We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Average”

Dotombori Imai Honten
Ranked #46 of 28,283 Restaurants in Osaka
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $9
Cuisines: Japanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Average”
Reviewed August 11, 2013

Was lured to this establishment by the Lonely Planet guide and was not too impressed. Food was good, no doubt, only just your typical Japanese fare and you can get similar eats and more variety along the Dotonbori area.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank VijayPillai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

201 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    62
    97
    22
    6
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
217 reviews
171 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Average fare”
Reviewed May 23, 2013

The food is not bad, but it is certainly not great. I'm a little puzzled with the glowing reviews and rather steep prices for something so usual. Food was at best, average. Given the choices around dotonbori, I wished I had utilised my stomach capacity elsewhere.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank KLWanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hong kong
Level Contributor
54 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“??? A dissapointment.....”
Reviewed May 6, 2013

The restaurant was highly rated, but we found the noodle quite ordinary, and really do not understand why the hype and glowing reviews from so many visitors. I had tried many other noodle restaurants much better than this one, so I must be missing something on this one.

The soup is very clear, but all in all, it was really nothing that really strike anything special, so I would not want to recommend.......

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lavoyageuse66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hong kong
Level Contributor
32 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“nothing special”
Reviewed April 19, 2013

I don't get what the glowing reviews are about. The place is expensive and lacks the level of courteous service that is so common in Japan. They gave me an English menu which seemed very clearly overpriced. I can't believe they charge so much for tempura and other standard fare.

I ordered the katsune udon, it was fine.

The one good thing about this resto is that it is calm and non-glitzy unlike the rest of the in-your-face dotonbori establishments.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sunnyallovertheworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Generic food, small portions, and overpriced”
Reviewed March 14, 2013

1500 yen for generic udon you can get on the street for 400 yen elsewhere. Cannot recommend it to others. Also, very small portions. After spending 3000 yen here, we went down the street to get more food because we were still hungry

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank falztobias
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dotombori Imai Honten also viewed

 
Osaka, Osaka Prefecture
Osaka, Osaka Prefecture
 

Been to Dotombori Imai Honten? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing