoming you back to St Regis Osaka.

With regards,
Malcolm Omond
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
298 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2012

The best thing about the hotel is its location: at Homachi, right atop of the very named subway station. Most of the major tourist attractions are within 3-4 stops subway train ride away. The room is reasonably sized and clean. The decor looks new and modernistic. A true 5-star hotel.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wmloke13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St.RegisOsaka, Manager at The St. Regis Osaka, responded to this review, March 31, 2012
Dear wmloke13

Thank you for staying with us at St Regis Osaka recently, I am glad to see that you enjoyed our hotel and your time in Osaka. It is always a pleasure to hear from our guests and learn from their experiences and feedback.

We all all look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel again. Please do let me know when you are travelling to Osaka.

With regards,
Malcolm Omond
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HK
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2012

Very nice and new hotel. The location is excellent if you are traveling with a kid because it's just 3 min away from Akachanhonpo! We just bought diapers, baby food there. Otherwise it's not close to the main shops of Shinsebashi, but it's still convenient to take subway to go to Namba or Umeda.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 818
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St.RegisOsaka, Manager at The St. Regis Osaka, responded to this review, March 6, 2012
Dear 818
Thank you for staying with us at St Regis Osaka this past few days, I am glad to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and found the hotel convenient. There is a lot to see and do around Osaka so please do let me know when next you are travelling to stay with us. The team here would be happy to make some suggestions for you and your children to enjoy.

With thanks and regards on behalf of all our associates.

Malcolm Omond
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Osaka hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shinsaibashi / Nanba / Tennoji / South Area
Swissotel Nankai Osaka
Osaka Station / Umeda
Hilton Osaka
Hilton Osaka
#17 of 314 in Osaka
1,977 reviews
Hotel Nikko Osaka
#20 of 314 in Osaka
1,908 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The St. Regis Osaka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The St. Regis Osaka

Property: The St. Regis Osaka
Address: 3-6-12 Hommachi, Chuo-ku, Osaka 541-0053, Osaka Prefecture
Phone Number:
Location: Japan > Kinki > Osaka Prefecture > Osaka > Bay Area / Bentencho / Yodoyabashi / Hommachi / Tanimachi / Kyobashi
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Osaka
#1 Romantic Hotel in Osaka
#2 Spa Hotel in Osaka
#2 Business Hotel in Osaka
#3 Luxury Hotel in Osaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The St. Regis Osaka 5*
Number of rooms: 160
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, JAPANiCAN, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Rakuten, Cancelon, Priceline, Booking.com, KNT-CT Holdings Co.,Ltd.(YOKOSO Japan), Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The St. Regis Osaka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The St. Regis Osaka Hotel Osaka

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing