We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location, great hotel & helpful staff !!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Best Western Hotel Fino Osaka Shinsaibashi
Ranked #61 of 315 Hotels / Ryokan in Osaka
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Excellent location, great hotel & helpful staff !!!”
Reviewed August 10, 2012

After doing alot of research on where to stay in Osaka, I finally settled on Best Western Hotel Fino Osaka Shinsaibashi. Why? Because the room rate was very very affordable compared to other hotels around the area! AND like most other reviewers have mentioned its only 1 min walk to the subway! Please note the subway station is called "Nagahoribashi", take Exit 5-A.I've noticed hardly any reviewed mentioned this in their review and thats one of the most important information you need to get to the hotel without any problems!

The subway itself is connected to a long underground shopping mall, so you'd be entertained if needed! Hahahha! Another reason why I chose this hotel is because its within walking distance to the super famous Shinsaibashi shopping area which is amazing! So many things to see and explore including eateries, drinks, knick-knacks, everything is just at your door step!

The hotel rooms are small (but thats normal in Japan) so dont take it as a negative thing! The rooms are well equipped, very clean and compact. I had nothing wrong with the room I stayed in! Even the shower was great and standard typical Japanese style toilets - always fun to work out each of the different buttons! hahah!!

What I really liked was the friendly Japanese female staff members at the front desk! I asked soo many questions, but not once did any of them get upset or annoyed at me, but was very helpful and gave very good directions.
The lobby is equipped with 1 PC with free internet access, but its always occupied by guests, but to me I dont mind. I love to explore and walk around..as long as I have map, Im good to go!!

Right across the road are 2 convenience stores which opens like 24 hours! Amazing! They have great Japanese snacks, sushi's, drinks, soba noodles etc - amazingly cheap! Gosh! I wish I take the whole shop back to Australia! 7-11 Japan would do well in Australia ! hahahah!!!

Check-in time is 3pm. We got to the hotel by 12noon, left our luggage with then and they said the room would be ready by 2pm! It was fine with us, as it gave us a chance to explore the area and find somewhere to have lunch so we ended up in Shinsaibashi ..finding a yummy local udon shop and then went window shopping! So by the time we got back to the hotel to rest it was well after 4pm. So honestly mid-afternoon check-in time is definitely not an issue. Got too much around the area to keep you occupied !!!

Enjoy the hotel stay and have lots of fun in Osaka!! =)

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Shimmerstars
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

560 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    99
    303
    108
    32
    18
See reviews for
82
200
68
69
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2012

We chose this hotel for our super short Japan break (4 nights) as it was in a location we knew, close to ammenities we wanted. It is right near a subway station (less than 1 minute walking) and opposite two convinence stores - which is handy. The rooms are normal Japanese size, however the sofa like seat was appreciated. The reception staff where less than friendly, however could have been language barrier. We got an amazing Explore Asia rate which is why we stayed here this time. We found black hairs in the bathroom, and also the bulkhead behind the bed had a lot of dust on it. Would explore another hotel for next time.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank rach1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level 6 Contributor
89 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2011

I stayed at this hotel in early July for 5 nights with a party of 4; because of the special company package, we only got two 1-double rooms. Since my mom wants to sleep on her own, I called the hotel in advance and requested for 2 rooms with 2 twin beds. When we arrived the hotel in the late night, we got upgraded to 2 deluxe rooms with 2 double beds in each room on the highest non-smoking floor as we requested. Check-in was easy and efficient and the staff were very nice and welcoming.

This hotel was located in a very nice and quiet neighborhood and was very close to the subway, just around the corner of Nagahoribashi station. It took us only 45 mins from the Kansei airport to arrive the hotel with 1 interchange station. The hotel was also very close to Shinsaibashi area with lots of shops and restaurants, it was just a leisure 10-minute walk on the street or the underground shopping pathway with the entrance right next to the hotel. This hotel was opened in last July so everything looked so fresh and spotless clean. The rooms were small but was expected in Japan and it was much better than most of the Best Western hotels in the United States.

All the staff were very nice and eager to help; especially Ms Yuriko Miura at the reception desk, she could speak very good English and was very friendly and helpful in every way. My only complaint to this hotel was there’s only 1 EnglishTV channel that aired very old movies; even the BBC World News channel was speaking in Japanese!!!!! Overall I think this hotel was a hidden gem in the Shinsaibashi area and I have no doubt to recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cckc123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2011

Once you find the hotel (a long saga!!), the location was ok with metro stops within a few minutes walk and good shopping around. Best Western sign is hard to see on the building.

Hotel is clean and staff were polite and nice. We bought this room through another website and therefore the rate was very good. We would not pay the rack rate for the room we had. Our rate did not include breakfast and we did not eat in the hotel. Level of English of one staff member was excellent and otherwise the level was good. Free internet access (one pc) in the lobby.

Main issue was the air conditioning. It was really noisy and to sleep we had to turn it off. Then after 3-4 hours we were waking up and turning it back on for 10-15 minutes to cool the room and then try to sleep again. As a result we had poor sleep for 4 nights which did not help our enjoyment of the city. We would not stay here again!

Directions. When you come out of the Midsojui-line station in Shinsaibashi, take exit 5 out onto the covered shopping street. Then go towards a shop called Loft (basically about 2 minutes walk to the end of the covered area), and you should come to another metro entrance with escalators before a main road. Turn right on this small street and continue for 3 or 4 intersections, You will pass a 7-11 and then a Sunkus convenience store. It is on the left opposite the Sunkus store. Good luck!!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank jcjctrips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2011

It is a very nice little hotel located in a quite street, it is easy to walk to Shinsaibashi shopping district and just 2 minutes from the nearby Subway station. The room we were in was a standard twin and it was small but effecient. The only drawback was the noise from the aircon (even when it was adjusted to low fan) and it was dusty, it seems that it was the only place which was overlooked. It was a bit unusual that the headboard of the beds was against the window bloking half of it, it would have been better to if they were positioned differently.

The receptionists were nice and spoke enough English for their job. Breakfast was expensive and we didn't try since there were plenty of good places at the underground shopping center 2 minutes away and Sinsaibashi available.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Comrade_Li
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed December 6, 2010

because of this newly open sign, i chose this hotel in my air+hotel package.
so, not sure whether it's value for money or not.

didn't learn much about the hotel and the area around hotel, surprise it's relatively easy to find, just remember, when get off Nagahoribashi station, and see a Sunkus "conbini"
then the hotel is right behind.

the reason i like the location is, it's close to Shinsaibashi, just 5 min walk.
And it's a personal preference that to prefer some little quietness over convenience.
this is exactly what i want.

hotel is a typical business type in japan, luckily I had a 2 bed-room, which i had enjoy a little more extra space.

facilities
bedding and bathroom, very clean.
vending machines located on 4/F and 7/F
a convenient store located right in front of hotel.
staff - some shift are extremely helpful ( i forgot her name, a tall female in front desk )
while some shift are just met the standard.

one last thought, for all guest, please be quiet, because the wall is thin,
i heard from the next room, a girl was moaning when i arrive in the morning when i was planning to take a nap after a red eye flight.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank erikuryo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macau, China
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2010

New property that recently opened about two blocks from Shinsaibashi which makes it very convenient for shoopping and places to eat. The hotel makes great use of a small space so that although the rooms are small they still feel comfortable. A hop, skip and jump from the Nagahoribashi subway station.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yardie65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Osaka hotels
Shinsaibashi / Nanba / Tennoji / South Area
Hearton Hotel Shinsaibashi
Shinsaibashi / Nanba / Tennoji / South Area
Hotel Villa Fontaine Shinsaibashi
Shinsaibashi / Nanba / Tennoji / South Area
Holiday Inn Osaka Namba
Holiday Inn Osaka Namba
#24 of 315 in Osaka
773 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shinsaibashi / Nanba / Tennoji / South Area
Ibis Styles Osaka
Ibis Styles Osaka
#48 of 315 in Osaka
494 reviews
Shinsaibashi / Nanba / Tennoji / South Area
Red Roof Plus Osaka Namba
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Hotel Fino Osaka Shinsaibashi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Hotel Fino Osaka Shinsaibashi

Property: Best Western Hotel Fino Osaka Shinsaibashi
Address: 1-2-19 Shinsaibashi, Chuo-ku, Osaka 542-0083, Osaka Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kinki > Osaka Prefecture > Osaka > Shinsaibashi / Nanba / Tennoji / South Area
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #61 of 315 Hotels / Ryokan in Osaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Best Western Hotel Fino Osaka Shinsaibashi 3.5*
Number of rooms: 179
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located at the heart of Osaka city, center of commerce and entertainment in western Japan. Free Wifi is available at Lobby, Restaurant, and all the guest rooms and it is for free of charge. We believe that it makes you more comfortable and helps your stay more memorable one. BEST WESTERN Hotel Fino Osaka Shinsaibashi has an optimal location. Shinsaibashi is a major center of business, shopping and dining, as well as a crossroad with convenient access to Osaka's numerous historic sites and entertainment areas such as Osaka Castle, Universal Studio Japan, Nanba, Dotonbori and many others. Guest rooms are designed in two different concepts, Urban Black which represents the urban and stylish atmosphere, and Forest Natural with the tenderness and warmth of nature. Amenities such as Air Purifier and functional work desk add to your comfort. We serve a full American style buffet prepared by our experienced chef. BEST WESTERN Hotel Fino Osaka Shinsaibashi makes the best base camp for both business and leisure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, JAPANiCAN, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Fastbooking, Priceline, Rakuten, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Hotel Fino Osaka Shinsaibashi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing